Find companies:
American Eagle
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,228 reviews

American Eagle Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work in a relaxing feel
Sales Leader & Cashier (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMay 2, 2012
Pros: great staff to work with
Cons: long clean ups at closing
A typical day at work, is easy going. Customers walk in, always greeted at the sign at the door. It's a welcoming feel environment. I've learned to become a better person while working there. The staff is great, a well balance feel.

There are some days when I occur an angry customer, I listen to their situation and help them move from their frustration – more... into a equal working enviornment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favourite job so far!
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Barrie ONMarch 19, 2012
This job is laid back and flexible. Perfect for a student - especially one that is interested in fashion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going fun place to work at
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Boston, MADecember 17, 2014
Pros: easy job to adjust to and learn a lot
Cons: no good pay
A typical day working at American Eagle, is pretty straight forward. Greeting customers, helping them out with what they need, keeping the store organized and clean.The cash register isn't as hard as it seems it took me at least a week to get the hang of it on my own. The hardest thing about the job is getting people signed up for rewards cards or an – more... American Eagle credit card. Every time customers hear anything with card in it they automatically say no, but there are customers that would like to open up accounts. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with your co-workers that's what makes the job fun if everyone thinks and acts positive you will love your job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and great Co-workers
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee), Woodstock, GADecember 17, 2014
Working at American Eagle is great. Everyone gets along and works together as a team to make things fun, Especially on busy days. We work together to make sure the store is organized and neat. We make customers feel welcomed and make sure to let them know that we would love to help in anyway that we can.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun team work
Shift Leader (Former Employee), Ventura, CADecember 16, 2014
Pros: team work and clothes
Cons: you have to work the holidays
I was always excited to got to work, and get customers into the right clothes. It always made me feel good knowing I helped someone feel better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid-back and fun workplace
Lead Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Deptford, NJDecember 16, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job are my co-workers and the managers. Together, they create a great workplace atmosphere. It can get to be stressful some days, however, everyone is eager to work as team to get projects done.

The hardest part of the job would be the holiday hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Sales Associate, Cashier, Stock (Current Employee), Bronx, NYDecember 16, 2014
Cons: very few hours
American Eagle is a great place to work at. The environment and the energy of the store is great. Ive learned how to communicate with the different types of customers everyday how to greet and satisfy their needs making sure they leave the store happy and with what they came for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experoence
Station Agent (Current Employee), Midland, TXDecember 15, 2014
I love my job. its an fun place to work. pay isn't great. need a part time job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly customer environment
Assistant store manager (Current Employee), Charleston, SCDecember 13, 2014
Pros: 40% employee discount
Cons: short lunch break, no ot, no personal time off
American Eagle, is in my opinion only focused on sales and doesn't really take into account their employees personal lives to give a healthy work and life balance. They don't understand that sometimes, family issues come up that affect your personal life and work, you get over worked and underpaid, and I feel there is racism shown to individuals of – more... color for advancement and help with your personal life. Management is not there to help with solutions to in-store problems nor do they give great customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment, Great People
Store Associate (Current Employee), Township of Jackson, NJDecember 12, 2014
Just like any other successful retail industry, working here was very goal oriented. You must know how to work as a team in order to succeed along with the whole store. It has been a great experience working here, and has allowed me to expand my network not only with coworkers, but customers as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment, and always encouraged to advance skills
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Roseville, CADecember 10, 2014
A typical day of work at American Eagle Outfitters is always putting new information to work. The managers are all highly motivated to better all the employees and advance their skills. Over the last year of working here has taught me many socializing/selling skills I wouldn't have learned in a class environment and has bettered me for it. In the particular – more... store I work in, my co-workers are all involved in helping each other to make it a pleasant experience for both customers and employees alike. Of course in retail, you have expect part-time is the norm which always makes it the hardest part of the job. The most enjoyable part of this job for me has been learning selling techniques that I mold to my own style which is what makes a good sales person in any company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Cashier, sales associate and customer service (Former Employee), Franklin, TNDecember 9, 2014
Pros: nice co workers
Cons: didnt give me much hours that i wanted
the typical day was running around helping customers find what they needed. i learned how to work in the back and run the right products out for the customers. the management was good, they did what they were supposed to do. the co workers are nice, made some friends while working there. the hardest part was selling some of the products on our busiest – more... days. i didnt really like working at a clothing store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for
Cashier (Former Employee), San Marcos, TXDecember 9, 2014
Many different people that come from all over the place that come to shop most of them are Spanish speaking. when the time is right they offer you more pay and more hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly work environment
Backroom Associate (Current Employee), Brandon, FLDecember 8, 2014
fun workplace at the west field mall,come in every morning processing shipment,getting it out to the sales floor. make sure every merchandise is censored.help customer with clothes there looking for,i mostly enjoy the discounts employee has for the store.the hardest part of the job it making sure that all shipment is scanned with no broken merchandise
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Stylist (Former Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 4, 2014
Awesome Job.Nice management and staff. I love clothing stores.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ramp work is fun
Ramp agent (Former Employee), Columbus, OHDecember 4, 2014
Pros: you had to be safe working there
Cons: its not a place to be playing around
working on the ramp was a fun job. it was fun working with planes, met some famous people going on the planes. it was a lot of work lifting bags, a lot of walking and standing, lots of baggage to load and unload,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Overnight Stock Person (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 3, 2014
• Maintain flow of merchandise and upkeep of the brand and company integrity through a consistently replenished, easily accessible, visually appealing stock for customers.
• Ensure store profitability through receiving, handling, and helping to manage the inventory of merchandise and supplies in a timely and organized manner.
• Accurately tracking and – more... documentation inventory of merchandise and supplies to enable compliance with designated inventory levels prevent run-outs.
• Ship merchandise and supplies in and out of inventory to internal and external locations and departments.
• Observe and monitor for loss prevention and advise management of any unusual internal or external activity
• Monitored and audited inventory to reduce shrink; implement strategies work efficiently and embrace accountability among store stock employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Floor Sales (Former Employee), San Ysidro, CADecember 2, 2014
A typically day at work was getting the store clean and organize before it would open. I learned how to meet customers needs and help them leave the store happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super fun and discounts
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCDecember 2, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: folding clothes
A typical day at work is not that great, I learned not much of anything, the mgmt is not that great, my Co-workers were are all very amazing, the hardest part of the job was folding clothes due to the high volume of customers trying on clothes and either cant fold it right or just makes a mess. As far as enjoyable, Discounts and its American Eagle, – more... Awesome clothes selection. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun enviroment, nice dicounts, and great management
Sales (Current Employee), grand rapids, miDecember 1, 2014
a typical day at work is 4-4.5 hours long. we always are checking in with the customers and adding items into their hands. we constantly talk about the rewards card and benefits of the in store credit card. I've learned to really be myself working in the retail environment. every item of clothing is a statement and different statements are okay. it – more... has helped me to build confidence in talking to strangers and becoming "friends first". all of the co-workers are great. everyone is very friendly and helpful. the hardest part of the job is being on your feet up to eight hours straight sometimes, it really takes a toll on the body. the most enjoyable part is my job always plays games to meet goals. such as every time you get an add on your name into a bucket. at the end of the day they draw a name and they could win a gift card to Starbucks or an article of clothing. – less

About American Eagle

American Eagle Outfitters, INC. is a leading global specialty retailer offering high-quality on-trend clothing, accessories and – Read more