Find companies:
American Eagle
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,236 reviews

American Eagle Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like this job but I would rather start a career that I have studied.
Cashier/ Jean Expert and Stylist (Current Employee), Pickering Town Centre, ONApril 15, 2014
Pros: recognition for good work
Cons: minimum wage pay
A typical day at work for myself is started by logging in, and checking to make sure I know all the the sales and discounts that are applicable to that day. Then I scan the store to make sure everything is easy to see for customers and accessible as well as neat. I must also replace any items that are low in stock. After this is check the change rooms – more... to make sure they are clean. While doing all of this I must keep one eye on the cash register for line-ups. The change rooms abide by this rule as well. The number one rule of retail work is the customer needs come first, this is my main focus.

Since I have worked at American Eagle I have learned how to deal with customers who do not speak English as a first language. This skill requires patience and communication. I use my facial expressions and hand gestures to communicate successfully with these customers.

The management at American Eagle is split between a number of employees. One must apply to be a key-holder but this still does not guarantee a fixed number of hours on a weekly basis. Because of this I have not applied to be on the management team.

My co-workers are, for the most part, students. They are pleasant to work with, however they have very busy lives and I am often covering a shift for them. This is beneficial for me as it is an opportunity to earn more income for myself.

The hardest part of the job is is satisfying a customer who does not know what they are looking for. It is hard to see ones face who clearly believes in retail-therapy but simply does not know how to decide on an item. At this point I usually allow them to browse on their own. When I see they have picked something up I immediately suggest they try it on because I know once they are wearing the item they will feel their spirits lift.

The most enjoyable part of my job is satisfying a customer with a special request. When one goes out to find a specific outfit, it can be frustrating when it becomes difficult to find. This also makes the customer harder to satisfy. These are the challenges I enjoy.
EXAMPLE: During the Christmas season a lot of teenage girls will write down the description of an outfit and send their gift-buyers out to find it. This can be stressful and nerve-racking for that shopper and it is my job to relieve these feelings and find the requested items in an efficient amount of time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for part-time
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Dieppe, NBApril 8, 2014
Good job for people who want to work part time and make extra cash potentially while still in school, good discount, friendly working environment and co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Eagle
Manager (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONtarioApril 2, 2014
American Eagle is a fun, fast paced work environment that focus on working well with customers on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Brampton, ONMarch 30, 2014
Cons: not many hours
A typical day at work consisted of cleaning up, helping and selling to customers, working on cash and many other various things. I learned many different ways to interact with different customers and how to deal with complaints and I learned how to create a positive team working environment. The management team was consistently good, but in my years – more... there the store went through 4 managers and was very unstable. My co-workers were always good to work with. The most enjoyable part of my job was being on cash and constantly interacting with others. There was not that much that was hard about the job other than on busy days when there were a lot of customers being able to stay on top of everything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sales & Customer Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 25, 2014
Great and friendly environment. Flexibility in hours. Very busy enviorment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a new learning process
Floor Sales (Former Employee), Bramalea City CentreJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: experience with retail
Cons: cancellation of shifts
Working at american eagle was over all a good experience. It gave me the chance to gain experience in retail. I enjoyed working with other staff close to my age and sharing good times with each of them. Management was always understanding to times where people would call in with emergencies and sickness. It gave me a chance to show off my good customer – more... service and my strong drive to do the best i can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate, Cashier (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONNovember 26, 2013
Fun coworkers, good management, hardest part of job was making sales
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Vaughan, ONSeptember 16, 2013
Busy and fast- paced workplace. Working with all kinds of people to find my own style as well as the customers I had helped. Managers with helpful and kind while keeping a professional attitude. I learned to adapt to different areas and paces that the store would generate. Co-workers were kind, outgoing and very helpful if need be. Hardest part of the – more... job was to get to everyone who needed help during busy times. I thoroughly enjoyed helping the customers coming into the store and seeing them walk out with a smile on their face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun sociable place to work
Sales/stock (Former Employee), Barrie, ONSeptember 6, 2013
I'd clock in, grab a radio and head out to the sales floor. I'd go to my designated zone and work that area and help anyone in the store that may need assistance while informing people of our current sales. While working at American Eagle I learnt better communication skills and the skills needed to make sales. Managers and co-workers we easy to get – more... along with and fun. Very helpful when I was first starting out. The hardest part about my job was remembering all the different type of jeans there were. The most enjoyable part was being paid to hangout in a store in the mall with lots of people coming in and out, a store I usually would spend a lot of time in for free. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Massive Amount of turnover, Various poor descision making and poor Quality of life
Store manager (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: great staff, manager;s with a passion to learn
Cons: very little development or advancement opportunities, unpredictable schedule, poor management at higher levels, salary cap`s, massive turnover
American Eagle runs on a store by store basis, which consists of A team of manger's who oversee a staff of about 100.

The company itself has gone over various changes and staffing overhauls, Some for the better others for the worse.

My coworkers could be more developed and though have a passion to learn are under qualified or have received insufficient – more... training.

The hardest part of my job is the constant switching and changing schedule, Sometimes Nights, Day's, or Overnights. As well the Few to none possibilities of advancement through the company

I do enjoy managing and developing staff and have trained various manager's and associates throughout my many year's with the company.

The District Manager`s have had a poor presence, Provide very little training or development opportunities for Manager's. As well have had Constant rearranging and Continuous Changes in District`s Or manager`s in general.

Through american Eagle I`ve learned various Skills, Organization, Staff development, Scheduling, Time management, Problem solving, Customer first relations, Accountability and Forcasting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun contests
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 14, 2013
To promote more of the products we did weekly contests where you can win gift cards. Everyone is very friendly and constantly helping each other out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very busy place.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 5, 2013
During the holiday season there is never a dull moment. I was a temp hire for extra help during Christmas. There was always something to do and lots of energy in the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very busy place.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 5, 2013
During the holiday season there is never a dull moment. I was a temp hire for extra help during Christmas. There was always something to do and lots of energy in the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), London, ONJuly 10, 2013
With the right group of managers and the cooperation of great team members, American Eagle is set to be one of the most competitive work places in regards to cohesiveness, leadership, and production.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright Enviroment, Love the clothing!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Regina,skJuly 7, 2013
Pros: discounts
Cons: enviroment
I would of enjoyed working at American Eagle alot more if the enviroment was alot more positive then negative.
Did not really enjoy working with much of the staff as they would always talk about one another in a disrespectful manner.
I did however enjoy all the customers and showing them all the new product. And laying the new product out. (so i could – more... get a sneak peak before everyone else.) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Student workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 28, 2013
American Eagle was a great place to work while I was in school. They worked around my class and exam hours without a fuss.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average job
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 27, 2013
youthful environment
generally positive environment
variety of tasks
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive & fun work enviornment
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 13, 2013
a typical day at work would include stocking the clothing shelves, cleaning, organizing, always greeting every customer that enterede the store & educating them on our promotions. we watched a video clip every shift to update us on new styles etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great to work for . have the brst work placs.
Staff Management (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 31, 2013
Pros: everything there
some off the best people i have every work for. pack pack break pack lunch pack break pack go home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 11, 2013
American Eagle is a great company to work for because they offer great pay rates and an extremely flexible schedule. All employees and managers were really easy to get along with and genuinely cared about each other. The discount was great as well!

About American Eagle

American Eagle Outfitters, INC. is a leading global specialty retailer offering high-quality on-trend clothing, accessories and – Read more