Find companies:
American Eagle
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,052 reviews

American Eagle Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Supervisor/Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 7, 2014
Fun Loved the people I worked with and also enjoyed the job. I was always busy organizing and keeping the store up to par. I had lot of responsibilities and enjoyed it a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow and boring but good people to work with
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 2, 2014
Pros: got 50% off everything in the store except sale items
Cons: the days were slow if it wasnt busy
I would stand around for 5 hours folding clothes most of the time on weekdays the mall wasn't busy at all barely any costumers came in. On weekends got really busy that when the days seemed to go by quicker.
Learned to be nice to everyone even if they aren't to you being able to clean up well.
Co-workers were nice and friendly and we all got along quite – more... nice
Hardest part was unpacking new clothes and redesigning the store every few months
Most enjoyable part was seeing my friends and talking to people
Management wasn't very organized – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Young atmosphere with many job openings
Cashier-Sales Associate (Former Employee), Edmonton ABJune 27, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere among other employees
Cons: bad management
Management towards employees was quite awful in the sense that superiors were generally unapproachable and did not give you much say in your hours or positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Light work environment. Consistently busy and on your feet.
Cashier (Current Employee), Brampton, ONJune 17, 2014
At American Eagle it is an extremely busy, non-stop moving environment. You are not just a cashier at this job, you are also doing a lot of customer service helping the customers find items and outfits. There is a lot of cleaning and tidying of the store due to the large amount of customers throughout the day. Some shifts are floor set shifts, This – more... includes some of the associates to do an overnight shift where we change product throughout the entire store, do marketing and change signage as well. All co-workers get along which makes the work environment light. The hardest part of the job is the overnight floor sets. There is a lot of heavy lifting and climbing involved, but we get it done. The management team is fairy good. But the most enjoyable part about the job is that we al get along and this helps us get through all the busy days and nights we work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with public
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Vaughan, ONJune 3, 2014
learned to multitask and become responsible with money
had to work quickly during busy hours
hardest part of job was when restaurant became infested with cockroaches
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJune 2, 2014
Pros: fun work environment
Cons: short hours
While working at American Eagle I built many new skills and met people who made me feel comfortable in my work environment. Everyone was very nice and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Workplace
Sales associate (Current Employee), Orleans, OntarioMay 28, 2014
Pros: discount, great people, fun job
Cons: few hours
A typical day at work for me is just talking to customers; making sure they are satisfied, assist them in any way, and completing their transactions at the cash. Management consists of fantastic people (they could give more hours to existing employees rather than hiring new ones). My co-workers are fantastic! We are like a family. The hardest part of – more... my job is doing floorset (bringing the old clothes in and the new ones out). Other than that I enjoy every aspect of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Productivity
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Halifax, NSMay 10, 2014
Pros: excellent co-workers
Cons: long hours
At this job, I am usually on the sales floor; meeting customers and informing them about out specials and other offers. Then I am also at the cash register when I am not on the floor, helping out other people. I learned how to better communicate with customers and figuring out how to achieve certain goals if the resources aren't present. Some of the – more... hardest part of the job is not having enough breaks in between. Sometimes I am needed to work 4 or 5 hours straight running around because they are under-staffed etc. And it becomes tiring at times but I still give 100% of my attention and efforts towards everything that I do in order to accomplish it. Some of the most enjoyable aspects of the job is constantly meeting new people and developing connection with them, I also get to learn a lot of new things about the industry as well as learning new skills that I could use towards the future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seller
Seller (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 3, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of selling and promoting american eagle products. Helping customers find the right fit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Merchandising Associate (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONMay 1, 2014
Consisted of a lot of merchandising and organizational tasks.
Worked with managers and peers to complete floorsets and other repetitive tasks. Pay was low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like this job but I would rather start a career that I have studied.
Cashier/ Jean Expert and Stylist (Current Employee), Pickering Town Centre, ONApril 15, 2014
Pros: recognition for good work
Cons: minimum wage pay
A typical day at work for myself is started by logging in, and checking to make sure I know all the the sales and discounts that are applicable to that day. Then I scan the store to make sure everything is easy to see for customers and accessible as well as neat. I must also replace any items that are low in stock. After this is check the change rooms – more... to make sure they are clean. While doing all of this I must keep one eye on the cash register for line-ups. The change rooms abide by this rule as well. The number one rule of retail work is the customer needs come first, this is my main focus.

Since I have worked at American Eagle I have learned how to deal with customers who do not speak English as a first language. This skill requires patience and communication. I use my facial expressions and hand gestures to communicate successfully with these customers.

The management at American Eagle is split between a number of employees. One must apply to be a key-holder but this still does not guarantee a fixed number of hours on a weekly basis. Because of this I have not applied to be on the management team.

My co-workers are, for the most part, students. They are pleasant to work with, however they have very busy lives and I am often covering a shift for them. This is beneficial for me as it is an opportunity to earn more income for myself.

The hardest part of the job is is satisfying a customer who does not know what they are looking for. It is hard to see ones face who clearly believes in retail-therapy but simply does not know how to decide on an item. At this point I usually allow them to browse on their own. When I see they have picked something up I immediately suggest they try it on because I know once they are wearing the item they will feel their spirits lift.

The most enjoyable part of my job is satisfying a customer with a special request. When one goes out to find a specific outfit, it can be frustrating when it becomes difficult to find. This also makes the customer harder to satisfy. These are the challenges I enjoy.
EXAMPLE: During the Christmas season a lot of teenage girls will write down the description of an outfit and send their gift-buyers out to find it. This can be stressful and nerve-racking for that shopper and it is my job to relieve these feelings and find the requested items in an efficient amount of time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Eagle
Manager (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONtarioApril 2, 2014
American Eagle is a fun, fast paced work environment that focus on working well with customers on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Brampton, ONMarch 30, 2014
Cons: not many hours
A typical day at work consisted of cleaning up, helping and selling to customers, working on cash and many other various things. I learned many different ways to interact with different customers and how to deal with complaints and I learned how to create a positive team working environment. The management team was consistently good, but in my years – more... there the store went through 4 managers and was very unstable. My co-workers were always good to work with. The most enjoyable part of my job was being on cash and constantly interacting with others. There was not that much that was hard about the job other than on busy days when there were a lot of customers being able to stay on top of everything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sales & Customer Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 25, 2014
Great and friendly environment. Flexibility in hours. Very busy enviorment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a new learning process
Floor Sales (Former Employee), Bramalea City CentreJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: experience with retail
Cons: cancellation of shifts
Working at american eagle was over all a good experience. It gave me the chance to gain experience in retail. I enjoyed working with other staff close to my age and sharing good times with each of them. Management was always understanding to times where people would call in with emergencies and sickness. It gave me a chance to show off my good customer – more... service and my strong drive to do the best i can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate, Cashier (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONNovember 26, 2013
Fun coworkers, good management, hardest part of job was making sales
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Vaughan, ONSeptember 16, 2013
Busy and fast- paced workplace. Working with all kinds of people to find my own style as well as the customers I had helped. Managers with helpful and kind while keeping a professional attitude. I learned to adapt to different areas and paces that the store would generate. Co-workers were kind, outgoing and very helpful if need be. Hardest part of the – more... job was to get to everyone who needed help during busy times. I thoroughly enjoyed helping the customers coming into the store and seeing them walk out with a smile on their face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun sociable place to work
Sales/stock (Former Employee), Barrie, ONSeptember 6, 2013
I'd clock in, grab a radio and head out to the sales floor. I'd go to my designated zone and work that area and help anyone in the store that may need assistance while informing people of our current sales. While working at American Eagle I learnt better communication skills and the skills needed to make sales. Managers and co-workers we easy to get – more... along with and fun. Very helpful when I was first starting out. The hardest part about my job was remembering all the different type of jeans there were. The most enjoyable part was being paid to hangout in a store in the mall with lots of people coming in and out, a store I usually would spend a lot of time in for free. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Massive Amount of turnover, Various poor descision making and poor Quality of life
Store manager (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: great staff, manager;s with a passion to learn
Cons: very little development or advancement opportunities, unpredictable schedule, poor management at higher levels, salary cap`s, massive turnover
American Eagle runs on a store by store basis, which consists of A team of manger's who oversee a staff of about 100.

The company itself has gone over various changes and staffing overhauls, Some for the better others for the worse.

My coworkers could be more developed and though have a passion to learn are under qualified or have received insufficient – more... training.

The hardest part of my job is the constant switching and changing schedule, Sometimes Nights, Day's, or Overnights. As well the Few to none possibilities of advancement through the company

I do enjoy managing and developing staff and have trained various manager's and associates throughout my many year's with the company.

The District Manager`s have had a poor presence, Provide very little training or development opportunities for Manager's. As well have had Constant rearranging and Continuous Changes in District`s Or manager`s in general.

Through american Eagle I`ve learned various Skills, Organization, Staff development, Scheduling, Time management, Problem solving, Customer first relations, Accountability and Forcasting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun contests
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 14, 2013
To promote more of the products we did weekly contests where you can win gift cards. Everyone is very friendly and constantly helping each other out.

1 2 3 4 5

About American Eagle

The frozen assets of other companies mean big business for Frozen Food Express Industries, one of the largest temperature-controlled – Read more