American Eagle Outfitters Employee Reviews

Found 239 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Sales, lead (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON27 February 2017
American Eagle was a fun, relaxed workplace to be in. The co- workers along with customers were fantastic. I learned new things everyday as well with more ways to go about sucessfully completing what I need to in a day. There was never a bad day.
Pros
Great Co-Workers
Cons
Only a 10 minute break in a full day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun & very productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Red deer22 February 2017
The workers there are very friendly & fun. They have good pay & good breaks. The managers were very nice & made sure you knew what you were doing. The discounts were great & the clothing there is good too
Pros
Good breaks
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting job
Cashier, Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON19 February 2017
Enjoy working here. Good hours when given shifts, but cannot rely on receiving hours. Friendly environment. Gained many customer service skills.
Pros
Great employee discount
Cons
Inconsistent working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 February 2017
a typical day at work would include helping customers find what they need and helping out at cash. i earned how to multi-task as multiple customers would ask me questions. the management was very good and helped out a lot. the hardest part of the job was trying to help out multiple customers at a time and ensuring they got what they needed. the most enjoyable part of the job was working with al of my friends.
Pros
good work environment
Cons
not many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, easy going
Jean Expert Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 February 2017
A typical day at work looks like:
you get there and depending on how many customers are there you help as many as you can first. if the store isn't too busy then you start to maintain the store, meaning you refold things that need to be refolded and you size things so that everything is in order so its easier for the customer to find.
I've learned to put peoples needs before my own comfort and to be more forward with what I might need or what the customer might need.
The hardest part about the job is probably that one does a lot of work and might not always be noticed and rewarded for that. For example, say one sold a lot of denim and made a lot of sales, its not guaranteed that they will get more hours because of that.
The most enjoyable part of the job is when you finally find everything the customer wanted or even helped to substitute with items that they wanted and they leave happy. Another enjoyable part of the job is the relationships one makes with either their coworkers or even with some of the customers.
Pros
people are really nice
Cons
not many hours to go around
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 February 2017
American Eagle was a great job to get into the field of retail. I learned many useful skills such as attentive customer service, efficiency, and independence.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic and diverse workplace with some of the best managers
Sales Associate/Cash Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 February 2017
I really enjoy the people that I work with. I think that is the best part of working in this retail environment. My managers have always been very professional as well as positive and motivating. Every one of my fellow associates has been very accepting and genuinely fun to work with.
Pros
Great management and coworkers
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Lead (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON1 February 2017
Fast paced environment where you are encouraged to take on multiple tasks at once, but company believes in growth and promotion from within
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Employee
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON30 January 2017
Gave me as many hours as i needed and the other staff members were always helpful when i needed a shift covered. Some managers were a little rude compared to the others but overall good management.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  BC27 January 2017
Wonderful company, great benefits, job is structured. Upper management needs to provide more support but overall a wonderful company.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Corporate level support
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and Generous company
Cash Lead (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON22 January 2017
Great part time job for students. The company is very generous to its employees.
If you are passionate about clothing and don't mind some folding, it is a good job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent student job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 January 2017
flexible hours, an engaging and interactive work environment, excellent management, great bonuses and work incentives, perfect part time job or high school student job.
Pros
Work incentives and discounts
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at AEO
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 January 2017
typical day at work includes socializing with awesome customers. Making friends first and selling our product. AEO is a great place to work because its such a positive environment all the time. coworkers and management is amazing, makes your job feel like home.
Pros
awesome team to work with
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and happy work environment but unorganized
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS15 January 2017
Loved the people and environment but they were unorganized with too many employees to provide the hours that everyone needed. Would recommend if just looking for a some extra cash, not anything stable.
Pros
Good environment
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good job
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON13 January 2017
Was a good job. Management could use some training. Management is very judgemental and harsh. Co- workers were less than pleasant at times.
Pros
emmployee discount
Cons
not many hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 January 2017
I felt very welcome in this work environment. It was challenging at times when the store was busy but I had great training and co workers to help me out. I really enjoyed interacting with all of the customers and helping them with any questions that they may have had. Overall, I feel as though this retail experience was a great opportunity and has improved personal qualities about myself such as confidence, time management skills, independence etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  London, ON10 January 2017
The managers are incredibly supportive and willing to work with the employees to ensure they enjoy each shift. The employees are all incredibly friendly, making it a friendly and warm work environment.
Pros
Clothing discounts
Cons
Overnight shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, easy going, upbeat and energitic
American Eagle Stylist (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB9 January 2017
A very fun easy going job.
Lots of great characters and friendly smiles.
Many of the employees are friends.
Clothing and styling is enjoyable.
Always learning about the new products and team building.
Pros
Great environment
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place to work
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 January 2017
management was all for favouritism and made work environment competitive. not a fun place to work. lots of pressure to make huge sales, which was not achievable.
Pros
good team
Cons
management, competitive
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great corporate structure
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS6 January 2017
AEO is a great company to work for with a lot of support. It is a very demanding job within a management team, which can be rough on work/life balance. They honestly try to give everyone proper work/life balance, but most employees are incredibly committed and the balance gets forgotten about.
Like most workplaces, there is drama. Most members work well together and are very supportive of each other.
Salaries for external candidates are competitive and they offer great benefits including RSP matching and Deferred Profit Sharing.
The company itself is well organised and has made some smart decisions in marketing, brand campaigns and corporate structure. This is a company that will thrive well into the future.
Pros
Salary, benefits
Cons
Long hours, heavy workload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Eagle Outfitters. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,902 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8