American Campus Communities

American Campus Communities Employee Reviews

Showing all 114 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Bookkeeper (Former Employee) –  Kennesaw, GA28 November 2016
American Campus is a great company to work for. The environment is very laid back making it easy to be productive at work. the company does a great good in keeping the residents entertained by allowing us to host different events. There isn't much growth unless you live in the Austin Texas Area where the corporate headquarters is located.
Pros
Laid back enviroment
Cons
Career Grwoth
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok company but very hard to advance.
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZ17 November 2016
Benefits are really expensive, pay does not cover workload. Management is not honest about your advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Assistant
Bookkeeper (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MI14 November 2016
Customer service • Leasing and marketing • Resident Management
Systems • Event planning and budgeting • Led property tours •
Responsible for contracts and sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Employee Focus
Senior Community Assistant (Current Employee) –  Greenville, NC31 October 2016
American campus communities puts a big focus on the students that work for them. They create their schedules around the school schedules and accommodate extra curricular as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company, Mean Co-Workers
Property Accountant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TX26 October 2016
Your personal business is not yours or private if you accept a position at this corporation. The best way to enter this coveted corporate office is to start your career as a bookkeeper at a property. That is the only way your co-workers will accept you into the fold.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A REIT focused on growth.
Security Administrator (Former Employee) –  Austin, TX26 October 2016
Great culture, nice people to work with and for. They need more strategic direction in their IT and App development efforts. They may be struggling with that but they are working on it.
Pros
Free breakfast every Friday.
Cons
They need more direction.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LA24 October 2016
Excellent company culture, financially stable, employee and customer focused. Stock options for Management, great benefits. All around great company.
Pros
Culture
Cons
Work Life Balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Environment
Leasing Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KY10 August 2016
Great student housing company to work for especially as a college student. My schedule is pretty flexible compared to most and has been accommodating. Moving up in the company is much easier if you are willing to relocate.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job for college student
Senior Community Assistant (Former Employee) –  Amherst, NY27 July 2016
Great job for a college student looking to work while in school, gain experience and learn how to work as a team with co workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good First Job
ASSISTANT LEASING MANAGER - CASAS DEL RIO (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NM30 June 2016
You will meet many new people, mostly college students, and you can be assured that no two days will ever be the same as every day provides new challenges.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment
Financial Analyst - Portfolio Management (Current Employee) –  Austin, TX6 June 2016
Good company with a great culture, benefits far outweigh any cons. Definitely a learn on your own company with little structured training.
Pros
Great Culture
Cons
Limited official training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for student advancement
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Laredo, TX30 May 2016
Working for american campus gives you the flexibility you need as a college student while also assisting in building you up as a work ready professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly job that allows me to interact with residents.
Community Assistant (Current Employee) –  Prairie View, TX2 May 2016
A typical day being a community assistant involves answering phone calls, dealing with maintenance issues and requests, taking payments, receiving leases, conducting wellness checks, and anything else needed by my resident director. I have learned how to multi-task at the front desk. Our management is great and very friendly. The hardest part of the job is trying to manage my job and stay on top of my school work. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with the residents and maintaining a fun community.
Pros
Interacting with residents, helping solve problems
Cons
Sometimes not having time to finish my school work.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job
Community Assistant (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NY2 May 2016
I believe this is a great part time job, but would leave it at that. There is very little balance or time for a personal life and a bit of drama in the office.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gain valuable experience in student realty
Community Assistant (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PA21 April 2016
This job works very well with school schedule and I learned valuable information about real estate. Management is very unorganized and can be degrading at times.
Pros
flexibility with schedule
Cons
time sacrifice even off the clock when on call, management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive and Fast Paced
Community Assistant (Current Employee) –  Urbana-Champaign, IL7 April 2016
A tight-knit office of employees who work towards the common goal of selling leases. A competitive work environment, dedicated to the client.
Pros
Use of amenities, work around my class schedule
Cons
No promotion/raises for Community Assistants regardless of time with the company
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Leasing Agent (Former Employee) –  West Lafayette, IN4 April 2016
Job is demanding around turn, but overall it is a pretty solid job. NO growth, even though it is stated in training videos.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Building From Within
Senior Resident Advisor (Current Employee) –  Albuquerque, NM1 April 2016
ACC is a great company to work for if you're looking for a future in housing management, especially student housing. They like to hire from within the company and build around those who have been with the company and know the companies procedures already.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Lynd Co
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FL8 March 2016
Pretty good company overall.

My personal testimony is one sided because I worked with them in Fl, with the only student deals they offered.

I started my student housing career with them and I have taken much of that general knowledge with me.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work!!
Maintenance/Porter (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VA18 February 2016
I worked with this company on the Norfolk Navy base, I was sexually harassed, and when I reported it to my Management they told the person I reported them and what was said. I have documents of every incident that occurred while working with this company. Management are horrible liars, they cause more drama then the workers. If management don't like you, they will harass you on a daily bases to force you to quit.
Pros
some of the workers were enjoyable to work with
Cons
short lunch break, no breaks in between
Was this review helpful?Yes11No6Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 114 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6