Amec Foster Wheeler Employee Reviews

Found 191 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice co-workers to work with
Senior Administrator (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC27 January 2016
like that we have a designated day off program so we work an extra .5 hrs per day in order to participate in the program and get an extra day off per month, and close down for 2 weeks over xmas, administrative, invoicing, dealing with engineers, contracts people
Pros
Pay
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wide scope of work
Engineering Designer (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK25 January 2016
I have had the best and most experience from Amec FW. To learn about the whole process from bidding to the end at commissioning and all the workings in between.
Pros
Great company to work for
Cons
I have none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Senior Architect (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 January 2016
Good work environment
Average management team
High office politics
High turnover
Less room to grow
Benefits are very good
Long work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots to learn
Electrical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK21 January 2016
Project based disadvantage Is no security of work. My current office offers lots of learning opportunities.
If they can change their business model and have more sustaining project and maintenance & operation definitely a good company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun working place
CITRIX SUPPORT ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 January 2016
-very productive and it was a great place to be part of
-very relaxed environment
-friendly and helpful co-workers
-great salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Senior Structural Engineer (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON6 January 2016
Avery good company but unfortunately the projects in mining industry are slowing down.
Enjoyable working environment
good co-worker relationship
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good career growth
Senior Instrumentation and Control Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 January 2016
Provided an excellent opportunity to work on multiple large scale oil & gas projects. Very good project management team and long term client relationship.
Pros
Great Team work
Cons
Compensation rate is less
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fall from potential greatness
Vice President, AMEC Environment & Infrastructure (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC24 December 2015
This company has lost it's way. It's fall from potential greatness has come as a result of it's inward focus in recent years. I wish then the best, but as long as the focus remains on inward controls rather than clients AmecFW will not be a pleasant place to attempt to build a career.
Pros
Great staff
Cons
lack of vision and intentionally poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative Results oriented drama free environment
electrical engineer (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC21 December 2015
Well managed in Vancouver. Exceptional team environment focussed on obtaining results the right way. Generous training allowance.

Friday donut sessions with performance and safety moments - promotes excellent communication between staff and management.
Pros
collaborative team environment, makes it a pleasure to work here
Cons
long hours, no job security, cutbacks in benefits and stagnant wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amec
IT Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 December 2015
Laid off due to lack of Projects, Was a great company to work for over the past 6 years. Now looking for work either in the Oil Industries or out side it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Former Employee (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta3 December 2015
AMEC is a good place to work.
Possibility for advancement, good health benefits, RRSP's.
Co-workers were supportive and fun.
Pros
Great people to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My work role
Bridge/Structural Engineer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 November 2015
• Performing design and drafting for bridge projects

• Preparing the preparation of drawings and specifications on bridge projects

• Performing quantity takeouts and reviewing shop drawings

• Processing projects’ inspections and construction supervisions

• Assisting Seniors to process construction and post-construction engineering
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and Stress Free Work Envinronment
Lead Process Engineer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 November 2015
A pleasure to work at. Cordial employees and interesting mix of complex and simple projects. Focused primarily on upstream with a sprinkling of downstream projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Junior Document Controller (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK18 November 2015
Typical day at work is good. There aren't a lot of surprises. Sometimes there is some variance in print requisitions or perhaps a discrepancy is found on a courier invoice when reconciling it that may require some investigation to fix the problem. Sometimes senior document controllers may have new information to share and tasks to learn. I learned something new everyday that helped me in my work and helped me to help others as well. It is a corporate company that deals with a lot of confidential information, so there is a lot of training involved for anti-corruption and business conduct. It is also very safety oriented. There is an HSSE department at each office around the world and at every mine site. Safety is #1. I enjoyed working with wonderfully professional colleagues each day. Getting to know them was a pleasure. The most difficult part of working for a company like this was watching the mining industry fluctuate and change to where hundreds of engineers and people in the company have been layed off from the positions. When the projects run out, so does the work. If the mining industry falls flat, so does the income of project work.
Pros
Social lunches, charity fundraising events
Cons
Industry instability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place for engineering practice
Senior Structural Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 November 2015
Great work place for engineering practice, got more experiences from projects and colleagues.. A number of structures practised, more opportunities to deal with different type of structures.
Pros
A number of seminars
Cons
Short of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional and friendly work environment
PDMS Designer (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON17 November 2015
Very professional and pleasant work place.
Friendly management. Ability to learn new things.
Focus on details in projects.
Pros
Very professional
Cons
Limited time contract work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Control Manager - Cover Letter
Project Controls Manager (Current Employee) –  Alberta27 October 2015
Kindly note that I am managing the Project Controls for more than 12 years. I have experience on PMC, EPCM, and EPC of Oil and Gas, Buildings, Chemicals, Petrochemicals, and Mines and Refineries Projects. I am expert in Planning, Scheduling, Cost Controlling, and Project Controls and have leadership in Project Engineering, Procurement, Contracts, Controls, and Construction.

My Controls Management covers Projects of more than 10 Billion USD contract value.
I am highly skilled in Planning and Progress Monitoring, Cost Controls, Plans and Budgets, Commitments, Payments and Expenditures, and Margin Analysis, and can set up the Project Controls System and develop and implement the controls procedures in any kind of project.

Change Management of Budgets and Trends, Variations, and impact on Contingency and TIC are also part of my experience, in addition to the Risk Management, Causes and Effects, impact on Cost and Schedule, and mitigation Strategies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
international firm with little marketing
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON20 October 2015
estimating, master reports, client management, proposal, technical writing

sales, staff mentoring, senior review, training, presentations
Cons
no marketing, poor leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but worth it
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB11 October 2015
I was a lab tech there and I was busy constantly during the boom in Alberta. It was hard work and I enjoyed it, got tons of hours, recognition for hard work and my boss was great. I didn't want to leave but during the downturn I had no hours and had to move on.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Project Materials Coordinador/Senior Buyer (Former Employee) –  Calgary and Oilsands Sites5 October 2015
My best work experience so far, excellent company, work environment and safety culture at the best. Very good coworkers and professionals.
Pros
Good Safety culture, good salaries and excellent work environment
Cons
Work just on projects not permanent palcement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Amec Foster Wheeler. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 820 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

CEO Approval

76%
394 ratings
Add your rating