Amec Foster Wheeler

332 reviews

Amec Foster Wheeler Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational
Civil Engineering Technologist (Former Employee), Regina, SKFebruary 2, 2016
Pros: always positive attitude
It is certainly a good company to work for. I learned how to coordinate tasks in a very busy environment. The management is an excellent example in the field that knows how achieve the best out of
workers,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice co-workers to work with
Senior Administrator (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCJanuary 27, 2016
Pros: Pay
Cons: Long Hours
like that we have a designated day off program so we work an extra .5 hrs per day in order to participate in the program and get an extra day off per month, and close down for 2 weeks over xmas, administrative, invoicing, dealing with engineers, contracts people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wide scope of work
Engineering Designer (Current Employee), Saskatoon, SKJanuary 25, 2016
Pros: Great company to work for
Cons: I have none
I have had the best and most experience from Amec FW. To learn about the whole process from bidding to the end at commissioning and all the workings in between.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Senior Architect (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 25, 2016
Good work environment
Average management team
High office politics
High turnover
Less room to grow
Benefits are very good
Long work hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots to learn
Electrical Engineer (Current Employee), Saskatoon, SKJanuary 21, 2016
Project based disadvantage Is no security of work. My current office offers lots of learning opportunities.
If they can change their business model and have more sustaining project and maintenance & operation definitely a good company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun working place
CITRIX SUPPORT ANALYST (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 12, 2016
-very productive and it was a great place to be part of
-very relaxed environment
-friendly and helpful co-workers
-great salary
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Senior Structural Engineer (Current Employee), Oakville, ONJanuary 6, 2016
Avery good company but unfortunately the projects in mining industry are slowing down.
Enjoyable working environment
good co-worker relationship
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good career growth
Senior Instrumentation and Control Engineer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 5, 2016
Pros: Great Team work
Cons: Compensation rate is less
Provided an excellent opportunity to work on multiple large scale oil & gas projects. Very good project management team and long term client relationship.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fall from potential greatness
Vice President, AMEC Environment & Infrastructure (Current Employee), Montréal, QCDecember 24, 2015
Pros: Great staff
Cons: lack of vision and intentionally poor communication
This company has lost it's way. It's fall from potential greatness has come as a result of it's inward focus in recent years. I wish then the best, but as long as the focus remains on inward controls rather than clients AmecFW will not be a pleasant place to attempt to build a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative Results oriented drama free environment
electrical engineer (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCDecember 21, 2015
Pros: collaborative team environment, makes it a pleasure to work here
Cons: long hours, no job security, cutbacks in benefits and stagnant wages
Well managed in Vancouver. Exceptional team environment focussed on obtaining results the right way. Generous training allowance.

Friday donut sessions with performance and safety moments - promotes excellent communication between staff and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amec
IT Specialist (Former Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 10, 2015
Laid off due to lack of Projects, Was a great company to work for over the past 6 years. Now looking for work either in the Oil Industries or out side it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My work role
Bridge/Structural Engineer (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 29, 2015
• Performing design and drafting for bridge projects

• Preparing the preparation of drawings and specifications on bridge projects

• Performing quantity takeouts and reviewing shop drawings

• Processing projects’ inspections and construction supervisions

• Assisting Seniors to process construction and post-construction engineering
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and Stress Free Work Envinronment
Lead Process Engineer (Current Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 25, 2015
A pleasure to work at. Cordial employees and interesting mix of complex and simple projects. Focused primarily on upstream with a sprinkling of downstream projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place for engineering practice
Senior Structural Engineer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 18, 2015
Pros: A number of seminars
Cons: Short of work
Great work place for engineering practice, got more experiences from projects and colleagues.. A number of structures practised, more opportunities to deal with different type of structures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional and friendly work environment
PDMS Designer (Former Employee), Oakville, ONNovember 17, 2015
Pros: Very professional
Cons: Limited time contract work
Very professional and pleasant work place.
Friendly management. Ability to learn new things.
Focus on details in projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Control Manager - Cover Letter
Project Controls Manager (Current Employee), AlbertaOctober 27, 2015
Kindly note that I am managing the Project Controls for more than 12 years. I have experience on PMC, EPCM, and EPC of Oil and Gas, Buildings, Chemicals, Petrochemicals, and Mines and Refineries Projects. I am expert in Planning, Scheduling, Cost Controlling, and Project Controls and have leadership in Project Engineering, Procurement, Contracts, Controls, and Construction.

My Controls Management covers Projects of more than 10 Billion USD contract value.
I am highly skilled in Planning and Progress Monitoring, Cost Controls, Plans and Budgets, Commitments, Payments and Expenditures, and Margin Analysis, and can set up the Project Controls System and develop and implement the controls procedures in any kind of project.

Change Management of Budgets and Trends, Variations, and impact on Contingency and TIC are also part of my experience, in addition to the Risk Management, Causes and Effects, impact on Cost and Schedule, and mitigation Strategies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
international firm with little marketing
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONOctober 20, 2015
Cons: no marketing, poor leadership
estimating, master reports, client management, proposal, technical writing

sales, staff mentoring, senior review, training, presentations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but worth it
Lab Technician (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABOctober 11, 2015
I was a lab tech there and I was busy constantly during the boom in Alberta. It was hard work and I enjoyed it, got tons of hours, recognition for hard work and my boss was great. I didn't want to leave but during the downturn I had no hours and had to move on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Project Materials Coordinador/Senior Buyer (Former Employee), Calgary and Oilsands SitesOctober 5, 2015
Pros: Good Safety culture, good salaries and excellent work environment
Cons: Work just on projects not permanent palcement
My best work experience so far, excellent company, work environment and safety culture at the best. Very good coworkers and professionals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Senior Electrical Specialist (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 2, 2015
one of the best company i have worked for so far. good people and work-life balance. management however needs to look at the bureaucracy brewing on the lower level.
Claimed Profile
Revenue
$5bn to $10bn (CAD)
Employees
10,000+
Industry
Links
Amec Foster Wheeler website

Twitter

Facebook