Find companies:
Amazon.com
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,159 reviews

Amazon.com Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Labor Low Pay No Concern For Employees
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), West Columbia, SCAugust 3, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: short breaks, low pay, no concern for employees, favoritism
A typical day is 10 hours of standing stooping even walking. The managers aren't concerned about you they only want numbers. If you are sick and its not work related don't even think about Am Care because you will be sent back to work if you're not on break. And then the breaks are suppose to be 15 mins but by the time you get to the break room or wherever – more... you choose to break its time to go back in and they are clocking you!!!! The building is hot and there is so much favoritism that if you wanted to advance you would have to be friends with the manager. The hardest part of the job is being there because cause you have a family to take care of. The most enjoyable is coming in contact with new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice warehouse to work
Inventory Associate (Current Employee), Breinigsville, PAAugust 3, 2014
the enjoyable part of the job is how easy going my department manager is. any issues they will resolve fast
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work at amazon
ICQA- Program developer (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 2, 2014
leaned cisco, and networking, shared my experience with other employees, learned new programming languages, learned linux.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
amazon (Former Employee), Hazleton, PAAugust 1, 2014
Pros: free lunch for example pizza, cake, pretzel, ect.
Cons: good healthcare
I worked at amazon for 10 months, i had a really good time working at amazon in the night shift 7:00 pm to 5:30 am in the night i was required to work in two different departments end of line and sort, in amazon i learned how to use scanner's manual and automatics pallet jack etc. the most difficult departments was end of line in the case mods because – more... some times i had to carry cases of 50 and 60 pounds but i was okay with that. i enjoyed everything of amazon they have good benefits for employers and good managers . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
heavy machinery operator (Former Employee), Cayce, SCJuly 30, 2014
A lot walking.. great exercise.. but their quick to lay u off when they don't need you
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well paid
Operations/Admin Assistant (Former Employee), Hemel Hempstead, ENGJuly 30, 2014
A typical day at work will involve at the start planning how the event will be run, dividing employees into a group of team and following a well planned strategy that suits everyone. while working here, my confidence has increased, My communication skills are improving and the ability to plan and organise have now become a part of my everyday life. – more... I am now able to adapt and adjust to different scenarios. the people I work with are excellent and are helpful. the hardest part of the job is mainly planning but it has to be done. the most enjoyable part of the job is having to do the job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4 10s
Packer, Picker, and Dock Receiver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 30, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: non
good days off but hard to get a permanent position. security at door everymorning
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
packer (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 29, 2014
Pros: water available everywhere as the warehouse is hot temp inside, the supervisors were always ready to help and available.
Cons: since it is a big warehouse, by the time you got to the breakroom, a few minutes passed for your break.
By far one of my best places to have worked. The supervisors are great communicators and helpful. Very professional too. Although it was a very hot, fast paced environment, the atmosphere was stress free. I learned computer skills, shipping skills and the importance of stretching before work. The hardest part of the job was the conveyor belts in the – more... multi packing as if you are the only one rampacking and three or four are packing, it can get pretty backed up but the supervisors were always "on the job" to see you got help. The most enjoyable part was the stress free atmosphere as everyone I worked with seemed to be happy at their jobs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee), Lewisberry, PAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: good breaks.
Cons: doesnt hire alot of people on.
walking alot,its all easy work.
co-workers are easy to get along with as well as the managers.
learned some stuff about shipping .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, but long/hard days
Packer (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNJuly 29, 2014
Pros: decent pay, overtime, working 3 days a week
Cons: long days, short breaks, short lunch, incredibly physically demanding, high expected rate
The job itself payed well, and the staff and management was nice. The only problem, and the reason I left, was the fact that it was incredibly physically demanding, in that I had to move constantly for about 10 hours a day with few short breaks and a 30 minute lunch.

The expected rate for packing was ridiculous. I was expected to pack, depending on – more... the size and amount of items in a box, 70 - 150 items per hour. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for a career minded individual
manager (Former Employee), seattleJuly 29, 2014
Pros: company is good for resme
Cons: management, benefits are 0
Management is not up to Par and avg lifespan is 2 yrs before burnout. The golden handcuffs called stock is a suckers bet at Amazon because it is part of your salary when review and raises come but you can only sell it 2 times a year when everyone else is , driving down the price. Total circuit job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at home and be your own boss.
Freelancer (Current Employee), Work at HomeJuly 29, 2014
Wake up when you want, In my case 9 am. Start up the computer, load up multiple pages and split between monitors and wait for work to come in. Following forums and scripts for work most of the day. No guarantee of any hourly or salary pay. This job is what you make it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A well earned dollar
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Lewisberry, PAJuly 28, 2014
It is a tough job however it is well worth it when you get overtime and guarantee not to lose your job. Good atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its rubbish
Operation Associate (Former Employee), croydonJuly 28, 2014
they treat you like rubbish and management so weak they don't have a clue on what they are doing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), College Park, GAJuly 27, 2014
I am a warehouse working with amazon I so love this job the people the workers etc...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace, Bright People
Senior Manager - Global Inventory Placement (Current Employee), Seattle, WAJuly 27, 2014
Great place to work for a few years, but depending on the group you're in, you could burn out quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company with fast placement
Picker (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 26, 2014
Loved working for this company but the shifts were long which the body has to adjust to but the management is really nice and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Milton keynesJuly 25, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: progression
Fun place to work, learnt a lot, fun part was learning new processes and new products
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Why Working at Amazon is not Advised
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNJuly 24, 2014
Pros: flexible time off
Cons: short breaks, long hours, too much emphasis on rate alone as the only effective measure of productivity, no opportunity for advancement, no chance to transfer, few opportunities for cross-training, burn-out
Many tasks are monotonous and too repetitive, which quickly leads to disinterest and burn-out, There is no opportunity for advancement and training in desired areas. Having to repeatedly ask management for fair opportunity to cross-train in requested departments is frustrating. Many ambassadors and some members of management are rude and act as if any – more... question you ask them is a dumb question. I've seen some management members humiliate employees in front of everyone else in the department at stand-up if they make the smallest error instead of coming to that person directly to
bring correction.Moving people to departments (that are considered the hardest in which to make rate due to impossible conditions and standards) that they did not apply for and telling them they must transfer or risk losing their jobs is a deceptive and back-handed ploy which only has the bottom line in mind instead of the success of those employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad job
inbound associate (Former Employee), Cayce, SCJuly 24, 2014
Pros: laid back
Cons: long shifts lot of walking
management is very slack but its a very easy but physically demanding job

About Amazon.com

Amazon.com is an American international multibillion dollar electronic commerce company with headquarters in Seattle, Washington, – Read more