Find companies:
Amazon.com
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,367 reviews

Amazon.com Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
Freelance Fashion Art Director/Creative Consultant (Current Employee), Williamsburg, NYOctober 13, 2014
Amazing place to work, great people, very professional. Great studio, stylist, photographers, Hair and makeup. Fast passed. Art Director covers 3 bays each day. Excellent system for packing photos and getting the job done on time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working with Co-workers
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Chester, VAOctober 13, 2014
Pros: the benefits
Cons: i feel we should have received an hour lunch break oppose to thirty minutes, working a ten hour shift.
a typical day at amazon was to stock shelves for customer orders, I have learned that you must stock with safety in mind because we had an awful lot of heavy items to stock, however, you should always lift with your legs and not with your back. I had the best Manager, and the co-workers, old and new where very professional. What I liked about the job – more... is we got to see first hand what Amazon has to offer, and I wasn't just an Amazon employee, I am also a Customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced enviroment
warehouse operative (Current Employee), dunfermlineOctober 13, 2014
Pros: opportunity to progress fast if you manage to become permanent
Cons: long hours and pointing system
Amazon is a easy going job with a tough environment to stay on as a full time worker after the holiday seasons. The jobs you are tasked to do are very repetitive but are also very easy to put to task. You can learn many things from the job if you seek to aim higher on the employment chain as many bottom level jobs are common sense and don't take any – more... skill what so ever to perform. At the time I worked within Amazon we were undertaking 10 hour shifts starting from 7pm and was perfect for everyone to keep both their work and social life separate from each other and yet still have time for them both and came as one of the many perks to the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning opportunity but hard to advance and worklife balance is not great.
Recruiting Manager (Current Employee), SeattleOctober 13, 2014
Pros: you can take your dog to work
Cons: no work life balance, do not invest in their employees
Amazon is an interesting company to work at. The culture is one that allows for lots of learning and challenging work to be involved in.

I think they are a good company that cares about their customers but the tough part is that they do not care much about their employees. .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
efficient at worlplace
Catalog Quality Associate (Current Employee), Bangalore, KAOctober 13, 2014
Pros: free cab service and monthly sudexos
Cons: 8hours work culture
learnt a lot about e-commerce.
typical day at work was fun
management is great but not so good.
co-workers were chilled out and amazing.
Hardest part was to talk to mangers.
company was US culture and amazing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promising technology, late to market
Senior DevOps Engineering Manager, Cloud Drive (Former Employee), Seattle, WAOctober 12, 2014
Pros: aws, amazing & talented developers, centralized monitoring, great hiring process, accessible help from anywhere in the company.
Cons: work life balance, expected long work hours, holiday "game days", short deadlines, culture of finger pointing on outages, lack of management support, anyone not trained in application development is stupid
Amazon is great place to work. The development and monitoring tools available to all are simply amazing. Being able to build to AWS and scale up and scale down-- a breath of fresh air.

It's a good place... I think I'd just say you have to be under 30 YO.

The worst part of Amazon is they are always looking for a villain and your manager (despite how – more... nice he might seem) is ready to throw you under a bus. After a big release (like a Kindle or Kindle Fire), you will either be recognized as "great" or "causal" to the success. Worse, as a manager, you will be told how you should rate your team.

1st Year Reviews are always the hardest because you realize if someone on your team was a "rockstar" that you really can't give more rewards than the "average guy" because of the current rate of stock options. That was very hard to explain to employees.

In trying to promote people, it's at least a year process... because you need to solicit the feedback from other folks who will set requirements. If you are not on a development team, you won't advance as fast as if you were. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Picker/fork lift operator (Former Employee), Charleston, TNOctober 12, 2014
Typical day at amazon as a picker I would drive my order picker to different areas of the building and pick product that was in my scanner. I learned how to find where the product was .the management team was a great team to work with. some of the coworkers where great but you had those that would slack off and not do there part . there wasn't anything – more... hard about the job .the most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that the job got done – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is a fun place to work
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee), Avenel, NJOctober 12, 2014
Cons: the breaks are short
when we get there the first thing we do is excersice later we go to our locations and we start scaning
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for developers/geeks
Software Engineer (Current Employee), Hyderabad, APOctober 12, 2014
Pros: shares, work from home
Cons: long working hours
I learned a lot on the distributed computing framework which is now a demand for almost every company either small or big. It is good place for developers, but life is a little hectic and sometimes, it becomes an issue to have work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool company
Software Development Engineer II (Current Employee), Seattle, WAOctober 10, 2014
Worked there for 4 years, fun if you get on a good team. Others can work you to the bone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high pressure environment
Senior Agency Manager (Temp) (Former Employee), doncasterOctober 10, 2014
Pros: good earning potential
Cons: night shifts, short term contract
warehouse based, supervising team of up to 300 employees, keeping track of targets and encouraging successful results, good relationship with staff at all levels, good social aspect
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
X
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Jeffersonville, INOctober 10, 2014
Pros: abc
Cons: abcc
Responsible for an operation ranging from 300-500 associates with 2-3 direct reports.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok fast-paed environment
Warehouse associate (Former Employee), Campbellsville, KYOctober 9, 2014
staying on feet
fast-paced
following instructions
work holidays
working closely with others
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazon
picke (Former Employee), Louisville, KYOctober 9, 2014
this is my favorite job i enjoy everyday working at amazon shaping items that costumer order the picker job is a solo job that you walk and fiend the items and shaping it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
uline
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), breingsville P.aOctober 9, 2014
htss liked the job was doing recieving and generl labor was a good job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work in
Picking and Packing (Former Employee), Plainfield, INOctober 8, 2014
this was an okay job. i barely had a chance to get to know anyone at work because i was always focus on work and trying to keep up with rate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very good employer
Warehousing Associate Inbound and Outbound (Current Employee), Lewisberry, PAOctober 8, 2014
Pros: only employment available in area, and you have medical insurance.
This company seemed like a great place to work at first, but after time went by your employment gets worse. They don't treat their employees very well, there is little or no concern for employees. After you have been in there employ for two to three years they start to try and get rid of you. They find things to write you up on even if the mistakes – more... were someone else. When something happens within the warehouse the employee is blamed for it they pass the buck a lot, to make themselves and managers look better. Managers do not tell truth they lie, and HR is just as bad. There is favoritism, its all about who you know, not what you know, you work 4 ten hour days, two ten minute breaks and a half an hour lunch that's not much in 10 hours, all positions besides management and HR you are on your feet for 10 hours a day, and they have rates for picking and stowing sometimes there hard to meet if you don't your written up so many your out the door. And there is little advancement, a large turn over for help, there in a constant state of reorganization. I only recommend this employment to people who are in between jobs or need medical insurance or if employment is to hard to find in your local area. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with super smart DBAs
Oracle DBA (Former Employee), Seattle, WAOctober 7, 2014
Amazon got some great DBAs around. It was fun working with them and learned a lot. Oracle on Linux is the standard along with FSFO.

The tools built to support the Oracle platform are outstanding. If you run into some problem, some DBAs are always around to support you.

Overall, it's a good place to work, at least for some newly minced DBA because – more... he will learn a lot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job I have ever worked
Assistant Photographer (Former Employee), Shepherdsville, KYOctober 7, 2014
Pros: none.
Cons: everything
No advancement opportunities. No raises. If you was not in the in crowd then you were out. Told everyday that you can always be replaced. Made physically ill by all the stress. They want only temps. Was wrongfully terminated according to the Unemployment office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Hectic
Warehouse Operator (Former Employee), Hemel HempsteadOctober 7, 2014
typical day was 10 hour shifts at night cold and tiring
learned patience and speed when working to reach targets
management were relaxed but expected results
co workers were friendly and easy to work with
staying up all night was the hardest part of the job
arrival and departure were the most enjoyable parts of the job

About Amazon.com

Amazon strives to be Earth's most customer-centric company where people can find and discover virtually anything they want to – Read more