Find companies:
Amazon.com
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,089 reviews

Amazon.com Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and productive team
Amazon Merchandise Seller (Current Employee), New York, NYDecember 3, 2012
Great place to work. Online and on site are good environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, used dogs to assist
Security Guard (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 1, 2012
Pros: got to work with dogs. i love animals
Cons: night shift
1.patrolling warehouse
2. fun, excited co-workers, made it easy to work effectively
3. learned procedures and followed strict orders
4. overnight position made it difficult for me to manage my lifestyle
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Technical Support Technician (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMay 12, 2012
they links their employee skills with opportunities for growth in the company and helps employees understand how their work contributes to the firm's success. That I like the most which help us to develop our skills and company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), College Park, GAJuly 27, 2014
I am a warehouse working with amazon I so love this job the people the workers etc...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company with fast placement
Picker (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 26, 2014
Loved working for this company but the shifts were long which the body has to adjust to but the management is really nice and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Milton keynesJuly 25, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: progression
Fun place to work, learnt a lot, fun part was learning new processes and new products
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Why Working at Amazon is not Advised
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNJuly 24, 2014
Pros: flexible time off
Cons: short breaks, long hours, too much emphasis on rate alone as the only effective measure of productivity, no opportunity for advancement, no chance to transfer, few opportunities for cross-training, burn-out
Many tasks are monotonous and too repetitive, which quickly leads to disinterest and burn-out, There is no opportunity for advancement and training in desired areas. Having to repeatedly ask management for fair opportunity to cross-train in requested departments is frustrating. Many ambassadors and some members of management are rude and act as if any – more... question you ask them is a dumb question. I've seen some management members humiliate employees in front of everyone else in the department at stand-up if they make the smallest error instead of coming to that person directly to
bring correction.Moving people to departments (that are considered the hardest in which to make rate due to impossible conditions and standards) that they did not apply for and telling them they must transfer or risk losing their jobs is a deceptive and back-handed ploy which only has the bottom line in mind instead of the success of those employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad job
inbound associate (Former Employee), Cayce, SCJuly 24, 2014
Pros: laid back
Cons: long shifts lot of walking
management is very slack but its a very easy but physically demanding job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace environment with long hours
amazon (Former Employee), phoenix, azJuly 23, 2014
on a regular day we get a certain amont of items we have to shipout through out the day. our goal is to succeed and failure is neber the option. Ten hours four days a week is mandatory, with over time sometimes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for advancement and opportunity to work from home.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Charleston, WVJuly 23, 2014
Pros: work at home
I really appreciate the opportunity to be on the ground floor of the VCC-Work From Home division with Amazon.com. I got a chance to challenge myself and prove that I can work in a position with little supervision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay. Not the best but also not the worst.
Packaging/Machine Operator (Former Employee), Murfreesboro, TNJuly 23, 2014
Pros: nothing really.
Cons: i started on a sunday through wednesday. you can see how they weird that is.
a typical day at work would be very quiet. Even when you where the most expensive and comfortable shoes. Your feet will kill you from standing or walking all day. Seen to many people quit due to that. Management was demanding. Very demanding. Hardest part about the job is standing up straight in one spot. I didn't really enjoy it to be honest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work enviorment
Singles (Former Employee), Coffeyville, KSJuly 23, 2014
a typical day at work was standing in a little cubical type spot and putting 1 item in a box tapiong it up and sending it on to shipping
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice laid back environment, if you can handle talking to customers all day.
Kindle Customer Service (Current Employee), Kennewick, WAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: fun atmosphere
Cons: customers can sometimes be taxing depending on your personality
Amazon customers are generally happy, so as far as working at a call center goes, this is probably one of the better options available.

Amazon often has new things up their sleeve, so things are often interesting.

Managers are generally good to very good. Co-works have been friendly, helpful and encouraging.

Benefits are sub-par by my standards, – more... but do include low cost health care, small amount of stock that vests after a couple years and other benefits.

Pretty generous with Time Off and when/how you use it. You can call in sick after your shift starts, for example. But if you run out of Time Off, they do not like it one bit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Lead Contactor/ Catalog Specialist II (Current Employee), Seattle, WAJuly 22, 2014
Learned a lot. Was able to help with a couple major projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay was the best thing about the working at Amazon.com
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee), Lexington, KYJuly 22, 2014
Pros: ability to work unsupervised and the pay
Cons: office politics from the last manager
The clinic could see between 4 and 35 patients a day for work related and non work related illness and injuries. I had 8 different managers in the 5 years I worked there. The last manager became a micro-manager and this was the hardest part of my job. I established and kept the department organized and was given no recognition for the hard work put – more... into the department. I would say the most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the associates and assisting them to get better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very friendly employees
Packer (Current Employee), West Columbia, SCJuly 21, 2014
my co-workers are very friendly. my job require me to stand for 10 hours which is very uncomfortable. I have learned that you have to be very careful with the packages. The most enjoyable part of my job is the breaks
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away as fast as you can!
Stow (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNJuly 21, 2014
Pros: no drama, everyone keeps to themselves.
Cons: too many to list
This is only a job for marathon athletes. I worked in stow, which amazon will outright tell you, it's the hardest position they have. Pushing around a u-boat with 12 totes full of goods and stocking those goods into bins all night/day. Especially difficult when stocking larger items when there is nowhere to put them, cause all the bins are already full. – more... Go, go, go as fast as you can! Ambassadors, or "coaches" down your neck every hour. And breaks-what breaks? By the time you get to the break room, you immediately have to turn around to start trekking back to scan an item at the precise moment to avoid being written up for being late. Same with lunch. It's all rigged- managers can change your rate depending on if they like you or not. All the blue badges are nothing but butt-kissers on power trips. The work/life balance does not exist. On your off days, your body is hurting too bad to get out of bed, much less spend time getting household chores done, or spending quality time w/ family. I was so overworked and dehydrated, that even eating became a challenge. I do not ecommend working here, especially if you are a woman over 35-it's just too physically demanding, hot and overbearing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
ICQA (Former Employee), Charleston,TNJuly 21, 2014
Learned how to do inventory control and problem solving. It does get really busy during Christmas time and there are a lot of people there so it will be VERY busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Place
ICQA (Former Employee), Whitestown, INJuly 20, 2014
The environment is great however the HR is completely all over the place. I was training people to do there jobs and they were getting promoted to leads and still asking for advice. Pay is decent, very hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
yes
Assistant Manager to Department (Current Employee), Middletown, DEJuly 20, 2014
my priorities are : to balance and control the flow of my shift. i am responsible for staffing and labor moves to ensure the perfect balance in order to run a smooth shift. and also maximize productivity. i have learned that i am in control of MY OWN success and growth. my management is ok. i enjoy engaging with my associates to give them that extra – more... push and energy in the workplace. the most enjoyable part of my job are the associates. and waking up and doing everything all over again. – less

About Amazon.com

Amazon.com is an American international multibillion dollar electronic commerce company with headquarters in Seattle, Washington, – Read more