Aluma Systems Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB21 July 2017
This company is a local favorite with quick immediate response time to all disasters including floods and hurricanes they are on time and work efficiently
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Plate - Left to go to Pashal
Trainer/ Design Technician (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 March 2017
Sales requires multitasking, therefore every day is a different challenge which makes interesting. Typical day includes pricing jobs, visiting job sites, seeking more information regarding new projects, placing orders and doing paper work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bonne compagnie
Menuisier (Former Employee) –  Port-daniel, QC6 March 2017
belle exécution des travaux a la demande de lemploiyeur
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Scaffold / Insulator Superintendent at Kearl Lake (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB2 March 2017
Good wages with a shift rotation that allowed for family/work balance. Co-workers were professional and aided in daily decision and problem solving.
Pros
Excellent wages
Cons
Working away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized work. Drama in the atmosphere.
Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB27 February 2017
They usually kept everything organized to my knowledge. Most of the upper management was nice.There was a lot of drama in the work force. The pay was decent but the only advancement was if you went to school and educated yourself.
Pros
Free lunches on times
Cons
Drama in the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very comfortable enviroment.
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 January 2017
The everyday grind at this job was simple and fun. Management was very approachable and willing to help with any issues you may of had. Co-workers made the day much easier to handle and fun. The hardest part was being on my feet all day but very manageable for being such a minor thing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok to work for when theres alot of work
Second year Scaffold Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 January 2017
Not a lot of work in the area, very slow turn around from jobs. When you have a job make sure you don't leave it. Very hard competition, cannot compete against non-union companies.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insulating industrial pipes on oil field
Insulator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 November 2016
Excellent mentors and journeyman available to teach new green hands.
pay is excellent and work long hours.
Co workers were always fun to work with.
Hardest part of the job was the tight spaces having to work in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy all day
ZoomBoom Operator/Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB21 November 2016
When my girl got seriously ill they helped me out alot on a daily basis,they where very understanding and made sure that if i needed to tke emergency leave,it was good to go
Pros
long hours
Cons
never really had any problems
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I began my career as a Supervisor with Aluma.
Journeyman / Foreman (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON8 November 2016
I learned a great deal about scaffold work in an Industrial setting. I also gained extensive experience in the implementation of service contracts in an Industrial setting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company to work for.
Apprentice scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 September 2016
I think Aluma is the best company to work for because they provide their employees with the best personal protective equipment out of any other company out there and they treat everyone with respect.
Pros
Great attitudes
Cons
Worksite locations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement
Office (Former Employee) –  Alberta27 July 2016
Management only means business. No concern to employees. It's always busy so work can be toxic. Definitely no advancement (maybe after 5-20 yrs, or so). Very long working hours. Can't even have a balance personal lifestyle
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Management don't care
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working there and the staff was friendly.
Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB1 March 2016
I felt like I was part of a team that was friendly and a positive environment to work in. I gained experience and was able to use my past experience as well.
Pros
Positive work environment.
Cons
Too far away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aluma is a wonderful company to work for.
Site Administrator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 August 2015
I enjoyed my employment with Aluma. The people were great to work with and Aluma offers great training and upgrading opportunities. If not for being a contract worker I would have stayed with Aluma until retirement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
foreman (Former Employee) –  CNRL15 July 2015
I enjoyed working there ,great people, good job. the management team went out of their way to accommodate their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aluma
Insulator Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB24 April 2015
Aluma Systems is a great company to work for managed by great people.
The hardest part was weather, when it's -40 or below but other than that I had fun working there.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
outdoors at most time
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 February 2015
Show up at work and start with toolbox meeting.
Once on site I would get a crew together and assess the hazards for the scope of work to be completed for the day.
My coworkers and I developed good working relationships understanding the importance of communication.
The hardest part of the job is planning and mobilizing the gear to the job site accurately for the day.
I enjoy the positive relationships that I did have with my coworkers.
Pros
Learning something new everyday and gaining experience
Cons
There was very little overtime available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New management destroyed corporate culture
Inventory Coordinator/Yard Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Saanichton, BC4 February 2015
When senior management changed it went from a job I loved to go to every day to one that I dreaded, the micromanaging was horrible!
Pros
Providing quality service to customers.
Cons
Lack of support to provide the level of service I was expected to provide.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Operations Assistant & Health and Safety Advisor (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB27 May 2014
A typical day at work is very busy with operations and safety. As well as performing other duties such as taking care of all company cell phones and air cards, organizing presentations for meetings and clients, and preparing management's expenses. The hardest part of the job is not being able to focus mainly on my interest of safety.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company poor management
scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 May 2014
work every night
-refer to resume
-again not sure what to put here
Pros
great pay
Cons
management was terrable
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aluma Systems. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 42 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6