Find companies:
Altec, Inc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
75 reviews

Altec, Inc Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Body Designer - Solid Works (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALDecember 21, 2014
Solid company with an great group of team members, many have been there over ten years, good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like everyone I work with and I like the atmosphere.
General Laborer (Current Employee), Saint Joseph, MONovember 25, 2014
Cons: my status is temporary and the job does not pay what i am used to.
I am learning a lot and feel Like I am catching on quickly. I have only been there for a few weeks and am working through Imko Staffing service. The Job does not seem hard to me so far and the most enjoyable part of the job is the people and the technology they have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT EXPERIENCE, LEARNED ALOT
TEMP (Former Employee), TARRENT, ALNovember 19, 2014
EVEN THO THE JOB SECURITY WAS VERY POOR YOU'LL NEVER KNOW WHEN YOUR TIME IS UP THERE I LEARNED HOW TO OPERATE AN LOT OF MACHINERY. THE PEOPLE WAS GREAT THERE LOTS OF TEAM WORK AND PLENTY OVERTIME. THE WORK WAS EASY PUTTING PARTS ON TRUCK BEDS, APPLYING DOOR JAMS, AND CAULKING CRACKS IT WAS A VERY SIMPLY JOB
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked on the line
Technician Assistant (Current Employee), Saint Joseph, MONovember 10, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: low pay
Long hours and very hot in the summer. They do offer great insurance, but pay not so good
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guaranteed work with good benefits
painter (Current Employee), Saint Joseph, MONovember 9, 2014
Pros: guaranteed work
Cons: working nights, (third shift)
I come in arrange parts that needs to be painted from day shift. After finishing day shifts left-overs I do color changes on cylinders for our colored machines. While doing tins I inspect the booms that come off the powder coat line and correct any imporfections with single stage wet paint. I have learned how to blend paint so you don't have to paint – more... an entire area. Management is easy to talk to when I have an issue come up. Co-workers are hard workers that get the job done while staying up-beat about their jobs. The hardest part of the job is being able to finish the day shifts left over work as well as doing mine in 8 hours. The most enjoyable part of the job is painting. Taking a piece from unsatifactory to a satisfactory piece of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good compay to work for
Material Handler I Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INNovember 4, 2014
Pros: good work enviroment
Cons: cold outside
unload trucks for inside products unload and stage large equipment in outside yard bring equipment in when ready for truck assembley
distribute part to floor work areas as needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work enviroment, very dirty , leads were lazy, quality was underloooked
Paint Technician (Former Employee), Daleville, VAOctober 15, 2014
Pros: break every 2 hours
Cons: short lunch, no training, had to be temp, only 4 pts allowed
all they cared about was time. they always said it was quality but doing a paint job with a paint brush is not quality expecially on a hundred thousand dollar vehicle. they hired people with no experience in paint and they were constantly messing parts/trucks up. management only cared about the time on trucks which I understand but when you want a quality – more... product it takes time to get that. training was horrible half the people didn't know what they were doing and altec wouldn't train them at all. team leads where lazy and didn't help any of the new employees. simply put they just wanted to hit big numbers without doing a full paint job because they are money hungry. supervisors only worried about their bonuses would never know the answer to any questions and would rarely get back to you if they did even have an answer so you were always winging it and sending it down line which caused for a lot of re works which costs money – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work, bad managment
Mobile Service Technician (Current Employee), USOctober 10, 2014
THe big problem is that supervisors don't really care. They say the understand and they are there to help but the next day they call and explain how your wrong.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean and happy place to work
Service Technician for mobile equipment (Former Employee), China Grove, NCSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: school, free lunches
Work area was clean, sent us to school to learn their use of equipment. Gave us free lunches often.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and Laid back place to work
Production Scheduler (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: laid back, multiple responsibilities keep things interesting
Cons: very focused on engineers, not other associates
Altec Industries builds a very unique product, learning all that goes into the production of aerial devices has been a very interesting experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company. 25 year of employment and still use the buddy system
Warehouse/Picker/welder/assembler (Current Employee), Saint Joseph, MOAugust 25, 2014
Pros: easy work
Cons: terrible management, micro-management
The easiest job anyone could ask for but the management turns it into a terrible work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment with a wonderfull atmosphere!
Applications Engineering Intern (Former Employee), Elizabethtown, KYAugust 20, 2014
Pros: flexible hours or shifts
Cons: computer equipment provided was insufficient to do some of the larger solidworks projects
A typical day at work involved coordinating with the inside sales rep and the project engineer to develop a sales drawing based on customer requirements. This process helped to eliminate space and weight issues before the product reached the manufacturing stage. I learned to use Solidworks and Auto-cad while working for Altec. The most difficult part – more... of the job was learning to communicate engineering ideas to sales reps who did not have engineering backgrounds. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old fashion machine shop
QC Inspector (Current Employee), Albuquerque, NMAugust 5, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: no chance of advancement and no benefits offered. only working part time.
Old fashion way of mechanical inspection with no new equipment to work with. Not able to compete with the other machine shops with high speed equipment and inspection CMM.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work with plenty of perks
Assembler/Machine Operator (Former Employee), VAAugust 3, 2014
Loved my job there the hardest part of the job was working 3rd shift
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job has is its ups and downs but i experienced more downs at Altec than any job ive ever worked for..
Finisher (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALAugust 2, 2014
Pros: benefits and pay scale
Cons: working a lot of overtime and management never being happy.
A typical day I would learn something different everyday that would help me get through the day with the job task needed to be performed. Management could be better I felt as if they didn't know what they were doing and when something went wrong fingers were pointed at employees. Hardest part of the job would be not fixing problems that would occur – more... everyday such wrong body prints paint issues with bodies welding issues etc. Most enjoyable the coworkers that would come together and get the job done. Also the union wasn't for the people.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get a start
Applications Engineer (Current Employee), Elizabethtown, KYJuly 30, 2014
Pros: free lunches if you sit through a meeting, great people, decent pay
Cons: very fast paced, little bit of good ol' boys club.
It is a great company to get a start and if you stay longer than most people you are almost sure to advance. Depending on what department you get placed in could burn you out faster than others. Overall I would recommend this company, especially as a first job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits; just a job not a career
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Birmingham, ENGJuly 23, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: no advancement; poor and inexperienced management
Co-workers are great. No career advancement. In experienced management. Company do not honor their core values. Poor relationship between management and employees. Bottom line company only cares about profits. Maintenance Tech position requires a lot of work but not stressful. This position really is excellent for someone who is just starting a career – more... in maintenance or at the end of their career. The pay is okay but it is not competitive with other companies that require Multicraft Maintenance Technicians. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Senior Technical Sales Representative (Former Employee), Saint Joseph, MOJuly 16, 2014
Great culture, great people and a great product. I truly enjoyed my time at Altec and wish them nothing but the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of working experience with Altec
Mechanical Assembler (Former Employee), Creedmoor, NCJune 30, 2014
Pros: making money
Cons: harsment, poor leadership, poor quality
Harasment on chipper line, if your a temp you take a lot of blame and are belittled by upper management. Poor supervising. MOST workers that get hired on are affiliated with each other outside of work, giving outsiders no chance to advance. If you have family inside you will advance.Creedmoors Altec needs to be investigated on mistreatment to employees – more... and harassment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
Welder (Current Employee), Birmingham ALJune 27, 2014
Pros: benefits, 401k, insurance
Cons: management, hr
If you want to move up be ready to brown nose with the best and be a snake in the grass. The only good place to work in this plant is Quality. The quality manager is what needs to be carbon copied into every other management position. Group leads are lazy, supervisors rarely on the floor. 85% of the welders only work 50% of the time they are there. – more... Life/work balance can get bad sometimes. 4 12s a 10 and a 7 with occasional sundays. – less

1 2 3 4

About Altec, Inc

Altec is a leading provider of products and services to the electric utility, telecommunications, tree care, lights and signs, – Read more