Alta Telecom Employee Reviews

Showing all 26 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alta Telecom is the Best.
Telecommunications Technician (installer) (Former Employee) –  NH10 January 2016
Alta Telecom is the Best company to work for,They treat you every Good and there Management was one of the I ever work for. I only work for them in a very short contract. I wish I could have stayed there. I loved it.
Pros
one of the Best Management
Cons
I only work there for a Short while.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Central Office Technician (Former Employee) –  Augusta, ME3 May 2015
I only work for ALTA for a couple months but there an awesome company and they are very organize im looking forward on going on another project with them
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun and really exciting
I/R Technician (Former Employee) –  VT11 March 2015
Since the very first day i landed in New Hampshire I knew it was going to be a great work environment, management was great and very accurate with pay. Great pay and always on top of everything..
Pros
Great Perdiam
Cons
NA
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to acquire training in the fiber optic field
I&M Technician (Current Employee) –  Maine13 November 2014
Work days were at least 8 hours long.
Learned different splicing technique for fiber.
Hardest part of the job was working in cold weather.
Enjoy the rewards of getting paid
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alta Horribile Company To Work For !! Concord, NH Central Office Tech
CO Tech (Former Employee) –  NH28 November 2014
he company hires replacement workers for the Fair-point Strike Union going on up here in the northeast NH, Maine and VT. First the GA. company recruiter does not tell you it is a scab job just tells you are going to be installing telecom networks, switches, etc... No mention of picket lines having damage done to your vehicle, they present an atmosphere of working in new const buildings not in Fair-points Buildings while a strike is going on..These people are professional scab working force who hire from all over the US and other countries to cross picket lines, Most do not speak English or even have a clue of what they are doing with tel co..The striking workers are right when they say replacements people have no clue and are substandard..honestly, they are terrible incompetent techs..Don't know the difference between the demark and a street light..The Alta supervisors are burnt out drunks who got kicked out of a telephone job years ago..All have baggage...When you leave on your own they refuse to just pay you what they owe you outright..You have to get the labor board involved to get your $$$ Stay away if you are smart allot of transients working for them..
Pros
Its Work
Cons
In Business of Strike replacement SCABS
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alta owes me over $ 4,000
NOC Scab (Former Employee) –  Manchester, NH14 October 2014
Waiting for a union walkout in Manchester, New Hampshire, Alta trained a replacement crew in anticipation, for over three months.

Then we realized that they had gone through over eight payroll accountants, and that unpaid wages and per diem became a nightmare.

Many attempts to contact anyone at Alta have been ignored, and the managers on site keep revolving; no one wants to take responsibility for their mess.

A very nasty attitude, and lots of unpaid wages!
Cons
Unable to reach anyone about back pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standby for Fairpoint Communications vs Union Employees Strike
Central Office Technician (Current Employee) –  New Hampshire2 October 2014
Daily training and preparation so I will be ready for whatever task is given to me once Strike Negotiations are setteled.
Pros
Using down time wisely by studying for my Cisco CCNA Certification.
Cons
So much down time and nothing to fix or troubleshoot gets very boring
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring and no growth
Communications Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GA11 March 2014
too long communute inexperienced managers, no growth. disrespectful employees,
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alta Telecom is a good place to work.
Quality Assurance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Duluth Ga13 September 2013
I enjoyed my time at Alta and I kept them on track with their quality.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical contracting company
FIELD TEST ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GA5 September 2013
Generally not a bad company. Long days at times. management sometimes fail to understand the life of working on the road..Co-workers were great....
Pros
None
Cons
Unable to provide steady employment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grunt work
Central Office (Former Employee) –  U.S.15 August 2013
More steel toed work then anything, installation, cable pulling, etc.
If you have only high school I guess it's okay, but they don't pay for education.
Cons
Low Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job
Network/Desktop Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Oahu, Hawaii9 August 2013
great company, friendly coworkers, fast paced company, getting it done efficiently, location a plus.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place To Work
Wireless Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta7 July 2012
Work at 7 AM left at 4 PM and worked and traveled to develop business in communications. I used previous skills and people I knew do enhance their business. My direct manager there was as good as they get and helped with all he was capable of helping.
The hardest part of the job was when you just could not get business you knew you should be the one to get it.
Pros
very solid financilly stable company
Cons
very rigid in way business to be developed no room for innovation
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Critical systems involvement, needing quick response as needed.
Telco rep (Current Employee) –  Duluth, GA13 June 2012
Sorta like the "Maytag Repairman", monitor the systems waiting for some thing that needs attention to present itself. The best part of this job is working as a TEAM with the other Technicians to keep the customers happy.
Pros
great safety and training programs.
Cons
no complaints.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They do not like to pay
OPERATIONS MANAGER (Current Employee) –  New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Delaware24 March 2012
Good work, but the company is very cheap and they do not like to compensate for talent. Unfortunately it will be their undoing as more and more talent seeks work in other fields or with other companies.
Pros
great work experience
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carente
chofer (Former Employee) –  Mexico D.F., D. F.25 November 2016
No habia premio depuntualidad
No pagaban horas extras
No daban uniformes ni prestaciones
Solo teniamosel IMSS
Pros
Pagos puntuales
Cons
No daban uniformes ni prestaciones
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambienten con mucho estres
SUPERVIOR (Former Employee) –  CDMX, D. F.12 August 2016
Un dia tipico llegar a las 6am a preparar rutas luego darles salida para poder salir a reparar fallas de 1er grado asi com la revison de los mismos telefonos llegar a las 6pm y cerrar operaciones a las 8pm,
Aprendi un alto sentido de responsabilidad asi cmo trabajo en extrema presion y condiciones dificiles como es trafico,riesgo de bandalismo,y condiciones climatologicas poco favorables.
Buena comunicacion con mis colegas. Y lo mas aprendi fue el conocimiento total de la cdmx y area metropolitana(desde los cuatro puntos de las 4 casetas de la cdmx y edo mex. Asi como un trabajo en equipo bien coordinado.
Pros
IMSS
Cons
SIN BONOS, NI INCENTIVOS SOLO HABIA SEGURO
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excelente ambiente de trabajo
Auxiliar Administrativo (Former Employee) –  México12 August 2016
por la mañana estar al pendiente del personal si tienen todas sus herramientas de trabajo, que no tengan algún problema con papeles del trabajo y personal ya que día a día salen a la calle a laborar.
Aprendes el comportamiento de cada persona y por lo mismo el control, como hacercarse a cada uno de ellos, realizar diferentes procesos para un mejor funcionamiento de la empresa.
Lo mas difícil es sobrellevar el tiempo de la empresa a nuestras familias ya que se invierte gran tiempo a la empresa.
Excelente empresa te enseña el crecimiento laborar.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6
Medico laboral (Former Employee) –  Ciudad de México, D. F.7 July 2016
En la empresa mi jefa inmediata fue autoritaria, ella no proporciona un ambiente laboral ameno, al contrario es pedante, grosera, deshumaniza, no tiene las capacidades necesarias para ser un lider ni para ser jefa, no respeta a sus trabajadores, ni los roles para los cuales estos fueron contratados, en mi experiencia a mi y otros trabajadores nos puso en un área llamada conteo a pesar de que yo fungía como médico, razón principal por la cual renuncie.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mala y buena
ayudante gener (Former Employee) –  Ciudad de México, D. F.19 April 2016
Ponlo en balansa ,esta empresa está de aquí para allá el administrativo como recursos humanos excelente pero asta ahí, los compañeros te enseñan te envuelven en un buen ambiente pero existen jefes que no te valoran, la presión es máxima una cosa es presion otra es que te quieran tratar como si fueras maquina, tu jornada laboral no acaba sino es de 1 o 2 horas despues diarias y no se te remunera por que no hay tiempo extra ni tiempo para pagarte, preferible trabajar de ayudante de albañil te valoran más.
Salario bueno te prometen subir en 3 meses pero no cumplen , vales sólo a las personas que ellos quieren ,seguro de vida si pero empresas menos pagadas lo dan .
Preguntate por que el de mucha gente que entra y sale máximo en 3 meses duran ellos mismos te obligan a salir
Pros
Sueldo 200 ariba pero lo desquitas
Cons
Te hacen el dia pesado y sin poder salir atu hora
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
2.7
Culture
2.9