ALSTOM Employee Reviews

Found 53 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poste le plus évolutif que j'ai eu.
Adjointe à la direction générale (Former Employee) –  Granby3 April 2017
Le poste que j'ai le plus aimé dans toute ma carrière.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hard work
Millwright Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 March 2017
had a good run here working on emergency shutdowns with maintenance afterwards. It paid the bills. But if your not from edmonton then its not really the best place for you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
chantier
Superviseur assurance Qualité (Former Employee) –  Brossard, QC3 March 2017
travailler en chantier 28 jours consécutif, peut être hoto si pas de famille
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alstom Transportation
Employee Resource Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 February 2017
When I was employed by Alstom Transportation I was moved into various positions which I found to be a very good learning experience.

However, since Alstom Transportation was a third party contract company managing a CPR shop, it was difficult to manage the demands from Alstom Transportation, CPR and the unions collective agreement.
Pros
I enjoyed working with the shop staff employees.
Cons
I felt I was stuck in the middle between, Alstom Transportation, CPR and the union.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Door Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON14 February 2017
Long hours and weekends with no support from management and wouldnt take any responsibility on their end to help ensure that we met our dealines. Also was a contract.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incompetent, rude and clicky
Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 February 2017
Middle management is totally incompetent, no tools, no parts, no guidance and they expect deadlines to be met. If you don't fit in with their clicky culture they shun and bully you to the point where you feel you're back in high school.

Avoid at all costs. Making this LRT train in Ottawa safe and on time is a joke and will be a miracle if they pull it off.

Job would have been great if they were organized and fired most of the middle management. Lots of favoritism going on too.
Pros
pay rate was ok
Cons
forced overtime, no respect, no tools or parts to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hello
Welder Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 February 2017
company is a good company they seem to have lots of work, not a bad place to be over all. Great supvision and training programs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
QA/QC Representative (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 January 2017
Good to work for but job security is not that great and payment terms are not adhered to. Its the great people you work with that make it a good company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Il n'y a plus beaucoup de défi à relever dans cette entreprise, les gens d'expérience n'ont plus leurs place.....
37années en usinage lourd (turbine hydrolique) (Current Employee) –  Sorel-tracy7 January 2017
Entreprise qui fonctionne avec des hauts et des bas de charges de travaille. L'expérience des employés est très peu considéré, de sorte qu'ils ont l'impression de perdre leur temps et leurs talents .
Malgré que les salaires sont bons pour un machiniste ,un journalier est presque aussi bien rémunéré qu'un métier spécialisé.
Un machiniste a besoin de défis pour évoluer , et non pas demeurer stationnaire....
Pros
Rémunération sur équipe continues (12hres) intéressant, Grande précision sur de grande pièce représente un beau défi, quand il y a du travail. Usine propre, vestiaire propre
Cons
Peu de chance d'évoluer dans cette entreprise .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe, productive and enjoyable workplace.
MILLWRIGHT CREW LEADER (Current Employee) –  British Columbia6 January 2017
Everyday, safety is the main concern, issues/questions are quickly and positively dealt with. Easy communication with management on all levels makes this workplace more enjoyable. Co-workers and other workers are easy to get along with and easy to communicate with.
Pros
Recognition for jobs well done, ie:BBQ
Cons
Can be unexpected long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about ALSTOM?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
agréable
Bobineur (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB7 November 2016
je devais rouler les feuilles de stainles au bon diamètre
je devais les taquer a l'aide d'un (spot welding)
pas la suite nous les soudions
par la suite nous la passion au daigue de la bonne dimension

j'ai aimer travailler a la chêne rapidement tout en fesant un travail de précision .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
entreprise d'envergure mondiale.
Manager (Former Employee) –  St.-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC28 October 2016
Multi-nationale avec une structure générale très lourde. Bureaucratie très lourde mais avec une vision HS très bien structurée.
Pros
encadrement et HS
Cons
lourdeur administrative.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leader in the power generation industry
Mechanical Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Spruce Grove, AB7 October 2016
Primarily involved in the power generation industry. Construction and maintenance. Performers in productivity, professionalism and quality by supplying labor through The Alberta Building Trades.
Pros
Leaders in engineering
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for, work was exciting and interesting
Pipefitter/4th (Former Employee) –  Point Tupper NS2 October 2016
Grinding,measuring cutting pipe ,installing valves, installing pipe spools.
The operations process was different than what I was used to working on but I adapted very quickly.
Management were great to work for.
My co-workers were great to work with.
The hardest part of the job was having to leave when the project was completed. I really enjoyed it.
The most enjoyable part was working as a team,solving issues and problems together.
Pros
Very safety minded
Cons
Could get very hot in certain places
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good internship opportunty
Project Document Controller - FRANCE (Former Employee) –  Franche26 September 2016
My experience with Alstom was postive and provided alot of experience. The company is well structured and well positioned in the market.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Belle entreprise
Ingénieur d'usine (Current Employee) –  Sorel (80)1 September 2016
ALSTOM est une entreprise ou il y a beaucoup de domaine a apprendre. Je m'y suis développé.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emploi incertain
Operateur de machine (Former Employee) –  Sorel-Tracy, QC26 August 2016
Manque de leadership et de prise de décisions .Je crois que les responsable devrais viser d'avantage sur le long terme .
Pros
ambiance agréable, environnement secrétaire
Cons
emploi instable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Belle entreprise - axée sur résultats
Adjointe administrative (Former Employee) –  La Prairie, QC2 August 2016
Atmosphère agréable dans les départements
Beaucoup de surcharge de travail, donc aucune perte de temps de la part des employés
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Finance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rugby, UK1 July 2016
Good culture and great managers. This creates a work place you want to come back to every day. They have flexible working arrangements that can work with most peoples lifestyle.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entered employee timesheets into databases while conducting audits to ensure validity of data • Processed all administration for new-hires, employee
Time Keeper/Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 June 2016
Great place to work with good people (somehow I have always been lucky). Enjoyed my work. basic data entry with lots of focus on different jobs and hours entered properly as it was employees work time to be accurate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALSTOM. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,570 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

CEO Approval

83%
453 ratings
Add your rating