Find companies:
ALS Minerals
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 reviews

ALS Minerals Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undesireable Work Enviroment, No Job Security, Very Poorly Managed!!!
Sample Prep Technician, Supervisor in Training (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONNovember 20, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
When hiring they paint a picture of a perfect working environment, will tell you one thing today and another tomorrow very misleading and deceptive in their leadership and their goals,would rather hire subsidized workers at lower hourly rate and allow the government to pick up the rest of the tab then hire locally and be forced to pay full time wages – more... and benefits,benefits that they make you wait at least a minimum of 9 months to a year to obtain the full time status and benefits, which very few make it this long do to the working conditions and environment, shift work is tough as it is but pulling 3 sometimes 4 plus 12 hours shift can be very taxing to say the least, your days off are spent sleeping then being productive in your life outside of work,a company that will tell you one day they made a profit of $1.5 billion that year and in the same breath would tell you sorry we cant afford to give you a raise,not to mention they will hold off raises for as long as possible, in some cases up to a year , but will continue to ask you to preform at a higher level each time and ask that you increase your production even more so,when i was their, myself and others were always reminded that we were nothing but a number and nothing more,if that does not make being a human less desirable i don't know what does,they claim they don't have quotas but track every little thing you do in a excel spreed sheet,and if you do hit your quotas they find a way to fire you or lay you off, lets not forget the constant daily reminders that they would always tell you that you may be laid off, this is an everyday occurrence to rule through fear instead of trust, that's a way to build company morale and good work spirits for the following day! i don't think so, once again a sign of poor leadership in upper management and very poor decision making, not to mention favoritism is here in heavy dosages in up management and not everybody is treated equally nor fair, some in higher positions such as supervisors will even fabricate lies so that they can write people up only to control them with the fear of losing there job. this is a company that will mentally & physically break you down and leave very jaded at the end of the day or of the work force or even fair treatment in the working environment,i would not ever recommend nor suggest to any individuals not family not friends who are goal orientated or have aspirations of a healthy working environment or even those seeking long term employment with the opportunity to advance within the company to steer very far away from this company as they have forgotten the most common & most important element of any business or company is the people behind closed doors such as the employees who are its very heartbeat and that they to are human and should be treated as such and not as only a number............................................................. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Lab Technician (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONApril 26, 2013
Crushed and sorted core samples from variety mines.
Efficient productivity to meet deadlines, and quotas.
Worked within a selected group of co-workers, and any other groups during the week.
The hardest part was working in a dust and dry environment, then became accustomed to the work environment.
The most enjoyable part of work was being around and – more... very friendly group of co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work Place
Fire Assay Loader (Former Employee), North Vancouver, BCFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: good relationship with the co-workers
Cons: work schedule
-Time management.
-Working hard and Patient
-The management are very approachable.
-Good relationship with my co-worker.
- The hardest part is Unloading and loading of the furnaces.
-Most of the time are enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacks great leadership
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONJanuary 14, 2013
Pros: they will pay for your business trips
Cons: long hours
This company makes you feel like you are moving in a great direction with respect to your career but will lay off anyone and everyone.
The management is the problem, not the co-workers
The salary is good and the pay scale will move in the right direction but there really isn't any job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor safety, poor job security, poor advancement chances
ICP-OES SPECTROSCOPY LABORATORY ANALYST (Current Employee), North Vancouver, BCSeptember 29, 2012
In addition to the above, the employees that work in the labs are not even treated as human beings.

The management itself admits its safety record "as a lab is poor".

Shift work is involved but the schedules do not change for several months so there is a high likelihood one could remain in an unfavourable shift for a long time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Als minerals rocks is a great place to work for it
Labor and supervisor (Former Employee), Sparks, NVAugust 7, 2014
Pros: good wages, barbeque at least 4 times a year, holidays pay, good benefits
Cons: variable shifts
very easy days ,I learned how to lead people, fire assay, prep supervising,weighroom.the management was great ,coworkers were great people,sometimes it was hard to adjust to new shift because I was use to sleep to a determined hour, I enjoyed everything the challenges to lead people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good job
Prep Technician (Former Employee), 3977 energy wayJuly 23, 2014
Pros: very fun and alot of personal training
Cons: management
management was horrible . a lot of people in higher management was fired due to embezzlement .typical day consist of samples and quality control.i learned all machines in prep side and special prep .I was certified on forklift . also I was trained in line out sample preparation. hardest part of job was working there nearly 1 yr and a half and received – more... no raise .most enjoyable part was having a fun job that paided bills – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the work itself was ok but managment was not good
Sample Preparer (Former Employee), Reno, NVSeptember 16, 2013
you get assign to a machine where you take mineral samples and crush them to be taken to a lab what i learned was a lot about the mining world its just not about finding gold its amazing what the earth has too offer . i had no problem with my co workers the hard part is you have to watch out what your doing making sure you do not mix samples or throw – more... away smples by mistake the enjoyable part of the job is feeling you accomplished somthing – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company with conflicting expectations. Fast pace. Poor comunication
Office Manager (Former Employee), Elko, NevadaAugust 31, 2013
Pros: one hour for lunch and allowed to take time off when needed. salary was sufficient.
Cons: after 9 years with this company, the paid vacation time was less then satisfactory.
Every day required 100% focus, maxing out on physical and mental limits. Every employee working there gave their all. Enjoyed those I worked with. Management was frustrating, All supervisors are micro managed and not allowed to supervise on their own.
The hardest part of my job was having to write up an employee, as they were all trying so hard. The – more... most enjoyable part were the friendships made. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unreliable job
Production Worker (Former Employee), Reno, NVAugust 14, 2013
Cons: management sucks
worst job I've ever worked to. i never been late, never been absent and i pull a lot of numbers but still, i got laid off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy until slow season hit
Warehouse Tech (Former Employee), Elko, NVJanuary 15, 2013
I did mainly shipping and receiving of samples. I also worked on the computer doing Excel spreadsheets, and miscellaneous other documents. Organized the pulp area and put work orders in numerical order on shelves. Pulled reject when clients wanted certain samples back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job was ok
analist 2 (Former Employee), Reno, NVApril 28, 2012
Pros: good insurance
Cons: bad parking
alot of hazardous chemicals , it was ok very demanding saftey and highly productive
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Company to work for
Operator/Inventory Lineout (Current Employee), Anchorage, AKMarch 12, 2012
Pros: two work shifts, atm card for payroll.
Cons: seasonal layoff
ALS services specifically support mining and mineral exploration, commodity certification, environmental monitoring, equipment maintenance, food and pharmaceutical quality assurance and industrial operations.