Find companies:
ALS LABORATORY GROUP
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

ALS LABORATORY GROUP Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee), North Vancouver, BCJuly 23, 2014
I liked this job very much. It was great experience working there. Management was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with some amazing people.
Analyst (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: bbq each month
Cons: no water bottles aloud in lab (to be expected)
The best part about the job was the positive enviroment. Great boss and very nice co-workers. I loved the freedom i had, i could work at my own pace. As long as i got my tests finished at the end of the day. I was able to think and learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace with helping co-workers
Login Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, Ontario, CanadaDecember 17, 2013
learning lot of new things from co-workers. learned time management, job related duties, and communication in professional environment. helping nature co-workers. enjoyed every part of the work. i did not feel anything hard because of help from the co-workers and supervisors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay little reward and a place where they take advantage of great workers
Laboratory assistant 2 (Former Employee), WinnipegNovember 9, 2013
Pros: ability to add testing methods to your resume
Cons: a place that only cares about making money and not about keeping great employees around
I was paid less than minimum wage due to a union that was the worst I have ever been part of. It would have taken 5 years to make an extra $1.75. I was doing work that required skills and attention to detail but found that after 1 month of being there that no one cared and the work wasn't worth doing. There was very high turn over. There was a massive – more... disconnect between management and the laboratory staff. The people I worked with as well as myself were worth so much more than what we were compensated for .... A good place to start if you need a part timer while completing a bachelor of sci but def not worth staying and making a life because you will never excel to what you are worth!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Moral and Lack of Management Support
Analyst (Former Employee), AlbertaAugust 18, 2013
Pros: good hours
Cons: lack of qualified staff and management support. very poor work environment.
Lab was poorly managed. Staff that were not qualified ( high school grads or less) allowed to analyze samples and approve data with no supervision or peer review. Very low morale among staff. Lab was very dirty. No training for staff and major safety issues not addressed. This is a terrible place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's wonderful working in ALS Laboratory
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee), Richmond, BCJune 5, 2013
My shift is 3 to 10 pm. I enjoy the job that i am doing. My supervisor is very helpful in teaching me all the things i must do. also my co workers. The management is also very supportive. The hardest part of my job is i am always dealing with chemicals though we are provided with proper PPE. I enjoy learning new kind of work, knowing how to rate or – more... grade coal samples from the result of what i am doing. I am willing to stay in the company if only the mining companies did not stop sending coal samples for testing. I am one of the last recruit so i am one of the first to be lay off. For what i know there are more than 15 of us who were laid off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Inorganic Team Leader (Current Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 18, 2012
Co-workers are fun and enthusiastic

Long hours during peak season
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with talkative co-workers.
Login Assistant (Co-Op Intern) (Former Employee), Waterloo, OntarioSeptember 10, 2012
Pros: every month once.
Busy day. I learned job related to login assistant and laboratory technician. Also learned about work atmosphere. Good management. Co-operative co- workers.I didnt feel anything hard. I always enjoyed work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job with great people.
ICP-MS Analyst (Former Employee), north vancouver, bcAugust 30, 2012
The typical day at work involved analyzing several hundred samples with the ICP-MS instruments, along with optimizing the instruments to optimal performance levels. I learned how to troubleshoot the instruments as well as the standard operating procedures for the instruments. My supervisors were very helpful, taught me well, and great people to work – more... under. My coworkers were likewise great people to work with, and very helpful as well. The hardest part about working there was readjusting every week to the graveyard schedule. The most enjoyable parts of working here were my coworkers, the busy schedule, and the constant opportunities to learn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A discount lab, profit margin is the only priority.
Senior Tech (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 11, 2012
Pros: the sun occasionally shines through the windows.
Cons: extremely low morale.
ALS and its parent company bought out a once thriving private lab network in Canada. The formerly private lab was once known for quality above all. ALS has always had a reputation for low prices and even lower quality. ALS philosophy now prevails. Managers and senior employees of the old company were let go one by one after the takeover for not agreeing – more... with the new company's upper management. Don't work here unless you really want to work for the Wal-Mart of testing labs, and you really enjoy working in an uncertain atmosphere, always wondering about the hidden agenda. – less