Find companies:
Alpine Access
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
239 reviews

Alpine Access Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at home
Production Team Leader - Customer Service/Sales (Former Employee), At HomeOctober 15, 2014
Pros: work at home
Cons: limited healthcare benefits
Sykes Home Powered by Alpine Access is a stable company and the management is good to work for. Being a virtual call center where you work at home is a great benefit. It was important to have a quiet work space free from external noise and distractions. I was able to learn many new skills such as management skills. The best part of the job is the commute – more... from my bedroom to my kitchen for coffee to my office. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at home for call center
Customer Care Professional (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COOctober 10, 2014
It was a good first time experience for working at home for a call center. You provide most of your own equipment and they send you items depending on what program you're in.
Scheduling is good too, but they have some inflexibility depending on what program you're with.
Hardest part of the job is dealing with customers that are upset. That and filing – more... out all the information that goes along with a call.
The most enjoyable part is helping someone resolve there issue in a timely manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Legitimate WFH Opportunity
Customer Care Pro/Supervisor Agent (Former Employee), Work From HomeOctober 1, 2014
Pros: no commute, hourly pay (not call based), employee not 1099, work incentives
Cons: inconsistent policy communication, high management turn over, costumer dissatisfaction due to client policies
I worked for Alpine Access for 3 years. All training and job related activities are done from home. There are definite perks to working from home, and depending on the program you are assigned to work under there are also perks and incentives. I worked for a major gaming company as billing and technical support. At the time it was one of the newest – more... programs at Alpine. In the beginning the good out weighed the not so good. But as management changed and Alpine was purchased by Sykes, the lines of communication from the Top to the Bottom were muffled. Rules changed but were presented as if thats the way things had always been. If you were to ask one supervisor for policy clarity and then ask another you would likely get entirely different interpretations. We worked in teams, meaning a Team Leader (supervisor) would be in charge of keeping 20 or so employees in compliance. That Supervisor also had a TL that was in charge of around 5 Team Leads making sure that they and their teams stayed in compliance. And then that boss had a boss and so on. In the 3 years I was employed I had about 5 different team leads. Of those 5 only 1 truly, bridge the gap between feeling like we were isolated and made us look forward to coming to work and working as a team. I score Alpine with an OverAll 4 stars because it is really really hard to find a legit WFH job these days. But honestly the work culture had slip down to my dreading to login in the mornings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at home
CUSTOMER SUPPORT AGENT (Former Employee), Denver, COSeptember 26, 2014
Customer services work such as • Answer phones
• Managing customer billing account needs.
• Minor technical support
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working from home
At Home Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Denver, COSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: work at home
Cons: low pay, poor schedules
I enjoyed working from home. The only problem that I had with Alpine Access was lack of schedules that would meet my requirements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working from home!
XBOX Tech Support (Former Employee), Palm Harbor FloridaSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: no gas travel expense
Cons: kind of have to be an xbox gamer
I loved working from home and have the self-management to do so. The only problem I had with this position is that I am or was not an xbox gamer, yet I was able to overcome and provide tech support and learn even though I had not played the game. It was hard to get support when I had already done the research and was unable to come up with a solution – more... at times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work they will fire you if you dont meet stats.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Hot Springs, ARSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: pay is decent and work from home
Cons: job security and metric expects that are difficult to meet.
No jobs security. Meet metrics or get fired. You have to get good surveys and whatever they rate the company is what you are scored, even if they rate the company a 1 and you as an agent a 10.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Satisfaction Calls
Customer Care/Collections (Former Employee), columbia, scSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: meeting customers and new team members
-Consulting with Customers on our Cellular Service and any concerns about their accounts
-Applying payments and Making payment arrangements
-Consulting with Customers on our Cellular Service and any concerns about their accounts
-Assisting the Technical Department with customers who have any equipment issues.
-Follow all store guidelines when Opening – more... or Closing the Store
-Programming phones when needed – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Virtual Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), ColoradoSeptember 11, 2014
Multi accounts Specialist, co-works are good people to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience working at home.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: working at home, pretty flexable schedules.
Cons: lower pay, less benefits offered.
It was a great opportunity to work at home assisting customers by phone using Alpine's computer advising customers and medical facilities with information, medical benefits and also claims adjustments. I enjoyed working at home with this type of assistance to others, but was laid off. Cigna decided not to renew their contract with Alpine Access for – more... the medical, but still is in contract with the Cigna Dental, unfortunately there were no openings to transfer to Dental. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ulta Program
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee), Home BasedSeptember 5, 2014
I worked for the Ulta customer service program for a year. Management was abysmal, often providing little to no support, but they were always there when we needed "constructive criticism". There were constant program errors for the proprietary software, and way too much "We're overstaffed, log off for the day." They would schedule you outside of your – more... availability, or change the schedules with less than a days notice and penalize you if you didn't show up. I would NEVER ever go back to the Ulta program, and would consider every other option before I went back to Alpine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), home-basedAugust 27, 2014
This was one of my most favorite jobs. The work day was very enjoyable with coworkers. Management did not do alot of micro-managing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work.
Customer service representative (Former Employee), Denver, COAugust 24, 2014
Alpine access is a great place to work. They only downside is that they aren't very flexible if you have children at home. Overall great place though!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My place of work is my 2nd home, literally!
Sykes Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Oak Park, MIAugust 22, 2014
My typical day involves taking calls and working on the computer. I speak to maybe about 50 customers a day who inquire about their account, the website and software concerns.
I have learned a lot about Family heritage and Genealogy, not to mention a lot about working independently since I work from home.
The hardest part of my job, is when we don't – more... have a solution for the customer. If our system crashes or our software fails, it's difficult to explain that to a customer.
The most enjoyable part of my job is that I'm in the comfort of my own home. I am comfortable and relaxed so I can focus on my customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over all good place
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee), homeAugust 19, 2014
Pros: hours, environment
Cons: pay scale
over all good place to work
have learned a lot but would like to learn more
excellent work environment and flexibility of hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good job to have with school aged children.
Escalations Supervisor /Assistant Team Lead (Current Employee), Gary INAugust 6, 2014
Pros: work from home .
Cons: compensation low with high stress.
A typical work day for this company is never predictable, its based on the need of the client at any given time. In general resolving customers concerns while upholding the clients mandatory guidelines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good company to work for, although they are still making improvements, made a name change from Alpine Access to Sykes
Customer Service/Work from Home (Current Employee), Denver, COJuly 30, 2014
Pros: working from home.
Cons: not having enough accounts to provide their employees/agents.
They are making improvements to their online services for employees to get paid for time worked, whereas before there were some technical issues with their computer systems.

As an employee I would log into 4 systems, sometimes more depending on the research that is needed, however, during the time the company was under the name Alpine, they would have – more... to make payroll corrections on a continual basis because of their system glitches.

Other than that, the bi-weekly pay is something that I was comfortable with, and the fact that you work from home was commendable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have to get use to change
Customer Service Professional (Current Employee), Denver, COJuly 24, 2014
A typical day at work is receiving calls and answering questions in regards to mobile device and bill issues. I've learned how to take calls and operating a minimum of 3 different screens a day. Management is somewhat helpful when needed. Co-workers are great especially when you're doing and going through the same thing. The hardest part of my job is – more... when customers don't realize that things happen and the representatives are not at fault for what does. The most enjoyable part of the day is hearing how pleased a customer is with my service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company to work for.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), HomeJuly 20, 2014
Pros: great trainers
Cons: home position, no physical contact with anyone
Working for Alpine Access was a learning experience for me as it showed me what people sometimes goes through at a call center. I was mainly in training and started taking supervised customer calls. Training with my co-workers was the best as they would put me to the test of what we learned in class. We broke into groups and would pretend to be a customer – more... or customer service rep taking the call. As a customer, you could act and say anything you want and come up with some really great questions. This is what I meant by them testing me when I was playing the role of a service rep. We drew upon our past experiences with other service reps. I loved the interaction of my co-workers and trainers during the training. The trainers were great I have to say. They were patient and made sure we all knew where to go and what to do. The hardest part was when I took my first few supervised phone calls. Taking calls from actual customers was a bit nerve racking. Thank goodness for the supervisors and trainers who helped us. I had a couple of compliments-one customer and one supervisor. The customer asked a question and I had to transfer her to another department. That department took awhile to answer the phone and I checked back with the customer if she would still be willing to hold. She told my supervisor that no one ever did that for her. The supervisor compliment was because I noticed that the customer had entered Salsa as a hobby. I asked her if she liked to dance; and if she ever watched Dancing with Stars. I found something that the customer was interested in and ask her a question. That way I tried not to have any dead air. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great if you absolutely need the money
Xbox customer service (Current Employee), Atlanta gaJuly 18, 2014
Pros: work from home
Cons: high stressful environment, hard to please company, no overtime, no family life
It's great for the fact you can work from home. The work is very stressful. It's an easy jobs as far as taking calls but the systems are old and you don't get compensation for technical issues. You can't take off or spend holidays with your family. They will lie and say you can request off but you really can't. They take out heaps off taxes from your – more... checks. You're pay is about 300.00 to 500.00 bi- weekly.you're not allowed over 40 hours a week. In training you get 40 hrs a week according to your state minimum wages and 9.50 thereafter. – less