Find companies:
Allstate
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,160 reviews

Allstate Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly working environment with a mix of sales and service tasks
Business Development Agent (Current Employee), Markham, ONApril 16, 2014
Pros: great working environment
Cons: long commute
Typical work day includes dealing with new potential clients and existing clients to help them with their home and auto insurance needs.
During my time at Allstate I have achieved my OTL licence and transitioned into a Canadian working environment.
Management are approachable and honest.
The hardest part of the job keeping track of the constant change – more... of guidelines.
The most enjoyable part of the job is hitting you targets at the end of each month in sales and quality. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT JOB
AGENT (Current Employee), THUNDER BAYMarch 6, 2014
GREAT JOB
GREAT BOSS
GREAT HOURS
GREAT BONUS STRUCTURE
GREAT PEOPLE
GREAT FELXABILITY
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Care Agent
Agent (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 5, 2014
As a customer care agent for Allstate Insurance I am required to go into the system database every morning and login into our system. There it gives me a list of clients to call during my work day and review their insurance coverages and inform them of any gaps of coverage, I also call clients regarding payments, add new drivers onto clients policys, – more... write new policies, emailing clients, working in a professional manner, and supplying excellent customer service.

The hardest part of my job is it is very face paced, learning to keep up was an experience but I have managed to create a balance for my days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security is excellent
Underwriter (Former Employee), Markham, OntarioJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: frequent optional overtime
Allstate Insurance appreciates their employees and treats them very well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer serivce and fast pace enviroment
Insurance Agent (Current Employee), Brampton,ONDecember 12, 2013
Pros: helping customers, hour lunch
Cons: when you can not help a customer, when you can not finish your work and you need more time
I have been working for Allstate 3 years and love my job and co-workers,we have a team environment.

Working for a insurance company is hard due to you can not make
every customer happy,but trying to help and trying to get the insured what they need makes the job worth it. at the end of the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work but...
SENIOR CLAIMS ADJUDICATOR (Former Employee), MarkhamDecember 2, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: long hours
No work-life balance in AB. Very stressful, but that's the nature of this type of job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, exciting
QA Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 22, 2013
Every day was a challenge as this was my first job as a tester.
Learned how to go about testing, learned new tools and techniques,
Management was very good, encouraging, helpful always ready to guide you.
Co-workers were very co-operative, fun
hardest part was learning planning testing activities
the most enjoyable part was got to learn many things – more... which helped me grow as a QA consultant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, customer service.
customer service sales agent (Former Employee), markhamAugust 29, 2013
I spent the day answering phones in a call centre. Helping customers with any questions or complaints that they had, as well as did sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance
Senior Business Analyst (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 12, 2013
Work life balance is good and it is a great place for working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BDA tough sales position
Insurance Agent (Current Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONJuly 2, 2013
- Long work weeks expected
- High stress position
- however has great compensation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your manager can make or break your experience
Insurance Agent (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 18, 2013
Terrible manager, was never satisfied with the efforts of the employees. Bonus were hard to achieve, work life balance suffered. office was over-staffed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the worst.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Orlando, FLApril 5, 2013
Pros: friendly boss
Cons: long hours
Fast paced, lots of turnover, handling lots of people with difficult personalities, lovely ofice!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place to work you are well treated and looked after
Technical Support Analyst (Current Employee), Strabane, ONDecember 15, 2012
Pros: constant events, dress down days charity events.
Cons: cant say i have any to put in here
Allstate is a great place the management is really approachable and helpful. If you happen to be struggling in areas they sit you down and try to work out whats going wrong and how they can work around it and help you improve. The co workers are also very good friendly helpful people. I would have to say the most enjoyable part of my job is knowing – more... you helped solve the customers problem. I cant really say anything to fault this Company there very fair and always try and help where they can so you are never stuck or there is nothing the managers or colleagues don't try to help you if you find your having a problem. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Posting Only To Obtain Potential Candidates for Future Employment
Potentional Applicant (Former Employee), Brantford, ONOctober 18, 2012
I had applied for a position with the company in my city as the job description matched my work history, and I had worked for an insurance company (but in the life/ltd area) before. Came to the end of the interview, and found out the position was not a position - they didn't have any current openings. They were just gathering a list of potential candidates – more... for potential future openings. Though I would have been willing to obtain the licence they eventually wanted had there been a position, I was not in the position to, nor willing to, spend the money to obtain a licence for something that I may or may not have been able to use since there was no guarantee they would have an opening any time soon. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good company
Retention Specialist and Insurance Producer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 18, 2014
A typical day is talking to numerous clients about the their policies. The hardest part is listening to everyone complain about their rates, The best part is when you can tell clients that Allstate will be there for them at time of loss and they are happy with claim service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and an ever changing work environment
Claims and Billing Department Representative (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 18, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: can be very stressful
A typical day at work includes taking inbound call as well as handling outbound contact tasks. The high turnover rate assures there are frequently new hires who need mentoring. The company often changes procedures making willingness to learn an essential part of the job. There is a comraderie amoung co-workers as job is often stressful as there are – more... always customers who are upset about having to file an insurance claim. Company does sponsor a number of small events to have co-workers bond and this helps with a sometimes difficult job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fast-paced
Sales Agent (Former Employee), Canton, MIApril 18, 2014
Cons: health care and 401k
Telemarketing, cold calling. Your not an Allstate employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unbearable Stress, outrage goals
Receptionist/Sales Producer/ Account Manager (Current Employee), houston txApril 17, 2014
I have learned that professionalism should be present at all times, a team player works and help others, but when it becomes a problem, the solution could indicate that I'm listed in the incorrect environment. Management and Structure is very important in a business to run smoothly, become productive, and have respect. When the strategy is absent or – more... wrongful instructed it becomes a unhealthy environment to work and stress becomes a problem.

I'm a team player, I also contribute to the ideas for production, and take in critical for improvement. The hardest part is dealing with the stress of being a producer 100%, when the help with staff is needed for retention. The goal given is a handful being part time employer and full time student.

Having five years in the Insurance field, my knowledge is helpful to others and makes my job easier. I enjoy helping people, give the customers the service they need, offer them a better plan, and make sure they feel taken care off. I like socializing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great company
Human Resources Manager (Current Employee), New YorkApril 17, 2014
Pros: work life balance
Cons: pay, security, stress, overall poor environment
When I started it was a great company but with some of the Senior Management changes, from the CEO to the VP of HR, it is more about the profits and keeping the stockholders happy than about being what Allstate prided itself to be....a Family. They cut staff to the minimum possible, pay no more than the absolute bottom market value for jobs and then, – more... if they feel they are understaffed, hire new employees at the very bottom pay grade. (after letting go higher paid employees a year before). I do not recommend them anymore. 10 years ago, I would have no questions asked recommended them as a great place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stuck in the stone age
Senior Claims Representative (Former Employee), Clarksburg, MDApril 16, 2014
Pros: plenty of personal days off
Cons: poor management, no overtime available, salary increases are minimal
Allstate has not embraced innovation and ideas the way other companies have. If you are a young person out of college, this may be a place to start your career, but not a place you want to finish your career. The company is not very open to new ways of doing business. They want good results via customer service expectations, but they do not want to – more... adjust thier way of doing business. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Allstate

Allstate celebrates creative problem solving, full engagement and working together to keep all people in Good Hands®. Rooted – Read more