Allstate Insurance Employee Reviews

Found 76 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but they aren't flexible with changing your schedule
Rescue Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB31 August 2017
I found it to be a fun place but they wouldn't change my schedule for me. So I had to leave. HR was no help. But very supportive work environment and nice people.
Pros
Fun environment
Cons
Sitting all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I signed up for
Business Development Agent (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 August 2017
I did not do enough research into Allstate before I accepted this position. Allstate no longer runs an operation in which an agent can "own" their book of business. Once a sale is made the chance of you talking again to that client are very slim.
Turned into a call centre with the occasional walk in.
Pros
nice offcie
Cons
call centre
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
chaotic workload
Customer Care Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 July 2017
The work place is very chaotic. Management allows its people to be overly abused by its customers. Work load is unimaginably very high that you don't have time for a break!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON21 June 2017
A great place to work. The people are great and they offer work from home which is great. The foCus system is unique and like no other. It is complex and the billing is even more complex and hare to learn. What you learn about this system cannot be used anywhere else, as most other Insurance companies are using Guidwire.
I enjoy the work from home part of the job the most.
Pros
work from home
Cons
complex system
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive company
Director, Business Integration (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON14 June 2017
lot of US influence and it seems sales rules the world. focus keeps changing but they innovate qquite a bit. IT runs the place so things are slow. HR is also very slow - or at least was
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful experience
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 June 2017
A typical day consists of faxing classified documentation to lawyers and medical offices, scanning important medical files, Extended Healthcare Benefits, OCF's, and motor vehicle accident claims, and uploading to classified folders.
I learnt how to manage my time efficiently and complete required tasks with accuracy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting salary and training.
Business Development Agent (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON9 May 2017
I discovered quite quickly that the insurance industry was not for me; Allstate offered great training, great starting salary, but there's very little opportunity to grow within the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with clients was a positive experience, management incompetent
Business Development Agent (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 May 2017
I was given autonomy on the job, management was not available most time for leadership and/or training.

Office politics were never addressed and there are too many mistakes made therefore many unhappy clientele.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family type work place
IT Director of Implementation (Current Employee) –  27 Allstate parkway22 April 2017
Great opportunity to grow your career
Ability to work from home
People are great and friendly
The hardest part of the job is that you play numerous roles
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work For
Senior Business Development Agent (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON15 April 2017
Allstate is a good company to work for. They give you opportunities to make a great income, while providing tools to succeed. Allstate has a strong company culture that provides you with a good atmosphere to work in.
Pros
Education, Comp Structure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Customer Service Agent (Current Employee) –  London, ON29 March 2017
It is an awesome company. Helpful and very throe in their training. I feel confident with what I am able to and I know that I will provide customers with an amazing experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Market Performance Integration Specialist (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON22 March 2017
My current manager is not my preferred type of boss. He replaced a great manager, so it is easy to see where he lacks skills. The upper management are wonderful. Allstate has a great work from home commitment. Allstate has a great benefit package and cares about their employees. I am on the JHSC, United way team, 1st aid team and the health and wellness team. Allstate is aware that a 'work / life' balance is key to a happy employee.
Pros
Amazing VP's and Directors
Cons
Managers should take note of higher management performance and try to mimic
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a Good company
Licensed Insurance Advisor (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 February 2017
Busy high pace job
multi tasking
3 weeks paid vacation
wonderful managers
pay needs some work-low pay bracket in my opinion
great lunches and breaks
no mico managing
they push you and educate you on a monthly basis
Pros
great company overall
Cons
low pay bracket with the workload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Financial Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON24 January 2017
Great Company to work for.
Flexible time lines.
Great Company culture
Great people
Allows you to work from home
Internal systems are great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work with
Sales & Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON10 January 2017
It was a Contact Centre, most of the interaction on the phone. I prefer working face to face with customers. Good training provided.
Pros
Good training
Cons
Prefer face to face interaction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was my first job experience as a QA.
Junior QA Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 January 2017
This is where I started my QA career, work was sometimes hectic but I got to learn a lot. The co-workers were nice and friendly and the project manger was good. Work load was more but still had fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonne compagnie d'assurance
Conseiller financier (Former Employee) –  MontrĂ©al, QC7 December 2016
Trop d'heure pour avoir une bonne paye et toujour faire plus pour atteindre les objectif
Pros
Bonne formation
Cons
Trop d'heure
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good work life balance
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON16 November 2016
This company really values their employees in career development and maintaining a proper balance in life, allowing flexible work from home hours and providing health and wellness programs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employees--not much traffic in the Office
BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT AGENT (Former Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ON9 November 2016
A typical day at work for a new advisor is 100% cold calling. To be honest it was a struggle day after day--I was advised that there would be a fair bit of inbound and in office traffic which was not the case. I learned how this industry works and how employees are expected to succeed.
I wasnt able to find an enjoyable part of the job other than the conversations with co-workers--I was advised it was coming but every month turned out to be the same disappointing result.
Cons
Long Hours--Outbound calling
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very cut throat industry
Business Development Agent (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON2 November 2016
The job requires going into public and begging people to get quotes. Or you can cold call all day. There is alot of favoritism within the organization when it comes to honest and dishonest employees.

Hardest part of the job is hitting sales targets without being dishonest.
Pros
freedom
Cons
ultimatums, sell or be fired
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Allstate Insurance. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 4,098 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7