Find companies:
Alion Science and Technology
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

Alion Science and Technology Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company...no ethics.
Contractor (Former Employee), DCApril 8, 2014
This is absolutely the worst company I have EVER worked for and I have worked for over 30 years. Management is spineless and will NOT take a stand for integrity. Totally worthless management that should ALL be replaced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job with great advancement opportunities.
Chief, Public Affairs and Visitor Relations (Former Employee), Hampton, VAMarch 26, 2014
Medium-sized consulting company with lots of competition in many fields. However, public affairs was not one of them. I had one of only two PR positions, and the other was the vice president at headquarters. No advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper level management is non existant. Horrible company!
Senior Military Analyst (Former Employee), Crane, IndianaMarch 17, 2014
Pros: they paid me well
Cons: company needs a management overhaul!
Worst job experience I've ever had. Upper level manager was a self-serving, egoistical, megalomaniac.
This culture was fed from the top down. Middle managers afraid to make a decision because of loosing their jobs. They will typically take a hard charging employee and fed them to the lions to avoid risk.
Alion is a company that offers absolutely no – more... chance for advancement, team work or work satisfaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Associate Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Arlington, VAFebruary 7, 2014
Working at an Alion Science & Technology has been a unique learning experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company that took care of top performers in volatile business enviroment.
Team Lead (Former Employee), Stafford VAJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: support from management
Cons: long commute
Supervised from four to nine individuals in diverse skills, to include engineering, logistics, and acquisition. In addition, these individuals were from various companies as not one company supported the programs - there was a prime and substitutes. As a sub, I was fortunate to be given the opportunity to be a program manger/team lead and I think this – more... speaks to my abilities. Supported the government in decision making and document creation. worked under time and fiscal constraints placed on us by the government (customer). The support included testing of weapon systems and ammunition, the re-build of construction equipment returning from Iraq and Afghanistan, and the acquisition of new mine detecting equipment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company!
Financial Analyst/Project Controller (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALDecember 30, 2013
Pros: interesting co-workers
Cons: contract ended
My first foray into contracts and DOD cost reporting. Interesting group of people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alion Science and Technologies
Senior Recruiter - Full Time (Current Employee), Washington DCDecember 30, 2013
Great company to work dealing in Navy Shipbuilding. An employee owned company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Troubled Growth Approach
Operation Financial Manager (Former Employee), Everywhere, USADecember 27, 2013
Not sure that this company will survive into the next decade
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Work Day
Systems Engineer (Current Employee), Alexandria, VADecember 19, 2013
Always busy during the day; the management is not good; the co-workers are ok.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs improvement
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Washington, DCNovember 14, 2013
Pros: nice people - co-workers
Cons: software, processes, lack of training, management/leadership
Alion has nice people working hard everyday. The problem the lack of good management and leadership to lead their teams.

The company refuses to buy up-to-date software that is the industry standard, when they could save training time on new hires and quicker turn around in deliverable's.

Training is little to none, which is hard on newer employees – more... getting up to speed to be more helpful to the team.

Excessive time is spent on sub accruals due to changing requirements and excessive backup that bring no more accuracy to the actual invoice costs.

Alion has many good workers, but their processes are very labor intensive to common deliverable's that took far less time at other companies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Program Manager and Senior Military Analyst (Current Employee), Shaw AFB, SCOctober 30, 2013
Normal workday
Executing HA
Part of management
Great co-workers
Nothing hard about the job
Dealing with people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and rewarding
Logistics Coordinator (Former Employee), Dumfries, VAOctober 8, 2013
Pros: great supervisors
Cons: when computers shut down you get behind.
The work was demanding and it was a good place to work. Helping others in a team effort made our job more easier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Program Analyst, Awards Manager (Current Employee), Washington, DCOctober 2, 2013
Alion Science and Technology is a very large company with many opportunities for a persons in a variety of professional career fields.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable
Military Analyst Lead (Former Employee), The PentagonAugust 9, 2013
Pros: providing for my family and the comradery with co-workers
Cons: the commute to and from work
Interacting with other personnel in Army Staff directorates while assisting in accomplishing the mission.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive Place to work
Contract Closeout Specialist (Former Employee), Washington DC, Maryland, VirginiaAugust 8, 2013
Company is and over all great place to work. I really enjoyed working with the management team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A HORRIBLE WORKING EXPERIENCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Program Analyst (Former Employee), Washington, DCJune 25, 2013
Cons: salaries are really low (if you are looking for a $15, 000 pay cut alion is the place to work)
When I started working with Alion I had some wonderful managers, I was "Employee of the Month" but when the project that I was assigned to ended I was transferred to a different manager and it was a horrible experience. I was micro managed and placed in a hostile working environment. I am still having nightmares. I know that I am good at what I do but – more... these people had me second guessing myself. I hated going to work and sometimes I would be in tears while at work. I was mistreated by everyone in the office. Filing a compliant with HR was useless. When they started cutting the budget I knew that they would laid me off and I have to be honest with you I was happy that I would no longer have to work with those people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worried about all the wrong things
Chemist (Former Employee), SomewhereMay 15, 2013
Pros: actually had a laid-back time-off policy, which was nice.
Cons: feel very temporary and worried every second about keeping your job.
They will throw you under the bus the first chance they get. They hire through contractors, and do not bring people into the company. They use accounting and management tricks to keep people on a contract basis instead of actually hiring them. Do not join Alion unless you are actually hired through their company unless you want to stay a temporary employee. – more... This makes it easier to fire you when management messes up and then wants to get rid of somebody. No loyalty to their employees. Say they have training set up for employees, but make it almost impossible to actually get training, since they squeeze every penny. Worried more about the bottom line than actually doing the work they are supposed to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Sr. Enterprise Architect (Current Employee), Washington, DCMarch 7, 2013
Good compensation, good culture, wise and caring management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company but upper management needs an upgrade
Sr. Marine Engineering (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAJanuary 29, 2013
Working with Navy Civilians was very difficult.
Learned alot about Program Management.
Co-workers were great with alot of knowledge.
Hardest part of the job was trying to please the Navy Civilians.
Most enjoyable part of the job was working together with our engineering team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
FIELD SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee), Crane, INDecember 20, 2012
no complaints about Alion Science. My position requires travel to Afghanistan and now I am unable to deploy

About Alion Science and Technology

Alion creates alliances between science and big government. Alion Science and Technology is an employee-owned development and – Read more

Alion Science and Technology Photos