Algonquin College Employee Reviews

Found 67 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great.
Student Ambassador (Teacher's Assistant) (Current Employee) –  Woodroffe23 February 2016
Great company to work for. I held a simple student position but was not disappointed. I was required to do little work yet received a good paycheck in the end.
It was easy to contact people I needed to since the school has good email policies.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place
Language and Science Tutor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 February 2016
Meet friendly people.
Enjoy an environment of learning.
Many places to socialize.
Great interaction between teachers/professors and students.
Able to work part-time while attending school
Cons
Not many places for healthy food
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Automotive Service Technician Instructor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 February 2016
Wish there was more work available there. Went there on a contract and loved it, and would happily teach there again.

Very nice staff and faculty.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workspace
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 January 2016
typical day - good
learned a lot of new staff
management good
co-workers - friendly
Really care of the students and give opportunity to apply their knowledge in practice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
..
Student (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 November 2015
I was a student here. very good college. Fun place. everyone is co-operative. informative teachers.
good congenial enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ever growing experence
Lead animator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 October 2015
The program is still rather fresh and hasn't gotten a lock on the best teaching method, I did leave the program with an understanding of the work environment and the various skill and programs used in the industry. With the coordinators changing the programs to best prepare and educate it students the experience i had will most likely be different then the student who came before and after me.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome experience
Security Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa6 October 2015
I was employed at Algonquin College for 10 years as a Security Supervisor. I had 24 employees under my direct supervision. It was the best experience to have worked at this Educational Institution.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i learned how to teach a student
Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  ottawa5 October 2015
i work as a peer tutor in algonquin college for a year,the work experience is good and management is very helpful. the most enjoyable part is that its fun to teach a new student
Pros
flexibility of time
Cons
not much salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for full time permanent employees!
Social Service Worker Field Placement Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 October 2015
Algonquin is listed as a "Top 25 " employer in the National Capital Region, however this is not a rating that results from contract employees who are paid much less, and have no benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed but enjoyable
Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 September 2015
Getting set up as a peer tutor was a arduous and frustrating experience but once all of the details were taken care of, the experience was positive.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its nice college.
Hotel management (Former Employee) –  ottawa15 September 2015
Working for Algonquin College in the Social Community Services Department has been a great experience. I ensure all students are attending all scheduled placements, making the most out of their placement, guide them in a positive manner. I guide them with goal setting and problem solving with issues that may arise at placement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definetely a great college to start off your post secondary career
Group leader, Algonquin College (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 August 2015
I really enjoyed having the teachers at this college. they were really helpful to explain complex programming problems that we encountered.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team we had
Professor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 June 2015
teaching many subject to mostly international
students. Had a great time. I was covering the complete course from machine shop to digital to interfacing
Great experience
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
lack of up to date equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to teach
Professor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 May 2015
Teaching engaged professionals is a wonderful thing. There are so many different learning styles and motivations in an Algonquin classroom that keeping up is a constant, though rewarding challenge.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional learning environment
Work Placement Officer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 May 2015
Provides employees with the opportunities to continuous learning and a good work life balance. Growing organization with focus on students.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supporting Students to achieve their goals
Research Ethics Board Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 May 2015
Managing Program development by hosting large events to showcase student stand alone and in house projects. Attention to detail and thinking out of the box needed. Hardest part was getting everyone to communicate and provide status reports.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  ottawa16 December 2014
it was a great experience
good management
good working atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive team for a brilliant ideas
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 November 2014
My day starts at 8 am weather I start it from home or the office at Algonquin College. Its nice that you can manage your other daily duties with you job.

I learned how to manage my time and finish my work before the deadline.I also have to admit that without my time mates I wouldn't have been able to do my tasks or even to complete the final report.

The Hardest part was when we started gathering the information and forming the final report.

The most enjoyable part/time is when start brain storming and arguing to convince others with the ideas that we came with.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Acrylic and Oil painting and Graphics Design 1 and 2
PROFESSOR (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa,On20 November 2014
Prepare teaching information and activities.
I have learned so much about teaching and how people learn.
The people were inspiring.
I was always encouraged by my co-workers to become a better professor
The most enjoyable part of the job was the to student results,
Their positive reaction to what they created and promise to continue to with their personal development from what I had taught them.
To witness a handicapped individual achieve a remarkable high level creation and final artwork.
Pros
Great students and futuristic computer labs
Cons
Painting studio was just a room with a sink, so not the best
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Residence Orientation Leader (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 September 2014
Good place to work because of the people around me. I was able to do many things while volunteering at Algonquin as an orientation leader.
Pros
Nice people to work with
Cons
Sometimes unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 72 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1

Algonquin College Reviews by Location