Algonquin College Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 58 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I overall like the job very much as I like to help other students who are having difficulty in the particular subject
Peer Tutor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJune 15, 2016
I loved the time I spend tutoring in the college, which also teaches me a lot about the job. It also helps me a lot about getting out of the problem, which students find hard to overcome and some techniques to fully understand the concept.
Pros
As you help or sometime teach other students, you also get the clear idea of the concept you are helping your student learn.
Cons
I wasn't able to earn much because of the shortage of students interested in getting a peer tutor.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Esl tutor
Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMay 14, 2016
A typical day is fun and rewarding at the college, i learned a lot about work environment and working under stress. The management was supportive and friendly. the co-workers were okay. the hardest part of the job was dealing with different cultural backgrounds. The most enjoyable part of my job was the creativity when dealing with a challenging task.
Pros
friendly environment
Cons
discrimination
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Data & Web analyst (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJune 16, 2016
Algonquin College in the Ottawa Valley provides excellent programs, leading to opportunities, for those seeking professions in market research and business intelligence. Their MRBI Program is well organized, with experienced professors and instructors, who have much to teach.
Better work life balance.
Supportive senior management.
Good Salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, friendly and supportive staff
Peer Tutor in Accounting and Spreadsheets (Current Employee) –  Perth, ONJune 5, 2016
While working for Algonquin College as a Peer Tutor,I became familiar with the inner working of the school and made friends in the staff. They were always very friendly and understanding.
Pros
You choose your availability.
Cons
Not a stable income, depends on students booking tutoring sessions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great but with some hang-ups
Employee (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 8, 2016
Employment at Algonquin College can be a roller coaster. The College provides an excellent compensation and benefits package, as well as providing flexibility and good work life balance. Unfortunately to counter this is a cultural that can be divisive and some what combative between different groups. There is also a significant bureaucracy with a veritable warehouse of red tape. The cultural and bureaucracy can be challenging especially for younger change hunger employees.

Overall the College scores just above the middle of the road because of the contradicting aspects. Cultural Improvement could take this employer to the top.
Pros
Great Pay and Benefits, Course discounts, Gym Discounts
Cons
Culture, Bureaucracy, Limited Advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJune 17, 2016
Answered telephones and courteously assist customers
Directing all incoming calls to appropriate department
Preparing meeting materials
Welcoming gest for events
Assistance with Open House
Printing and organizing material for different departments
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great.
Student Ambassador (Teacher's Assistant) (Current Employee) –  WoodroffeFebruary 23, 2016
Great company to work for. I held a simple student position but was not disappointed. I was required to do little work yet received a good paycheck in the end.
It was easy to contact people I needed to since the school has good email policies.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place
Language and Science Tutor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONFebruary 21, 2016
Meet friendly people.
Enjoy an environment of learning.
Many places to socialize.
Great interaction between teachers/professors and students.
Able to work part-time while attending school
Cons
Not many places for healthy food
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tutor of students
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Nepean, ONJune 25, 2016
learn how to deal with different cases of students, how to help them to understand the differents subjects.
Find the best solution so poeple can learn iin a easy and faster way
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working environment with like-minded employees
Professor - Structural Engineering and Mathematics (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONFebruary 28, 2016
Pay is commensurate with experience and years of teaching. Overall, working as a full-time has enormous benefits and security.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student
RPN student (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 31, 2016
Algonquin College is a a great college to attend. Majority of teachers are very supportive and are passionate about their job. There are some teachers that are not and make learning hard,
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Web Developer Intern (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 29, 2016
Very creative environment. Open for new ideas. Very supportive management and superiors. Energetic and enthusiastic co-workers. Enjoyed a time working on project.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJune 25, 2016
Hard work in a large area is always good. The place was quiet and it was fun working there. It was quiet, and had good staff. It was great working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cant Say Much
Co-Op Student (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONApril 29, 2016
Co-op student so I was unable to do much or see much of how the operation truly worked. Friendly people though, would be a good place to actually work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Automotive Service Technician Instructor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONFebruary 17, 2016
Wish there was more work available there. Went there on a contract and loved it, and would happily teach there again.

Very nice staff and faculty.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ever growing experence
Lead animator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONOctober 7, 2015
The program is still rather fresh and hasn't gotten a lock on the best teaching method, I did leave the program with an understanding of the work environment and the various skill and programs used in the industry. With the coordinators changing the programs to best prepare and educate it students the experience i had will most likely be different then the student who came before and after me.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workspace
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJanuary 21, 2016
typical day - good
learned a lot of new staff
management good
co-workers - friendly
Really care of the students and give opportunity to apply their knowledge in practice.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its nice college.
Hotel management (Former Employee) –  ottawaSeptember 15, 2015
Working for Algonquin College in the Social Community Services Department has been a great experience. I ensure all students are attending all scheduled placements, making the most out of their placement, guide them in a positive manner. I guide them with goal setting and problem solving with issues that may arise at placement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for full time permanent employees!
Social Service Worker Field Placement Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONOctober 1, 2015
Algonquin is listed as a "Top 25 " employer in the National Capital Region, however this is not a rating that results from contract employees who are paid much less, and have no benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i learned how to teach a student
Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  ottawaOctober 5, 2015
i work as a peer tutor in algonquin college for a year,the work experience is good and management is very helpful. the most enjoyable part is that its fun to teach a new student
Pros
flexibility of time
Cons
not much salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 63 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1

Algonquin College Reviews by Location