Algonquin College Employee Reviews

Found 75 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great supportive environment to work
Aboriginal Events Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 May 2017
I have only the best things to say about working for Algonquin College. Supportive team and management, everyone is really working towards student success.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Team member (Front end and backend Developer) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 May 2017
Haven't worked much. But professors and student services are great help. One of the most reputed colleges in Canada. I highly recommend this college to anyone.
Pros
Helpfull
Cons
Programs offered does not last for long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work and improve on your skills
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 May 2017
A wonderful experience that was. Gave me a taste of what life in a workplace is like. I even learn ASP.Net MVC while working there which took some getting used to since I used to develop using ASP.Net Web Forms. But I powered throw the hardship and now I am ready to use what I have learned as a stepping stone to further my career.
Pros
Fun and enjoyable environment to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Class final project
Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON25 April 2017
work with others, plan how to get the project done with plans and sketches, assign work between team mates, figure out what language to use, come together in the end
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Welding Instructor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 April 2017
Working at Algonquin was a great experience. I am thankful to have had the opportunity to work in the college and with the students. It gave me even more time working with students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Desk Job
Administration Clerk (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 March 2017
Had a good time working at the desk, great first office job with a decent pay. Was attending school at Algonquin so it worked out great for me. Spent a year on contract would work again.
Pros
decent pay for work
Cons
contract
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i did not work there I just student
student (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 March 2017
I do not know why the software thinks I am or was worker at Algonquin, I want to clarify that I am student of computer programmer in my last semester.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Project Manager Intern (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 February 2017
- enhances development of management skills
- promotes self- awareness, team work, dependability , accountability and responsibility.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is good if you are full time
Lecturer (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 February 2017
Good if you are full time. Part-timers will have difficulty progressing. There is also a thing called partial load which is the case when you get more than 8 hr per week teaching. That will make you more but still not much.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good employer
CARETAKER (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 February 2017
employer is good upgrading in training is on going and meets all industry standards
benefit package is generous and working conditions are good
Pros
hours and holidays
Cons
early morning start time
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about Algonquin College?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of learning on the job but altogether satisfying.
Part-time Professor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 January 2017
The resources available for new staff could be improved (more support, guidance etc) especially for new courses and programs. Overall it was a good environment and I enjoyed the experience of teaching.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really great place to work!
Instructor (Part-time) dental hygiene program (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 November 2016
Very nice people to work with, professional atmosphere, many opportunities to advance within the department. Very nice to work closely with colleagues and students within clinic. This was a really nice change from being at the chair in practice. This department was always thriving for new ways to make opportunities better for students and employees alike.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great student great school
Professor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 November 2016
Moving away from offering Applied Experience in the educational experience. Highly committed staff and administration with great student body. Great support
Pros
Student body
Cons
Tenured
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work!
Woodroffe Ave - Residence House Keeper (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 November 2016
I was with Algonquin for a short period of time, however I was met with nothing but friendly and caring faces. For sure a place I would work again! The boss is (or was) super understanding.
Pros
Work environment
Cons
Hard labor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duties
Student IT Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 November 2016
• Imaging and reimaging of Schools lab computers, and student’s computers
• Configuration of Lab and student computers to be able to access school’s network: Outlook email and Network drives
• Support of Blackboard
• Rollouts
• Lab monitoring: Overseeing activities at the lab; addressing any technical support issues that might arise
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is rewarding to teach the young people
Faculty Member and Instructor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON25 August 2016
The students are awesome and very keen to learn as much as they can. They love multi media presentations and plenty of contact time with the available instructors.
Part time staff are required to sign new contracts every term so there is not job security. There are more part time instructors than full time instructors as a cost saving measure.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very interesting and fun place to work
Student Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 August 2016
I had a good time working at the college and with the students that used to the resources at the Aboriginal centre. The college was the eye opener for me because the diversity of people that I had encountered while attending college and working there.
Pros
Overall good
Cons
People who put down the centre
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON25 June 2016
Hard work in a large area is always good. The place was quiet and it was fun working there. It was quiet, and had good staff. It was great working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tutor of students
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Nepean, ON25 June 2016
learn how to deal with different cases of students, how to help them to understand the differents subjects.
Find the best solution so poeple can learn iin a easy and faster way
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 June 2016
Answered telephones and courteously assist customers
Directing all incoming calls to appropriate department
Preparing meeting materials
Welcoming gest for events
Assistance with Open House
Printing and organizing material for different departments
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Algonquin College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 81 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1

Algonquin College Reviews by Location