Algonquin College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Precarity
Communication Professor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON14 February 2018
Permanent positions are rare, and it is stressful to always be on a short-term contract. After 4 years at Algonquin, I still have no job security. My colleagues are great, though!
Pros
students and colleagues
Cons
administration
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace with table
Tutor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 February 2018
I was an designer assistant last summer. I learned how to select materials and ideas. I used different ways to think about the designs. I also learned how listen to different kinds of people's ideas. It can help me get more interested opinions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 February 2018
Great place friendly and knowledgeable people. It was a place to start and gain valuable information for the work I was getting into and helped with the training and information on tools and projects I would deal with in the field
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to teach law clerks
Part-time Professor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 January 2018
The College is a wonderful place to share enthusiasm for the profession with students who are looking for practical training in the law industry. I found the staff very friendly and students eager. The compensation is unfortunately, the shortfall.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High degree of learning
Motive Power Technician Program (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ON27 January 2018
College was a great time to learn in such a short time. I learned everything I needed to know going forward in this field of work. I choose this to be my career and my program helped me prepare for a life time in the automotive industry
Pros
Short time for a degree, learned everything i need to know to be a mechanic
Cons
knew nothing going into school
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A exciting place to start your career
Data Analyst / Application Developer (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 January 2018
i have experienced a lot of varied learning experiences. a great place to improve your professional knowledge. The staff and management are very welcoming
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
IT SUPPORT (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 January 2018
Amazing place to work

The staffs, students, are all great to help out

It's also a friendly environment to learn and grow, since you are allowed to work on various tasks.
Pros
All good
Cons
Nothing bad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
INSTRUCTOR (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 November 2017
working for Algonquin college has been an extremely positive experience. I have learned a great deal of new communication skills and have kept up to date on Plumbing code.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Placement
CYC Placement Student (Former Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON14 November 2017
I did a placement in an elementary school as part of my program at Algonquin College and it was probably the most rewarding thing I could have gotten out of the schooling experience in my few years at the Gonq.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly and happy place to work.
Peer Tutor - Accounting (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 October 2017
I learn how to be a smart leader. The working environment is amazing. The diversity and inclusiveness of the community is impressive. The management is great. The supervisors are amazingly friendly.
Pros
Fun place to work.
Cons
Hard to get program related job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best college
Co-op Computer Programmer Student (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 October 2017
I studied Computer Programmer Program at Algonquin College. I mail tool we have is our advanced laptop. Courses is devided into two parts, theory, and labs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pretty dependable source of hours for a contractor.
ESL Teacher (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 October 2017
In spite of the old, stodgy architecture, and in spite of the heavy workload, I'm grateful for the steady work teaching ESL at Algonquin. My fellow teachers are wonderful, supportive people, and I know I make a difference to them too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great support from faculity
College Instructor (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ON11 October 2017
The school really cared about their students and the quality of their education. Managment was super supportive about changing up curriculum to the benefit of the students.
Pros
Room for advancment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project at school
Energy Audit Project Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 October 2017
project at school was good exposure to criteria you learn in school. It was fun doing a school project that allowed us to relate to what we learned in class.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
passionate to help a learner
Part-time Professor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa West, ON28 September 2017
The organization culture is excellent, and the class environment has some challenges and super fun environment.
I am passionate to help students learn a new topic, that will help them shape their career and success in their future endeavour.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenge with equality between full time and part time
Prior Learning and Assessment Project Lead (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 September 2017
All departments work differently to each other.
Some are inclusive and progressive, while others fall behind policy, or old boys club thinking.
Unfortunately this never seems to be addressed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment with a tremendous staff
Part-time Professor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 September 2017
- It is clear that all staff/ faculty are working toward a common goal;
- Management worked to improve my teaching skills from the moment I was hired;
- Courses are set up in a way that allows teaching to be integrative and very ejoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice environment
Part-Time Professor & Course Developer (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 September 2017
• Easy to access
+ Friendly working atmosphere
+ Challenged by keep update on technology and software applications.
+ Bidirectional approach to learn
+ Flexible working hours load
Pros
Access to learning material
Cons
Students aptitude to learn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Computer Support
Computer Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 September 2017
Fixing deffective Computers and installing new hardware (such as CD Roms & Floppy Disks)
Assist Teachers in the Laboratory
Reporting to my manager all work duties and accomploisments.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learn a lot positive and negative
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 August 2017
it is a good place to work if they are hiring you as a full time job, because of the benefits that you are getting.

but once you are a part time it's no good at all, because aside from working from a less than 25 hrs a week, when you are new there some people are nice to you teach you the right way, others that are there for such a long time, those are the one that get you into trouble.

the management needs to fix some of the issues specially for the seniors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Algonquin College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 106 reviews
554
429
319
23
11

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

Algonquin College Reviews by Location