Find companies:
Alere
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
92 reviews

Alere Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company is good but some lack vision
IT Help Desk / Customer Service (Former Employee), Atlanta, GADecember 17, 2014
the overall company is good. I enjoyed working there but some managers lack insight on their team, and unwilling to change with the growing field so fell behind. I learned a lot about helping to set up a work flow that would be successful in their environment, but was unable to have it applied to the team. hardest part of the job as any job is learning – more... all the small differences between all the companies we support, and the most enjoyable part was the feel of accomplishment when you were able to help someone out of a hard situation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Something different
Assembling Electronics (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 15, 2014
Pros: benefits, full-time
Cons: shortbreaks
Alere Taught me how important this job was, by saving people life's and making sure my work performance was perfect
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for and good managment
Lab Technician (Current Employee), San Diego, CADecember 14, 2014
Pros: hard work is rewarded, great work environment, room for advancement
I as a Lab technician love working for Alere San Diego. Our Quality first mindset keeps everybody on the same mission to create quality products for our customers. Hard work is rewarded with good incentives such as PTO and gift cards. Employees get along great and are easy to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Mgr (Current Employee), Charlottesville, VADecember 9, 2014
Pros: great culture, great people
Cons: business strategy focusing on rapid diagnostics - a positive, but did result in some lay-offs needed to reach the strategic imperatives
Amazing co-workers who you actually want to hang out with at work and outside of work. Almost half the job openings this year were filled by internal transfers/promotions, so healthy movement and development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun place to work, great staff and co-workers
Patient Services Assistant (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 21, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: healthcare
Great place to work with a wonderful staff. Everyone is so helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worth the work
Manufacturer (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 19, 2014
Manufacturing and processing medical products.
Learned good work ethic and company values.
Hardest part was the tedious tasks.
Most enjoyable part was gaining the work experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work just do not pay enough
External Help Desk (Current Employee), Atlanta, GaOctober 11, 2014
Great job, people, and job site. It's actually fun because you get to help people with computer issues and ease their stress.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Operator (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 24, 2014
I receive a review at the beginning of the shift from the previous shift so I know what went on and if anything happened. I check the paper work to see if everything is correct. After that, I start production.
I learned to be very detailed oriented in my documentation.
The management was very helpful with all my questions and problems if any thing came – more... up. My co-workers were very detailed in how I should perform my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
RN (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 21, 2014
Accomadative management, no pressure, easy going staff.
In general , a good company to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly work enviroment
Assembly Line Worker (Current Employee), San DiegoAugust 10, 2014
Making different medical devise (assemble them)
working in high speed with high accuracy
Friendly supervisor and co-workers
the most enjoyable part for me is working with group and in this kind of job you have to be so fast
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dismal management, poor morale
Client services dept (Current Employee), Alere U.SAugust 3, 2014
Pros: supportive co- workers, alere parent co is innovative
Cons: turnover, layers of poor management
Have been client service, acct management and other roles. As people leave, work shifts to those left despite existing overload. Upper management sets the tone with bullying, misdirected priorities and cronyism ( and a little nepotism to boot). Management berates employees in meetings to a point where it makes the room uncomfortable. HR too inept to – more... intervene...employee files are incomplete, annual reviews not done, etc. Techs are competent but often overworked and poorly compensated. It is a work environment that is demoralizing not only in how you are treated but how they treat others around you. Turnover is rampant which burdens those who stay. Please don't seek positions with this company...even McDonalds would treat employees with more consistency and respect. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no room for advancement
Shipping Coordinator Professional Diagnostics (Former Employee), Freehold, NJJuly 1, 2014
great people to work with but no room for advancement. you stay at same pace for ever. they need to cross train you in other areas of the warehouse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unqualified management
professional (Former Employee), Scarborough, MEJune 28, 2014
Pros: convenient location
Cons: bad eggs, inexperienced managers, no leadership
This site is held back by a few individuals who have been there from the beginning. The only experience they have is with this company. This becomes evident in the decision making process. With time it becomes clear that they are not ready to become a world class manufacturing facility. It is an OK place to work for a couple years but don't expect the – more... "plants" to allow change, to do what's right and to be accountable. Oh, mostly, don't expect to see any effective leadership here. You've heard of "The Founder's Dilemma" but now that the founder is gone you just have clueless managers and a couple bad eggs stinking the place up. That's some kind of dilemma, isn't it? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for.
Clinical Assessment Nurse (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 26, 2014
Pros: cared about its employees.
My Manager was especially helpful; worked with me on my schedule; explained changes. Company offered Continuing Education. Hardest part of job was sitting for long periods.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 Direct reports
Clinical Manager (Disease/Case Management) (Former Employee), Marietta GeogiaMay 19, 2014
Pros: colleagues became friends
Cons: inconsistent administrative environment
Call center cubicle environment. Required lots of personnel management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive company
Server support engineer (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 19, 2014
I've been with this company for seven years now and have been pleased overall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great products & services
Director (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 12, 2014
Pros: training, great people
Cons: compensation, frequent restructuring
Great place to launch your career in the healthcare industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everthing about them is bad... its just a paycheck
Health Care Coordinator (contract) (Former Employee), Marietta, GAMay 5, 2014
everthing about them is bad... its just a paycheck. The most boring job I ever had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor compensation, lots of work
Product Support Associate II (Current Employee), san diego, caApril 22, 2014
Used to be a fun place to work. Now it is miserable. Work you to death, very poor compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once was a good company to work for now not so good
Lead, Manufacturing Technician (Current Employee), San Diego, CAApril 22, 2014
Decent company to gain some experience from. they seem to cut down on perks more and more every year

1 2 3 4 5

About Alere

When you really need an answer -- fast -- toss out the crystal ball and bring in Alere. The company offers both professional and – Read more