Find companies:
ALDO Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
42 reviews

ALDO Group Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful and fun place to work.
Real Estate Lease Administrator (Former Employee), Montréal, QCAugust 12, 2014
Great cafeteria, friendly environment, great structure and beautiful offices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of work, but worth it
Assistant Hand Bag Designer (Current Employee), montrealAugust 8, 2014
Pros: benefits, cultures, events, bragging rights
Cons: long hours
Working at Aldo is not a walk in the park. I have worked in other companies before where i had long hours, but i also felt like i could take it easy during those long hours, NOT HERE. My mental state has to be alert ALL the time, i must be physically active and capable of performing all the time. I had great mentorship, people really care about their – more... jobs, but its very stressful because i feel everything i do was noted and brought up during my monthly review, job related or not. I couldn't actually exhale and relax until i left. I felt like a hamster on its wheel, you keep running, it never stops. It could just be my department though, you never know. To get along with the team is very very important. You must be obsessed with fashion and be ready to talk about it all the time. Easy going humble fashionistas wont last. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Nice environment
Visual Presentation Specialist (Former Employee), Montreal, QuebecJune 27, 2014
It was great to work at Aldo for many years. I've learned a lot.
It's a lifestyle to work for them, they have an amazing cafeteria a great gym and many others activities and services provided for everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started very well, then....
Social Media Specialist (Current Employee), Montréal, QCMay 28, 2014
Pros: 50% discount on all products
Cons: toxic atmosphere
Aldo was a great place to be once I started, very nice people, young and fresh culture. People was advance high up...Until the management decided to stop promoting people and only hire Team Leads and Managers externally. Then the department became a disaster. All rules has been changed to some kind of rules that frustrate the employees and doesn't benefit – more... the company. I wish it stayed the way it was. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training program
Department head/ Managment (Former Employee), TorontoMay 14, 2014
Pros: great work place, perks to high sales
Cons: unrealistic goals
7 points of sales was a great training program
Enjoyed co workers and customer interaction
Hardest part meeting sales goals during dead season
Management was pressured by supervisors to push sales team during these dead months
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, productive experience
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Hamilton, OntarioApril 29, 2014
Working for the Aldo Group has been one of my greatest experiences. They have taught me how to task prioritize and how to work well with others. They have taught me how to work well with customers and also have improved my patience skills with people. Along with getting to work with amazing employees, we have grown to enjoy our company and have learned – more... a lot about shoe care, shoe products and even how to style others. Working with this company is fun and definitely a great experience.
STAY GOLD :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, employee/customer relationships are easy and fun.
Manager (Former Employee), Thornhill, ONMarch 6, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: long hours
The company is great, they take care of you and the training puts you in the right direction to serve customers better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun yet somewhat stressful at time. Aldo was an amazing school.
Gerante (Former Employee), Montreal, and laval qcMarch 4, 2014
Aldo might not have been easy at times with their higher standards but it taught me a lot. The Aldo Group is a great school for individuals who are starting their careers in retail and in fashion. The opportunities in this company are never ending. The most enjoyable part of my job as a boutique manager was turning our fellow colleagues into family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company culture
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Richmond Hill, ONJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: 50% off shoes and accessories
Cons: bad company culture
The new and shiny Aldo store makeovers are coverup for the lack of company moral and subpar products. Be prepared to sell like your life depended on it and be pitted against your coworkers to win points to hopefully get that ipod touch. If you fall short, expect to lose your miserable job. If you're in management, be prepared to work hours comparable – more... to sweatshops during peak season for no overtime. If you negotiated wisely you might be able to afford your rent and food this month, otherwise they will pay you minimum plus a few nickels and dimes if they can get away with it. Upper management tries to get away with a lot of low things. For example, not giving you your sick days if you don't look over your pay check.

It's a shame that such a well known Canadian company preys on such young and naive people looking to make a living. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment, always learning something new.
Customer service representative (Current Employee), Montreal, QuebecSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: benefits, people & knowledge.
Cons: working holidays, weekends, and weekdays till midnight. location.
I have been working here for a while, and I could honestly say that I love it. I am just looking to start a career in my field. The management is great, but a bit disorganized. The hardest part of this job is the customers, and always having to please them no matter what. I love this job because this company is built on one standard, "love, respect – more... & integrity." – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exceptional company to work for!
Purchase Order Management Administrator (Former Employee), Montréal, QCMay 26, 2013
Would work there again if I had the opportunity.
Follow up emails to suppliers in different parts of the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work, always lots to do!
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, AB SouthcentreMay 24, 2013
I enjoyed working here, shoes are fun, discounts are awesome!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great colleagues and flexible schedule
Assistant-manager (Former Employee), Bromont, quebec and Montreal, quebecNovember 30, 2012
Pros: great collegues
Cons: difficult to advance in the company
Great colleagues and learning experience; the schedule is very flexible, but the downside is that it is difficult to advance in the company, and it takes time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fashion forward
Store Manager (Former Employee), Belleville, ONSeptember 18, 2012
Pros: great shoes and product
Cons: upper management support
slow
manage independently
support when available
GREAT TEAM
retaining staff with wage/competition
MY STAFF!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and up-beat work environment
Stockroom Coordinator (Current Employee), Charleston, SCJune 23, 2012
A place where work is never done, which is exactly what someone like myself wanted. Being constantly busy helps the work to get done and helps the day move forward.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun yet Fast paced job
Sales lead (Former Employee), Miami, FLDecember 19, 2014
Pros: meeting goals were not too rough
Cons: extremely unstabled hours
On a typical day I would attend 50-100+ clients. We were separated into sections of the store for example: men's shoes, women's shoes, accessories and the section called fantastic finds where most sales were found. The hardest part of the job is keeping up with all of the clients at once. This was a challenging aspect of the job but personally enjoyable. – more... I like to have more than one thing to do at once it keeps me busy and time goes by a lot faster – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for.
Co Manager (Former Employee), California, USADecember 8, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: no cons during my 5 years
Great experience well balanced between accomplishing personal sales and running the overall functions of the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for someone just starting out who has no experience
Store Manager (Former Employee), NJNovember 21, 2014
Pros: my team, putting my skills to work
Cons: mostly all else
Company is Canadian. My first experience with a company that was not US based. I must say I saw the difference. As a Store Manager you will be told a lot of wonderful inspiring things during the interview process: bonus structure, quality of life, wonderful discount...etc. Once you start with the company you will find out that your work week is 45 hours – more... Minimum. You will Always be doing, 55 hours minimum, realistically, and be payed salary for 40. You do the math! You are extremely overworked and under paid. You are spoken to as if you are not worthy of respect and as well as, extremely replaceable at any time. Coming from a strong background in retail management, having worked with many wonderful companies and having a college background as well, this would not be the job for you. Perfect for someone just starting out in the retail industry, that has something to prove. Will make the entire business their only life and work for low pay and horrible standards, but will gain experience as a Store Manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ALDO Group
Customer Service (Former Employee), North Attleboro, MANovember 11, 2014
Pros: friendly environment, pay
Cons: summer position
A typical day at work would have friendly customers searching for that perfect shoe, handbag, wallets, accessories, etc. I would love he;ping customers find that perfect look for the occasion they needed put together. Co-workers were amazing and an a plus team! The management was great and always were proud of us for completing goals and sales. The – more... hardest part was not being able to find what the customer was looking for, whether it not being the perfect match for the occasion, or running out of sizes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fashion Forward Company who isn't afraid to take risks
Assistant Store Manager/ Store Manager (Former Employee), Cincinnati OhioNovember 6, 2014
Pros: fashion forward environment, new store openings and events
Cons: lack of experience in management, core values not always practiced
Working for Aldo Group was a good diverse expereince. A lot of the management were younger newer professionals and a lot of risks were taken with business practices and employee relations. Some worked for the best and some worked against the business.

1 2 3