Find companies:
ALCOA
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
201 reviews

ALCOA Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Employer
Tool & Die Maker (Former Employee), Collingwood, ONDecember 11, 2012
Pros: training opportunities
Cons: plant closed
Productive environment with encouragement to learn and improve skill sets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diffeent processes from casting / machining and painting.
Quality Auditor / Quality Supervisor (Former Employee), Mountain, ONSeptember 26, 2012
Pros: learning on a continuous bases.
Cons: sometimes i would start a job and get pulled away for other duties, due to that fact i took some work home on weekends.
My duties included maintaining the Quality System. Writing and updating Document and Data Control. I performed Internal Audits to the ISO Standard.
I performed final inspection on the product as well as rework.
Audited Suppliers for compliance to the Quality Standard.
Reinspected finish goods due to a nonconformance.
I enjoyed the different duties as – more... well as the challenges. Each day was always different.
I worked with all levels in the organization. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely beneficial to my degree
Supply Chain/Production Control Intern (Current Employee), Bloomsburg, PADecember 15, 2014
Pros: always a joy to come to work
This company was an absolute delight for which to work. From employee engagement to the culture, the company was a great place to gain experience before graduating with a Supply Chain degree. I was able to get hands-on experience while applying what I was learning about in the classroom.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturing company with 144 million in annual sales
Planner (Former Employee), Fullerton, CADecember 12, 2014
Pros: a lot of work
Cons: too many hours
I learned many skills at Alcoa, from basic computer skills to comprehensive planning, analytical tasks. I worked in a department with many different and strong personalities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Windows/VMware System Administrator (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PADecember 9, 2014
Everyone worked as a team and were very productive. Very nice work place and with helpful individuals. Even with such strict deadlines, we were able to smile and work as team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, benefits, etc...BUT...
Assistant Machine Operator (Former Employee), Lancaster, PADecember 7, 2014
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: 40 minute paid lunch in 12-hr shift hurts; living there for most part hurts even worse.
You WILL live here. If you've under 5 years your first a "pick[ing] your poison"--overtime; and, there's lots of it.
You'll average 60-hr weeks. It was brutal--12-hr days, rotating shifts; you can never adjust. A lot of times you're faced with but 1 day to transition from a 6a-6p right into a 6p-6a.
No summer whatsoever. Again: if under 5 years, most – more... seniors take their vacations during summer which in turn means double the overtime. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment with many dedicated individuals
Industrial Engineering Intern (Former Employee), Point Comfort, TexasNovember 24, 2014
Pros: great compensation for travel etc., easy work
Cons: dangerous environment
Working at Alcoa in Point Comfort was a pleasure and great experience for me. I learned many intricate parts of big business and meeting a desired output with a team. My management and co-workers had many pros and some cons but ultimately it worked. The hardest part of the job was the physical heat of the plant emitted from the operation. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was meeting new people and accomplishing a goal every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor culture of mediocrity, cronyism and stagnation
Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 23, 2014
Pros: if you suck, you'll love it here
Cons: poor culture - mediocrity, cronyism, lack of growth, lack of change.
The New York office of Alcoa is best characterized as stale and unchanging, filled with protected mediocre talent who couldn't compete elsewhere. HR is too busy coddling incompetent staff at all levels who have no business working in business while at the same time hire young, enthusiastic agents of change who quickly learn of their mistake of accepting – more... the offer letter.
The culture in the NY office simply provides little to no growth - technically or professionally. Facilities are poor for a headquarters office and are overseen by an inexperienced and incompetent team. Cronyism is deeply rooted here - half the admin assitants were either waitresses in bars or worse - but because of "friends" within HR or inside the CEO's office, they now enjoy protected status. Management sits back, excuses and accepts this culture as "this is the best we can get"...that all the best talent is vacuumed up by the nearby investment banks and law firms. Very few are interested in change...you can even see this at leadership conferences where the CEO challenges his top staff and HR to hire better, more engaged and competent people and he is met by dead, disengaged stares. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If Alcoa hadn't closed down, I would have been happy to continue working there as a Receptionist
Receptionist (Former Employee), Pt Henry, Moolap, VictoriaNovember 22, 2014
I felt the company was very professional and strictly followed Work Safety and OH &S principles with continued training in place for staff. There was a high level of respect among staff at all levels and I felt that work, family and life was well balanced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing
Production Cell Operator (Former Employee), Dover, NJNovember 9, 2014
Cons: the job in its self
Alcoa was a stressful workplace where you were forced to work OT on weekends
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job with opportunity for skill improvment
Plant Maintenance Worker (Former Employee), KwinanaNovember 6, 2014
Pros: lots of skills learnt, pay, awareness of safety
Cons: dangerous work
daily jobs varied. learned alot about the alumina industry and different materials and processes. a safety culture was also strengthened whilst working with CECK in ALCOA. Management was very unorthodox but easy to deal with. Co workers were were friendly and hard working, a good senior worker program was in place to make it easier for new workers. – more... the hardest part of the job was when maintaining the plant doing it in the heat, due the the extensive personal protective equipment needed. The most enjoyable part of this job was the skills learnt . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
CUSTOMER SUPPORT REP. (Current Employee), Sylmar CaliforniaNovember 4, 2014
Great work environment, great workers, good management. Customers always satisfied.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun company
Shipping/Receiving (Former Employee), Indianapolis INOctober 29, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: free lunch
• Kept records on materials, supplies, and other equipment that entered into warehouse ,verified the quantity and quality of items assigned, checking for defects and recording them to prepare reports on inventory levels
• Evaluated and made adjustments on inventory levels based on order history and performance levels in order to optimize costs and service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive big focus on the Environment
Assistant Environmental Technician (Current Employee), Dwellingup, WAOctober 25, 2014
Pros: environment that i work in
Cons: no job role progression
Feeling of fulfilment working to put something back after the mining is completed I have gained a great deal of experience in this Job. My employer is very Safety conscious
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safety walkbehing driver
Laborer/Material Specialist (Current Employee), Cranberry< PAOctober 23, 2014
get the lines filled with metal (work) keep producshion moveing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pastred
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee), Chandler, AZOctober 23, 2014
Pros: fun
Cons: lunch only 20 min
I like this job a lot management and i worked well together co-worked had fun doing your jobs worked 10 to 12 hours a day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
AC1200 Visual Operator and Press Operator (Current Employee), Morristown, TNOctober 18, 2014
better oppotunities, need better mangement then they have. I want trust in my management , there is none. I want to able to advance in a company that you can trust the management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
potential that will never be reached
Maintenance welder (Current Employee), Barberton, OHOctober 17, 2014
Pros: nobody cares about anything
Cons: everything is wrong
bad management, bad organizational skills, too many chiefs, and not enough "smart" Indians. If you want to work with a bunch of lazy people who like to steal from you, and talk about you behind your back...then this is the place for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIce having company picnics
Paint Applicator (Former Employee), Beloit, WIOctober 9, 2014
Pros: learning experence
Cons: closing
Learned how to run machines And how to use Spray Guns. The management worked with the people to improve things in the company. The co-workers enjoyed working with each other which is hard to find.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place for salaried redundancies and waste
Bed saw operator (Current Employee), Davenport worksOctober 2, 2014
Pros: multicultural diversity
Cons: total disregard of employee engagement, and dignity.
A wonderful place for students of union and management symbiosis and middle class abandonment. It's CEO is a disgraced leader of Siemens who somehow managed to land on his feet at Alcoa. His leadership has percolated throughout the system,a truly inspiring human who has done a wonderful job of spreading Alcoa values throughout their entire world wide – more... organization, more than justifying his seven figure salary.It is a truly ringing endorsement when 80% of their employees at their bell weather plant list the biggest reason for employment with Alcoa is "it's the best in the area". – less

1 2 3 4 5

About ALCOA

While many of its aluminum products may be lightweight, Alcoa is anything but. The company is among the world's top producers – Read more