Find companies:
ALCOA
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
166 reviews

ALCOA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diffeent processes from casting / machining and painting.
Quality Auditor / Quality Supervisor (Former Employee), Mountain, ONSeptember 26, 2012
Pros: learning on a continuous bases.
Cons: sometimes i would start a job and get pulled away for other duties, due to that fact i took some work home on weekends.
My duties included maintaining the Quality System. Writing and updating Document and Data Control. I performed Internal Audits to the ISO Standard.
I performed final inspection on the product as well as rework.
Audited Suppliers for compliance to the Quality Standard.
Reinspected finish goods due to a nonconformance.
I enjoyed the different duties as – more... well as the challenges. Each day was always different.
I worked with all levels in the organization. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly supported operation
SITE / PLANT MANAGER - Responsible for Production (Former Employee), Denton TXJuly 14, 2014
Cons: see above
Constant machine failures, lack of employees and failure to pay suppliers on a timely basis
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crews good to work with, Management not so much
Team Leader (Current Employee), Victoria, ENGJuly 6, 2014
Was a good place to work.
Last 10 years lots of management turn over, with no successive planning. therefor inexperienced leadership that has nearly all experience lost.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Metal Cell Operator/Visual Operator (Former Employee), Hampton VaJuly 4, 2014
Pros: hour lunch
Cons: good health care
A good company to work for, I learn how to make part for Aircraft,GE,and Airplanes Carries something that I never had done before It was amazing opportunity to be apart of live changing event.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money great if single, challenging for marriages and families.
NDT Ultrasonic Operator in this field since 2009. (Current Employee), Lafayette, IndianaJune 29, 2014
Pros: benefits, wages, union backing.
Cons: lack of communications throughout the whole plant.
For someone starting out very nice place to be employed. If you have a family, the hours demanded of you will cause the loss of family touch and events. This is all explained to you in the interviews and hiring process. I believe a lot of marriage splits are due to this with either one or the other not explaining it fully to their spouse. If you want – more... to make money and are single I believe this is the best place to work in Lafayette. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Newburgh, INJune 26, 2014
Hon provided me the skills and training that allowed me to advance in my future careers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people!
Shipping Coordinator (Former Employee), Rockdale, TXJune 14, 2014
Great place to work. Management very supportive and co-workers became more like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to much turnover and uncaring supervision
Production Worker (Former Employee), Beloit, WIJune 3, 2014
Pros: actually had decent break schedule
Cons: management
To many supervisors (mid to upper level) gave the impression of only looking out for themselves. Co workers were not to bad when they stayed around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to work
Health & Safety Engineer (Current Employee), Newbury Park, CAMay 28, 2014
Pros: free lunches, good bonuses, history of merit increases, good co-workers
Cons: politics, scare tactics
A typical day at work is fast paced and multi-faceted to say the least. Management is normally very supportive of career goals, however, depending on the location might be lacking in assertive leadership qualities (this just varies from leader to leader). The floor employees and learning what they do are the best part of my job. The hardest part of – more... my job is having to focus my time on things that don't make a big impact. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very competitive work environment
Mill Machine Operator (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMay 17, 2014
Pros: pay incentives
Cons: working in temperatures below zero
I worked in a fast pace environment selecting orders at a productive rate in a very cold environment. Working there taught you to work as a team to get the job done in a reasonable time. Working in temperatures below zero for 12 to 16 hours a day trying to pull production was tough. I liked working in that competitive environment because it taught you – more... how to do what you had to do to be a top selector. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Operations Management Consultant (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHMay 9, 2014
Pros: good
Cons: good
Good company, hard to get promoted. Very number driven.

A lot of nice people work here
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard place to work but very good team
labourer (Current Employee), Leicester, ENGApril 26, 2014
Pros: good work benefits and secure plenty of overtime
i enjoy every part of my job as i love working and love the satisfaction i get from completing tasks set or projects i undertake
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LARGE ALUMINIUM FIRM
WELDERS MATE (Former Employee), SWANSEAApril 24, 2014
WORKED AS A WELDERS MATE AND LEARNED HOW THE PLANT OPERATES AND ALL THE SAFETY FEATURES THAT NEED TO BE ADHERED TO IN A BIG INDUSTRY.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean and safe environment
MANUFACTURING OPERATOR (Former Employee), Temecula CaApril 10, 2014
worked in a clean room in charge of cnc machine making sure all product would come out clear of any damage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trying production management, and learning about myself.
Cast House/Cast Rod Manager (Former Employee), Morris, ILApril 9, 2014
Pros: opportunity to be in manufacturing management and learning about what i do not get excited about.
Cons: lack of teamwork.
Managed a 3-shift ingot and rod production department with 40 employees and 3 direct reports.
• Managed a two casting pit operation that supplied log and billet primarily for internal extrusion presses. Utilized lean manufacturing concepts to reduce waste and solve problems.

Got the opportunity to develop a process to cast rod for impact extrusion, – more... instead of casting ingots and extruding the rods. Worked with a German company to design and build the equipment used. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Admin Assistant Word Processing (Former Employee), Bettendorf, IAApril 1, 2014
Pros: excellent pay
Cons: smelling aluminum all day was hard to breathe
Duties included filing
Operated 100 button phone system
Used Microsoft word and excel
Setting up data bases
Faxing
Sorting and distributing mail
Became an Administrative Assistant duties included
Data Entry for quotes, contracts, and invoices for Boeing
Ran a LAN and Wan system, keeping all 50 computers online from Pittsburg
Setting up meetings for – more... new customers in the Corporate offices

The best part was rotating jobs. The hardest part was getting everyone's requests done on time. The co-workers were very nice. I learned to multitask – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Show up at 11pm and work until 7am machining wheels non-stop with 2 -20 minute breaks
Level II operator (Current Employee), Barberton, OHMarch 30, 2014
Pros: free lunches every now and then and a nice yearly bonus
Cons: no work/life balance
Ok place to work if you don't mind going to work 6-7 nights a week and not seeing your family at all. I learned how to use various tools and measuring equipment. They do offer awards and some incentives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with several business units to create unique Citrix environment
NT Analyst (Former Employee), Alcoa Center, PAMarch 26, 2014
Pros: game room in building. luncheons
Cons: not much room for advancement
Worked with many business units to develop published applications that would enhance their unit and help staff utilze applications more efficiently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging place to work with a harsh union enviroment at times
Production Control Operator (Former Employee), Newburgh, INMarch 19, 2014
Pros: potroom schedule is 14/28 days, if you can hack it in the summer months
Cons: union/company relationship
Good place to work. I started in the potroom, which is a very physically demanding job. But, it can be done. Just be prepared, moral is in the dumps when contract time comes around. The contract for our plant is prepared for our plant and other plants at the same time. Only problem is that some plants are "iffy" on voting down a contract in fear of – more... their plant being closed. Our plant was a money maker, "hand over fist". Most contracts were voted down by our local plant but ended up getting voted in by the other plants. All in all a decent place and has security when its not contract time. The union doesnt have a very good relationship with the company, so lots of grievences get filed. Some are won and some are lost. Probably some deals getting cut, who knows? Its decent pay, could be better if the benefits wern't eating your pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Maintenance Electrician (Former Employee), Riverdale, IAMarch 17, 2014
Pros: tools
Cons: shift could be re-evaulated
This was a good place to be except for the hours that you would work on the swing shift. I was very unhealthy working all three shifts each week but thats what you have to do when you are low on seniority. Great co-workers. They give you anything you need when you need it to do your job.

1 2 3 4 5

About ALCOA

While many of its aluminum products may be lightweight, Alcoa is anything but. The company is among the world's top producers – Read more