Find companies:
ALCOA
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
148 reviews

ALCOA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diffeent processes from casting / machining and painting.
Quality Auditor / Quality Supervisor (Former Employee), Mountain, ONSeptember 26, 2012
Pros: learning on a continuous bases.
Cons: sometimes i would start a job and get pulled away for other duties, due to that fact i took some work home on weekends.
My duties included maintaining the Quality System. Writing and updating Document and Data Control. I performed Internal Audits to the ISO Standard.
I performed final inspection on the product as well as rework.
Audited Suppliers for compliance to the Quality Standard.
Reinspected finish goods due to a nonconformance.
I enjoyed the different duties as – more... well as the challenges. Each day was always different.
I worked with all levels in the organization. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean and safe environment
MANUFACTURING OPERATOR (Former Employee), Temecula CaApril 10, 2014
worked in a clean room in charge of cnc machine making sure all product would come out clear of any damage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trying production management, and learning about myself.
Cast House/Cast Rod Manager (Former Employee), Morris, ILApril 9, 2014
Pros: opportunity to be in manufacturing management and learning about what i do not get excited about.
Cons: lack of teamwork.
Managed a 3-shift ingot and rod production department with 40 employees and 3 direct reports.
• Managed a two casting pit operation that supplied log and billet primarily for internal extrusion presses. Utilized lean manufacturing concepts to reduce waste and solve problems.

Got the opportunity to develop a process to cast rod for impact extrusion, – more... instead of casting ingots and extruding the rods. Worked with a German company to design and build the equipment used. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Admin Assistant Word Processing (Former Employee), Bettendorf, IAApril 1, 2014
Pros: excellent pay
Cons: smelling aluminum all day was hard to breathe
Duties included filing
Operated 100 button phone system
Used Microsoft word and excel
Setting up data bases
Faxing
Sorting and distributing mail
Became an Administrative Assistant duties included
Data Entry for quotes, contracts, and invoices for Boeing
Ran a LAN and Wan system, keeping all 50 computers online from Pittsburg
Setting up meetings for – more... new customers in the Corporate offices

The best part was rotating jobs. The hardest part was getting everyone's requests done on time. The co-workers were very nice. I learned to multitask – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Show up at 11pm and work until 7am machining wheels non-stop with 2 -20 minute breaks
Level II operator (Current Employee), Barberton, OHMarch 30, 2014
Pros: free lunches every now and then and a nice yearly bonus
Cons: no work/life balance
Ok place to work if you don't mind going to work 6-7 nights a week and not seeing your family at all. I learned how to use various tools and measuring equipment. They do offer awards and some incentives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with several business units to create unique Citrix environment
NT Analyst (Former Employee), Alcoa Center, PAMarch 26, 2014
Pros: game room in building. luncheons
Cons: not much room for advancement
Worked with many business units to develop published applications that would enhance their unit and help staff utilze applications more efficiently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging place to work with a harsh union enviroment at times
Production Control Operator (Former Employee), Newburgh, INMarch 19, 2014
Pros: potroom schedule is 14/28 days, if you can hack it in the summer months
Cons: union/company relationship
Good place to work. I started in the potroom, which is a very physically demanding job. But, it can be done. Just be prepared, moral is in the dumps when contract time comes around. The contract for our plant is prepared for our plant and other plants at the same time. Only problem is that some plants are "iffy" on voting down a contract in fear of – more... their plant being closed. Our plant was a money maker, "hand over fist". Most contracts were voted down by our local plant but ended up getting voted in by the other plants. All in all a decent place and has security when its not contract time. The union doesnt have a very good relationship with the company, so lots of grievences get filed. Some are won and some are lost. Probably some deals getting cut, who knows? Its decent pay, could be better if the benefits wern't eating your pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Maintenance Electrician (Former Employee), Riverdale, IAMarch 17, 2014
Pros: tools
Cons: shift could be re-evaulated
This was a good place to be except for the hours that you would work on the swing shift. I was very unhealthy working all three shifts each week but thats what you have to do when you are low on seniority. Great co-workers. They give you anything you need when you need it to do your job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work.
Manufacturing (Current Employee), Dover, NJMarch 16, 2014
Very safety oriented, and good management. Company investing money on right things for profitable growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they have mandatory weekends, 2 days off a month
turning operator (Current Employee), barberton ohioMarch 14, 2014
wouldn't be a bad place to work if they gave you some days off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alot of responsibilities
Machine Technician, Temporary Supervisor (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHMarch 13, 2014
lead man on a crew of 6. operate a steam hammer, forge hot aluminum, temporary assigned supervisor, schedule crews to certain steam hammers, schedule certain towmotors to all departments. over head crane experience, dial caliper experiemce, set up dies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Metal Finisher (Former Employee), Chandler, AZMarch 12, 2014
a typical work day was the same everyday we would repeat the process everyday. I learned a lot working there like how to build set ups for the stretcher machines and learned how to cut the metal to certain lengths. my co workers and management was great. the hardest part or the job was lifting some really heavy metal. the most enjoyable part was working – more... with the people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people veery reactive to instructions
Supervisor (Former Employee), Lafayette, INMarch 4, 2014
Pros: benefits/compensartion
Great people to work with. Always treat people with dignity and respect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work but to weather determining
mud man (Former Employee), Fort Hood, TXFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: not enough work
when there was work it was ok. if it rained,no work.got along great with co workers,but the best part was the pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workers
Area Operator (Former Employee), Point Comfort, TXFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: pay
Hard working workers & a good company with excellent benifits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new process occuring
Supervisor (Current Employee), Lake CharlesJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: salary, advancement
monitoring safety, making production goals, safety tool box, projob briefs, reviews, filed audits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting , Safty first, Quaility
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Rockdale, TexasJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: good pay, good healthcare
Cons: union workforce
Crew line out on day Production.Equipment troubleshooting. Quality control. Supervise crew loading trucks, Packing Product. Supervising maintenance Crew.
it is an old plant lots of problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
wax assembler (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: the hours
Cons: the hours
the job was fun. The managers were nice and everybody was very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alcoa is a great place to work.
Driveshaft flow path Supervisor (Current Employee), Lafayette, INJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: always able to be promoted
Cons: i have been working 7 days a week, 9 to 10 hours a day for 17 years.
Alcoa has given me a secure job for 30 years. However I feel it is time to move on after 30 years in March 1st. I feel that I need to experience more opportunities in my life and learn more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diversity in the work, educational challenges
TQM Sales Coordinator (Former Employee), Chandler, AZJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: working with manufactured product, loved the atmosphere
Cons: unfortunately the office was moved out of az and i was not able to relocate
TQM Sales Coordinator (Total Quality Management) promotion
Directed overall operations of quality related sales functions for the Hard Alloy Division of Alcoa Engineered Products, both domestic and internationally. Key role to facilitate sales compliance to industry quality specifications (D1-9000) as well as the international specification for all – more... businesses; ISO9002. Additional responsibilities included; Quality Systems trained auditor, Corrective Action Administrator, Delegated Source Inspector for Boeing and Northrop Grumman, First Article Administrator and Contract Review Administrator. (resume has full accomplishments) – less

1 2 3 4 5

About ALCOA

While many of its aluminum products may be lightweight, Alcoa is anything but. The company is among the world's top producers – Read more