Find companies:
Alberta Health Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
83 reviews

Alberta Health Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good fit for me
Informatics Consultant (Business Analysis) (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 15, 2012
Pros: job security
Cons: too large and highly political so it takes a very long time to get things done.
The project I was assigned to was not managed well and was at a standstill. I had to resign as I was unable to handle being idle for 8 hours a day. I need to be busy to have job satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An exciting and diversified place to work
Unit Clerk Acute Care/ED (Current Employee), Rimbey Hospital, Rimbey, AlbertaNovember 15, 2012
Pros: diversity in skills needed for the position
Cons: only a casual position
A typical day begins with giving or receiving report to/from the Unit Clerk. I then check supplies in the unit and Emergency Department. I also answer the phones, do my order entry and interact with patients and families. I've learned a lot about organization and flexability. The hardest part of the job is finding enough hours in the day to complete – more... my tasks. The most enjoyable part of my job is finding the hours to complete my tasks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall I enjoy my job on a daily basis.
Environmental Services Housekeeper (Current Employee), Oyen, ABOctober 28, 2012
Pros: good wages
Cons: small hospital with no possibility of full time employment
A typical day at work would be to thoroughly clean all areas of the hospital according to AHS standards. I have learned very usefull information about infectious disease's and how to prevent them. The hardest part of the job is seeing babies in the emergency room and the death of a patient. The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to bring joy – more... of some kind to the patients on both the active side and long term care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Nursing Attendant (Current Employee), Innisfail, ABOctober 9, 2012
It's enjoyable to work with your co workers and having fun with residents. My best work is joke around with the residents and make them happy and smile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work
Driver 1 (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 3, 2012
i enjoy working and meeting other people,my job is to deliver goods and materials that mostly needed in hospital in daily basis.i directly delivered them at the nursing unit,and i always get good remarks for my prompt and good service ,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i just enjoyed the work
Environmental Services Worker in Laundry (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABSeptember 24, 2012
I thought it was great job thathelped to day go by and that the pay was good as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's fun place to work because you see lots of kids patients in the hospital.
Maintenance Electrician (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 17, 2012
Pros: pot lucks once a month
Cons: work ot if they required me
I enjoyed working with my co-workers and my immediate supervisor. We have a good team that always work together in a safe and healthy environment
Management always concern about the health and safety of the employees. We always work with strict compliance with the hospital guidelines.

jewel – October 6, 2012

im working uae maintenac air comdieioner electrical plumbing, 11years experience please sir u halpe me my jovs

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AHS
Senior Consultant, Clinical Engagement (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 11, 2012
Pros: large organization
Cons: lots of change
I prefer not to review this company online.

 Responsible to promote clinician engagement as a means to inform and support patient safety, quality care, clinical practice and strategic health priorities within Alberta Health Services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits
Contract Coordinator - IT Sourcing (Current Employee), ALbertaAugust 9, 2012
Pros: with good people working around
Cons: work area not conducive to work in
4-star
overall, an enjoyable people to work with and learned lot of things from them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place of employment
Clerk 111 (Former Employee), edmonton albertaAugust 2, 2012
Pros: working with people
Cons: a few people that were not doing there job
I would help set up signage, prepare the area for clients to register, oversee the recovery area and help people with mobility and other special needs.I learned about the importance of getting immunized not just for the flu but for other illnesses ,too. The management was very helpful and understanding. Sometimes there were co workers that were not – more... the easiest to work with. That would have been the hardest part of the job. The most enjoyable part of the job was to work with clients and in the recovery area we were encouraged to talk to them and make sure they were feeling alright. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good organization with serious management issues
Provincial Manager (Former Employee), EdmontonJuly 4, 2012
Pros: good benefits package and total compensation is fair
Cons: horrific management, no leadership skill and vision. (not anymore)
AHS has a lot of opportunities, but the senior leadership team has to redirect their focus to retain skilled and highly qualified staff. The vision has been lost through the forced attrition. When formed the organization had a powerful vision and plan, and as that brilliant group of leaders has been forced out through the inability to move forward on – more... their initatives, the entire organization and subsequently the health of Albertans and the Health System have suffered irrevocably.
I love the field and the people, but the senior leadership have no clue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful and cheerful co-workers
Food Server (Current Employee), Royal Alexandra Hospital, EdmontonJune 18, 2012
I started working in Royal Alex hospital on May and I find the job so easy maybe because the people I work with are helpful and cheerful. It makes the job very light and easy. I also like the hours of operation where I don't need to get up so early ad stay at work so late. The most enjoyable part of the work is when you learn new things but not really – more... stressful because the supervisors and managers are always there to help you all the way until you learn the new skill. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding.
Clerk III Seasonal Influenza Program (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 5, 2012
Pros: communication and teamwork.
Cons: temp position.
As it was a pilot program there was many changes made on a daily basis. I found it very rewarding to see the business plan come together and know that the staff had input into the final product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of career growth opportunities. Fun with cheap parking.
À temps plein comme infirmière (Former Employee), CalgaryMay 15, 2012
Pros: access to vancouver, (bc) edmonton and calgary is easy
Cons: need to leave there to really enjoy it.
A small town with all the amenities of a big towm.
Nice place to leave in.
Typical nurses day it is.
So much room to grow.
Team spirit is a must for anyone working there.
Hardest part of the job was when I had to leave.
I enjoyed access to the outdoors.
The staff room is beautiful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very high acuity on the unit
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 29, 2012
A very fast paced nursing unit.
Have learned a lot of skills &,knowledge base has increased.
Learned how to care for patients from numerous ethnic backgrounds.
Have learned to work with many managers-five different managers in the last 5-7 yrs-All had unique styles of leadership..
Enjoyed working with a diverse group of nurses.
Getting all the required – more... work accomplished in 8 hours.& ensuring emotioal needs of patient were met.as well.
Having the satisfaction of knowing that I helped patients thru their healing & recuperation process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large organization, government type subject to political elite's control
Senior Vice President Capital Management (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 23, 2014
Pros: excellent employee benefit package
spanning across the province, a large organization with dedicated employees. rewarding experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine staff, poor politics
Staff RN (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 3, 2013
Too much government involvement in an overlarge burocratic beast, not enough provider input.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work - rewarding!
Telecommunications Officer (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 8, 2013
Great place to work - I worked with an awesome team. Constantly changing and challenging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prductive and fun working place
QA Analyst / Tester (Current Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 9, 2012
Working Closely with the technical Team. Took the opportunity to learn a leader-ship role by training other candidates and making decision are beneficial to the project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
liked helping patients for they were hurting in many ways.
maintenance (Former Employee), Reddeer AlbertaFebruary 17, 2012
It was a very hard decision for that many years in. For I was working hard in many ways to show I was ready to grow in leadership and advancing. I cared in peoples safety and sharing my hopes with others together we can work as a team to look at all angle to better the company.

About Alberta Health Services

Alberta Health Services (AHS) is the single health authority for the Canadian province of Alberta. Alberta Health Services – Read more