Alberta Health Services Employee Reviews

Found 311 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Unit Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 January 2017
Unit clerks perform a variety of reception, clerical and administrative tasks at nursing stations on the units or wards of hospitals, continuing care centres, physician's offices and other medical facilities. A typical day at work was good, my management and co-workers were awesome.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Nursing Attendant (Current Employee) –  Lac La Biche, AB12 December 2016
Extremely hard to get a job with alberta health services. I have worked as a HCA for them for two years in long term care, recently moved to Edmonton and can not get another job with them.
Pros
Amazing benefits and salary
Cons
diffacult to get a job, and to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alberta Health Services
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB16 February 2017
Not my dream career position, would rather be working directly with clients.
I have grown as a person since I started there and enhanced and utilized my skills.
I really enjoying working with the people who are in the same office as I am.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mayerthorpe Environmental Services HORRIBLE
Environmental Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Mayerthorpe, AB5 January 2017
The Managment for Environmental Services at the Mayerthorpe Health care center are horrible people. Manipulators and very condescending. I don't suggest working there
Pros
Pay
Cons
Horrible Management
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of staff that are nice to work with
Food Service (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 December 2016
flexible shifts
interact with hospital patients
management are nice
good working place
nice staff to work with
can be a challenge to work here when you encounter difficult customers.
Pros
good hourly rate
Cons
do not give out points for casual
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meaningful work and consistent work activities
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB3 February 2017
Low stress environment with fun people and a good management team. You get to see all of the patients and talk with them. Hardest part is seeing patients who are struggling.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Team environment
Medical Secretary (Current Employee) –  Stony Plain, AB13 January 2017
Collaborative team work, excellent work/family balance,
Supports education advancement
Prides themselves on patient care
High standard of service and care for patients
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would really like to work as a massage theripst
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB9 December 2016
I would d 16 hours a day 4 times a week.
I work with kids and adults.
I have dealt with robberys.
I go to mental heaalth at the hospital
Pros
long time to get pay check
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Soul crushing and archaic values.
WHS (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 January 2017
Not great, with unfortunate misuse of it's potential. Soul crushing and archaic values. Not a place you can ever expect to make a difference in. Management expects quiet and unquestioning staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great advancement job and great staff
Control centre coordinator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 October 2016
Really enjoy my work and feel appreciated the benifits are great and I am able to show my true purpose. I love problem solving and understand all sides of project
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government
Advisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 December 2016
There are two types of positions: In-Scope and Out of Scope. In-Scope positions are unionized. If you enjoy working in a unionized environment, then AHS is a great place to work.

For Out-of-Scope positions, you are dealing directly with the manager. AHS is very bureaucratic and things are slow to change, but there is opportunity to improve processes and directly affect patient care.
Pros
Pension and generous vacation time
Cons
Bureaucratic and slow to change
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ahs
Clerk III (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB13 February 2017
This has been an amazing experience for me. The people I work with and for are amazing. They are always friendly and have a smile on their faces. This is the career i have always wanted.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working
Health Care Aide (Former Employee) –  Claresholm, AB7 November 2016
Enjoyed the work the residents...loved to learn more about the job and about the residents...every day was different and exciting...l miss working there do not miss the management and their favoritism
Pros
Loved long term care
Cons
Hated the management
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work enviroment
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 November 2016
- never had any issues, good co-workers
- good place to meet new people
- good managers
- good benefits
- great place to learn new skills and maintain skills

-
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Dispatcher/Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 October 2016
Great place to work. Managers are great. sadly work life balance as it is a shift work job is not there. Friendly staff and you have the chance to use their online education system
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Training and Education Specialist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 June 2016
My particular position was quite good, it involved a great deal of instruction and working with people. Management provided good support and the co-workers were great.
Pros
paid training
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family friendly environment to work in.
service aide (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB23 June 2016
a typicle day at work was very physical and fast paced.I learned patience and how to prioritize importance in my job.The management could have been better organized and more compationate.My co-workers were like my second family very caring and loveable.The hardest part of the job was not being able to meet every ones needs in a shift. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing and being with my co-worker family on a daily basis.
Pros
Friends and family environment
Cons
Job discription changed from day to day
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with/for. Good pay
Environmental Services (Former Employee) –  Ponoka, AB12 January 2017
Workplace safety was very important, there was always opportunity to voice any concerns within the workplace. There was always hands on learning experiences. If there were any problems, it was easy to voice them to managers. And i always found it enjoyable to work with the other employees. The hardest part of the job was the physical aspect of it, but that was also the best part becasue it kept me moving and active.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to work.
Certified Health Information Management (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 November 2016
My position had a very heavy work load and the day just flew by.
I had great assistance. Every day was different, because every day different requests would come in that had to be dealt with. There was always something to learn, which is a good thing.
Pros
Could sometimes combine morning & afternoon breaks into one break and make it an exercise break.
Cons
very busy hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a very good place to work.
environmental service aide (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 March 2016
its a new hospital built in the south, very clean, good ambiance, very challenging too. it encourages you to work hard and it gives you the opportunity for personal growth, and for your career in the future.
im thankful i currently work here and will continue to work in Alberta Health Services as i myself is in health / medical field in the philippines as medical radiation worker...
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 318 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6