Alberta Health Services Employee Reviews

Found 391 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with opportunities
Administrative Support (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 June 2017
A productive workplace with many room for advancement
and a very professional work environment. Every personality and skill set is considered when building a team.
Pros
Professional Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to growth
Secretary I/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 June 2017
Good salary, Lack of hierarchy, management is approachable. Big company, so well established policies, procedures and in-house training.

Good learning opportunities and exposure to health environment. Very flexible with working conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depressing work environment
Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 June 2017
A very sick culture and a lack of accountability. Union protects people that have no right taking tax payers money. Definite lack of leadership to change the culture, or improve.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet workplace, productive.
Environmental Services (Current Employee) –  McLennan, AB6 June 2017
I felt very comfortable working here, it is a very nice environment. The work is really easy once you get a hang of it. I learned about how to be more responsible and have better professionalism.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's fine
Pediatric Cardiology Dietitian (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 June 2017
You'll learn a lot when you work here, but don't expect to advance.
It's a huge corporation, but you stand to learn a lot. You can certainly feel like a number at times.
Pros
Learning
Cons
The unspoken expectation you'll miss your breaks for free
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive place to work, friendly atmosphere
Health Care Aide (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 June 2017
care for patients of all ages with different health issues,
learned to appreciate people
great respect for management
various variety of cultures
leaving work and people i enjoyed helping throughout the day
returning to work and helping those in need of assistance
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All operations are cafeteria style restaurants. Much of the operation/equipment/infrastructure is dated.
Manager Retail Food Services (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 May 2017
Lack of structure, unionized environment which comes with a number of challenges. Staff/Management are a likable group. Financial tracking of performance is lacking,
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Union
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends what area you work in
Counsellor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 May 2017
There are many various departments and each work differently. I have met so many great people. However my specific department was dysfunctional and micro managed
Pros
hours, salary, benefits, co workers
Cons
managers, supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Addictions Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB29 May 2017
Management neglects to consult with front line workers. Job was amazing, clients were great as were coworkers. hours were decent, weekends off and every other Friday off. Supervisor was staff focussed and approachable
Pros
Clientele
Cons
Micro management, lack of consultation
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and beneficial
Nursing Attendant (Current Employee) –  Calgary29 May 2017
Alberta health services is a great place to work to expand your knowledge and education. Good management, good hours, great support systems in place and awesome job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not sure
Home Support Aide (Former Employee) –  Innisfail, AB28 May 2017
long hours
clients are fantastic
coworkers are great
management is not approachable or available half the time
team work
hard on personal vehicles starting and stopping all the time
pay is poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast paced, working with the residents and patients enjoyable
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Wainwright, AB19 May 2017
A typical day at work was very busy, fast paced with a lot of multi tasking with a definite need of team work and communications between co workers and paying attention to details, I learned a lot about the dynamics of working within a hospital atmosphere and everything that working in a bigger kitchen entails.The manager i was working with was very nice and seemed approachable and understanding and takes her job seriously,Unfortunately the workplace culture had become somewhat toxic with a lot of lying and gossip, back stabbing as well as some bullying and belittling from certain co workers for a long period of time with no resolution, nor did i want to make the situation any worse for my self or anyone else, at the same time i was dealing with pretty serious health and family issues which in turn effected me physically, feeling ill and experiencing anxiety attacks to the point where i felt it was best for me to leave the work environment,. Working with some co workers and other hospital staff was great but above all working with the residents and patients was the most enjoyable experience of the job and would like to further myself in that direction with the knowledge, wisdom and experience i have gained from the past situation moving forward.
Pros
pay and benefits are pretty good, interacting with the residents, patients and other hospital employees
Cons
the unfortunate loss of residents, possibilty of working with mean people
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Health Care Aide (Former Employee) –  Morinville, AB17 May 2017
Alberta Health Services are a great group of staff they have a great care team and plans for routine care. the clients are great and interesting stories.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fufilling
Envirronmental service worker 2 (Current Employee) –  Fort saskatchewan AB15 May 2017
It is a great feeling to be part of a team that saves life every day. We also have the oppurtinity to grow as an employe throug courses. The team is also exelant.
Pros
Unionized
Cons
Only casual work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environment
Driver II (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 May 2017
co-workers are really good to work with and management treats you well. The work environment is very friendly and they do actually have a social club that does things
Pros
good environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Recreation Therapist (Current Employee) –  Calgary13 May 2017
A great place to work. This agency offers amazing benefit packages, and salaries are often higher then other organizations. A high level of professionalism is the standard.
Pros
Benefits, good salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxing, easy going and fun
Volunteer Worker (Former Employee) –  High Level, AB10 May 2017
volunteering for the residents is actually alright. it's fun, it keeps you occupied. you can read, make arts and crafts, do activities, listen to the residents stories, talk to them.
Pros
learned new things, met new people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very routine
Secretary I (Former Employee) –  Ponoka, AB7 May 2017
As a secretary with Alberta Health Services you work 8 am - 5 pm.
You are able to utilize your skills in Microsoft office and they offer free upgrading in this.

The hardest part of the job would have been boredom at times, and the most enjoyable was working with other team members.
Pros
Free training and upgrading of skills
Cons
Boredom
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly staff, with a warm and welcoming atmosphere.
HCA in emergency department (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB5 May 2017
My experience with AHS over the past seven years has been overall very positive. I enjoy working for this company, and will continue to work with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of Job
Secretary I at the Edmonton Remand Centre (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 May 2017
A typical day at work would consist of, but are not limited to meetings, taking meeting minutes as well as recruitment of staff and onboarding of new employees for Alberta Health Services in Corrections Health here and at Fort Saskatchewan Correctional Centre. I coordinate and book meetings for the Provincial Manager on and off site as well as assisting the Assistant Health Care Manger and Addictions and Mental Health Manager. I am in the process of learning the billing for AHS here on site. I am a super user in many different programs that are used here on site and I am the go to person for things that go wrong on an ongoing basis within the centre through AHS working closely with the Data Integrity team through AHS.
Pros
Great hours of work
Cons
The environment in which I work in, which can be difficult
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Alberta Health Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 399 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6