Find companies:
Alberta Health Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
65 reviews

Alberta Health Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a ever changing work environment
Program Assistant (Clerk V) (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 5, 2014
Pros: the staff.
Cons: room to grow your skills.
I review AHS as a good place to work. In my present job I have good co-workers who I would enjoy away from work. I have learned to be very flexible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security and a dynamic work environment .
Administrative Support (Current Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: break and lunch time hours flexiable
Cons: your at you desk all day, would be more enjoyable if you could have a stand-up work station
A typical work day is coming in, greeting your team and getting to work on the tasks that need to be done for the day. The Team Lead will also delegate some tasks that my need to be a priority.
Any requested time off, is usually given with appropriate notice.
You can work independently and in a team environment. There is always the possibility to take – more... courses if you are interested as well.
Co-workers are easy to get along with as well. The hardest part of the job is once you do know your job, the learning comes to a stand still, that can be frustrating. Best part of the job, is being able to get out for a lunch time walk, and be still have your lunch at your desk. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EXcellent opportunities for advancement
Casual Staff Nurse, Day Medicine, FMC (Current Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: excellent wage, union representation
Cons: not many interview opportunities despite abundance of open lines
Many jobs in many areas, however, sometimes difficult to even get called for an interview as a lot of internal hiring occurring
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More Work Less Pay
Project Administrator (Current Employee), CalgaryFebruary 5, 2014
When you start the work load is decent but that changes quickly. Your workload will be increased significantly and you will never see a pay increase. Once this job becomes AUPE GSS it will get even worse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It does not seem like work, rather like helping people.
Admitting Clerk (Current Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: working with the public
Cons: i don't think there is a downside to my job.
When I worked at South Calgary Health Centre, I was an Admitting Clerk. I was the second person you saw after being at the Triage Desk. I could take your information in 5 different languages, to best suit your comfort level.
At Sheldon Chumir, I take the messages off the phone and then call the clients back one-by-one. I give them special care because – more... they are old, handicapped, or lonely individuals who have probably not spoken to anyone in days. I listen to their concerns and fill out the referral for equipment or supplies, so that they can have a better quality of life.
The hardest part of any job in the medical profession, is seeing these individuals in pain, knowing all you can do is listen to their concerns.
The most enjoyable part of my job, is when they express their sincerest thanks for my soft manner and proficiency.
I learn something every single day; a new illness, a new way to do my job, a new piece of equipment that I hadn't heard of before. It brings me closer to my co-workers and clients, in a way I can't explain. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive enviroment and great learning opportunity
Contract Analyst - Business Operations, IT (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 26, 2014
AHS was great supporting me right out of high school as I was preparing to head overseas to New Zealand to start my studies in Economics. Fun environment. Team was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AHS is a good company to work for but it is undergoing significant organizational changes
BUSINESS SERVICES MANAGER (Former Employee), CalgaryJanuary 20, 2014
I enjoyed working for AHS, helping to improve healthcare for all Albertans. To be successful here you need a high tolerance for a change filled environment and a willingness to be flexible and change to meet the demands of the business
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient and organized management
Upper GI/Oral-Maxilla, LPN (Current Employee), calgary albertaDecember 24, 2013
Love the company thus far.
I have had no negative accounts thus far. Management is great and I will continue to work for them for as long as I am able to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding place to work
Manager Linen Services, East Central (Current Employee), Ponoka, ABNovember 18, 2013
Pros: ability to contribute to health system
Enjoy working with Support Service. Linen has been a fast pace learning enviorment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 7, 2013
Poor Management
Slow Paced
Not enough work
inefficient
Lack of incentive
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable workplace
Project Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton ABOctober 23, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: bureaucratic
My work varied from day to day providing an outlet for investigations into the projects. I have learned a great deal about financially managing projects, procurement, contracts, change documents and processes. Following processes can become tedious and time consuming especially in attempting to expedite an approval. The most enjoyable part of the day – more... is working with the vendors, teammates and project managers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
While Frontline staff are awesome and take great pride in their work, AHS is a hierarchical and generally dysfunctional organization
RN (Former Employee), Chinook Health RegionOctober 13, 2013
Pros: compensation, benefits, coworkers
Cons: lack of leadership, lack of integrity, lack of care towards staff.
Management and Human Resources say they are about recruitment and retention when in fact they are the cause of attrition. I worked for AHS for 10 years, in several different environments, many were filled with harassment and bullying but little is done even though both AHS, and UNA have policies to deal with it. Managers are not trained in leadership – more... and are often behind the dysfunction. The best manager with the happiest workplace I have worked in was let go because manager butted heads with middle management. They find something that will stick and then run with it, and are not afraid to ruin your reputation and your career.
I miss the people that I worked with and the patients but I do not miss the politics and the manipulation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace is fun
Service Worker (Former Employee), EdmontonOctober 1, 2013
I worked here as a part - time food service worker, Management are great and co - workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place.
Maintenance Worker IV (Current Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 8, 2013
Very interesting work place with one of the best management and co-workers team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am extremely frustrated, disappointed and angry with AHS and how it is functioning and how administration has fostered a style of bullying and fear
Nurse Clinician (Current Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 25, 2013
Pros: can't think of any
Cons: see above
I am so disappointed with the culture of AHS. The bullying that occurs by physicians to RN's RD' working in out patient clinics, staff so paranoid of loosing their jobs they are unwilling to give a few in/out catheters from an Urgent Center to assist an Evacuation Center, staff being laid off but administration continuing to get their bonuses, expenses – more... and large salaries when we at the front line are giving out of out pocket and out own supplies to clients so that our clients are not going without. Wo cares for the people who AHS is suppose to be providing services for-the front line workers-but who gets the benefits and bonuses-upper management and administration-how does this work??? The amount of time and energy that is needed to complete what is necessary to work with our patients is exhausting those of us on the front line but if we don't do it -the physicians are not. This then sets precedent and management expects it continues and provides no support for back up or replacement. There is no balance and burn out is prevelent
No one is winning it appears except those who come in -create chaos-get the big severance pay and get out
I have been in health care since 1985 -I have never seen such a mess nor such frustration and back stabbing fear amongst the employees.
This has to be fixed, the bullying management and heirachy style that been adapted recently needs to stop

I am disappointed and absolutely embarrassed how AHS represented or rather had lack of representation during the Calgary flood. I was involved in the first 3 days at an evacuation centre and AHS representation and guidance was no where and had to be begged for -this should not be. There is so much to be learned from this experience and hope will not happen again. There is so much that can be done to ensure that AHS is right along side CEMA in any disaster withing Calgary – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting, loved working with the elderly.
COOK/FOOD SERVICES AIDE (Former Employee), Brooks, AlbertaAugust 21, 2013
I met a lot of great people, learned a lot about hospital and longterm care. The hardest part for me was when one of our residents passed away after getting to know them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
talking to patients and walking them round
NURSING ATTENDANT (Current Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 21, 2013
Pros: talking with patient (charting)
What i enjoy most about my job is working as a team with my coworker, i also like charting with my patient, while doing this, i discovered that some of them have lots of worries and troubled mind and need to talk to someone at that particular time, they share their life experiences, i tell them about my culture and they feel a lot of relief, sometimes – more... they want to go on a walk, but being new to the environment, they don't know if its right to do so or not, they need company, consolation and someone to tell them they will get better and not worry about the sickness as such., so its like making their day and giving them assurance some cares for them. i love to work as team. the hardest part of the job is when patients family don't appreciate your job and makes you feel you are not giving enough of your profession. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great intro to health and safety
Provincial Safety Advisor (Current Employee), Province of AlbertaAugust 19, 2013
Pros: 9-5, home every night (for the most part)
Cons: minimal upward mobility, limited wage potential
A typical work day for my role involves a combination of paper work, data entry, phone calls and liaisons with various hospital officials from various departments.

One of the things I love about my work is no two days are ever the same. One day may involve the routines I have described, another day may find me working in the field from construction – more... sites to doing hazard assessments or incident investigations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely busy environment.
Assistant to V.P. & Facility Medical Director (Former Employee), Calgary, AlbertaAugust 16, 2013
Enjoyed my job which was varied with different tasks. Multi-tasked all the time with changing priorities. Worked as a team and the co-workers were helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Place To Work
Clerk III- Equipment Planning for SHC (Current Employee), Calgary, AbAugust 12, 2013
Pros: great staff, benefits, and work load
Cons: hard to get permanant postions
Currently in a temporary position. Enjoy the enviroment and the fast pace work loads. Enjoy the members of the team I work with and how the days go by fast with a busy work load.

1 2 3 4