Alberta Health Services Employee Reviews

Found 387 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 July 2017
Need more staff on our unit for the heavy patient load. Not fair to the patients that we feel rushed doing every task and cannot take the time to actually talk and be there for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Clerk IV (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 July 2017
The company had great pay and benefits. Management varied from caring and helpful to absent. You have to ability to move up if you work hard. I got to experience many locations with my position and morale was always pretty high which really makes the workplace pleasant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical RN Position
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 July 2017
Full time position is as you would expect. Lots of hours, good pay but you do lose your life in some ways due to the nature of the shift work and long shifts. Good job overall.
Pros
Good pay, helping people.
Cons
Long hours, shift work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic
Nurse Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sheldon Chumir M Hemodialysis Centre14 July 2017
fast pace type of job on day shifts but very fulfilling, a lot to learn, Management is awesome, very welcoming environment. Some new things to learn is the hardest part but I enjoy learning all the new tasks.
Pros
continuing education
Cons
nothing much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no summary
Maintenance worker III (Current Employee) –  Barrhead, AB5 July 2017
There is things I like about the company but I believe there is a lot of money wasted at the top and not enough put into real man power. Too much time spent on paperwork.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Unit Clerk (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB5 July 2017
Stressful place to work. I found that it can be a lot like a high school with cliques and gossip, lots of linear oppression. I didn't have the backbone for it, really good learning experience though. Long hours, but good wages.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
Administrative Support-Casual (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB30 June 2017
Excellent education programs available
Benefits are good
Job Description is very specific
Staff are very customer service oriented
Patient Family Centred care is the focus
Pros
Job Description is very specific
Cons
Permanent Employment Status-very competitive to reach as a goal
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team environment, large learning curve, fun and interactive
Clerk III (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB26 June 2017
I learned payroll management, nursing and health care aide schedules and how to manage those in a team.

Nursing team and Health Care Aides were a fabulous group of people, which made it easy to come into work each day.

Hardest part of the job was getting to know clients, and having to deal with the emotional side when those may pass or get hurt,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Sr.Consultant /Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 June 2017
A very good company to work for.

Perfect work life balance and management at its best.

Multiple learning opportunities, growth opportunity

Desirable part of the job is the team and projects
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place.
License Practical Nurse (LPN) - Casual (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 June 2017
Flexible hours with the potential to exchange shifts with a coworkers if something important turns up.. Knowledgeable supervisors who are always willing to help out whenever they are asked.
Pros
flexible working staff
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair
Addictions and Mental Health Worker (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 June 2017
Company is overall a good company to work for. The shift work makes for having quite a few days off in a row which is good for work/life balance. Fair salary.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 June 2017
Great place to work. Great management and staff. Supportive environment for growth and educational development. Would highly recommend Alberta Health Services.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hemodialysis nurse
(Hemodialysis SMG, HCH Oncology Outpatients) (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 June 2017
Average workplace culture. very good peer support and mostly good atmosphere to work in. I enjoy working in my current field of nursing. management is adequate. close to work. ono on one patient care.
Pros
community setting is desirable
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place
Secretary IV -Allied Health (Current Employee) –  Slave Lake, AB20 June 2017
Alberta Health Services has been one of my favorite places to work. I have had the opportunity to meet and work with a variety of professionals. We all have one goal and that is patient care!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Medical Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB14 June 2017
Management has pets and like people who bow to them no appreciation of job well done. Work your backside off and still no advancement if you don't play their games
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy to work with the people you get along with.
Nursing Attendant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 June 2017
Typical day at work is working with your colleague for the benefits of the client.
I learned more about behavioural changes of the client.
Management are very supportive to their staff.
Working in the multi-cultural unit, is the way to build a team and unite for the goals of taking care of our client/patient.
Hardest part of the job is when a client/patient passed away.
Most enjoyable part of the job is by the end of the shift and giving report to your colleague.
Pros
Potluck
Cons
Parking problem
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management does not connect with employees
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 June 2017
Work as a pharmacy assistant was always busy, however I feel like my co-workers did not take initiative, and were often rude and complaining. Management took the side of the laziest and most ignorant employees, causing the best employees to quit all within three months of each other (and still continuing).
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with opportunities
Administrative Support (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 June 2017
A productive workplace with many room for advancement
and a very professional work environment. Every personality and skill set is considered when building a team.
Pros
Professional Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to growth
Secretary I/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 June 2017
Good salary, Lack of hierarchy, management is approachable. Big company, so well established policies, procedures and in-house training.

Good learning opportunities and exposure to health environment. Very flexible with working conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depressing work environment
Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 June 2017
A very sick culture and a lack of accountability. Union protects people that have no right taking tax payers money. Definite lack of leadership to change the culture, or improve.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Alberta Health Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 395 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6