Alberta Health Services Employee Reviews

Found 376 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 June 2017
Great place to work. Great management and staff. Supportive environment for growth and educational development. Would highly recommend Alberta Health Services.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place
Secretary IV -Allied Health (Current Employee) –  Slave Lake, AB20 June 2017
Alberta Health Services has been one of my favorite places to work. I have had the opportunity to meet and work with a variety of professionals. We all have one goal and that is patient care!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Medical Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB14 June 2017
Management has pets and like people who bow to them no appreciation of job well done. Work your backside off and still no advancement if you don't play their games
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy to work with the people you get along with.
Nursing Attendant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 June 2017
Typical day at work is working with your colleague for the benefits of the client.
I learned more about behavioural changes of the client.
Management are very supportive to their staff.
Working in the multi-cultural unit, is the way to build a team and unite for the goals of taking care of our client/patient.
Hardest part of the job is when a client/patient passed away.
Most enjoyable part of the job is by the end of the shift and giving report to your colleague.
Pros
Potluck
Cons
Parking problem
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management does not connect with employees
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 June 2017
Work as a pharmacy assistant was always busy, however I feel like my co-workers did not take initiative, and were often rude and complaining. Management took the side of the laziest and most ignorant employees, causing the best employees to quit all within three months of each other (and still continuing).
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with opportunities
Administrative Support (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 June 2017
A productive workplace with many room for advancement
and a very professional work environment. Every personality and skill set is considered when building a team.
Pros
Professional Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to growth
Secretary I/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 June 2017
Good salary, Lack of hierarchy, management is approachable. Big company, so well established policies, procedures and in-house training.

Good learning opportunities and exposure to health environment. Very flexible with working conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depressing work environment
Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 June 2017
A very sick culture and a lack of accountability. Union protects people that have no right taking tax payers money. Definite lack of leadership to change the culture, or improve.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet workplace, productive.
Environmental Services (Current Employee) –  McLennan, AB6 June 2017
I felt very comfortable working here, it is a very nice environment. The work is really easy once you get a hang of it. I learned about how to be more responsible and have better professionalism.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's fine
Pediatric Cardiology Dietitian (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 June 2017
You'll learn a lot when you work here, but don't expect to advance.
It's a huge corporation, but you stand to learn a lot. You can certainly feel like a number at times.
Pros
Learning
Cons
The unspoken expectation you'll miss your breaks for free
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive place to work, friendly atmosphere
Health Care Aide (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 June 2017
care for patients of all ages with different health issues,
learned to appreciate people
great respect for management
various variety of cultures
leaving work and people i enjoyed helping throughout the day
returning to work and helping those in need of assistance
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All operations are cafeteria style restaurants. Much of the operation/equipment/infrastructure is dated.
Manager Retail Food Services (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 May 2017
Lack of structure, unionized environment which comes with a number of challenges. Staff/Management are a likable group. Financial tracking of performance is lacking,
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Union
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends what area you work in
Counsellor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 May 2017
There are many various departments and each work differently. I have met so many great people. However my specific department was dysfunctional and micro managed
Pros
hours, salary, benefits, co workers
Cons
managers, supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Addictions Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB29 May 2017
Management neglects to consult with front line workers. Job was amazing, clients were great as were coworkers. hours were decent, weekends off and every other Friday off. Supervisor was staff focussed and approachable
Pros
Clientele
Cons
Micro management, lack of consultation
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and beneficial
Nursing Attendant (Current Employee) –  Calgary29 May 2017
Alberta health services is a great place to work to expand your knowledge and education. Good management, good hours, great support systems in place and awesome job security
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not sure
Home Support Aide (Former Employee) –  Innisfail, AB28 May 2017
long hours
clients are fantastic
coworkers are great
management is not approachable or available half the time
team work
hard on personal vehicles starting and stopping all the time
pay is poor
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast paced, working with the residents and patients enjoyable
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Wainwright, AB19 May 2017
A typical day at work was very busy, fast paced with a lot of multi tasking with a definite need of team work and communications between co workers and paying attention to details, I learned a lot about the dynamics of working within a hospital atmosphere and everything that working in a bigger kitchen entails.The manager i was working with was very nice and seemed approachable and understanding and takes her job seriously,Unfortunately the workplace culture had become somewhat toxic with a lot of lying and gossip, back stabbing as well as some bullying and belittling from certain co workers for a long period of time with no resolution, nor did i want to make the situation any worse for my self or anyone else, at the same time i was dealing with pretty serious health and family issues which in turn effected me physically, feeling ill and experiencing anxiety attacks to the point where i felt it was best for me to leave the work environment,. Working with some co workers and other hospital staff was great but above all working with the residents and patients was the most enjoyable experience of the job and would like to further myself in that direction with the knowledge, wisdom and experience i have gained from the past situation moving forward.
Pros
pay and benefits are pretty good, interacting with the residents, patients and other hospital employees
Cons
the unfortunate loss of residents, possibilty of working with mean people
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Health Care Aide (Former Employee) –  Morinville, AB17 May 2017
Alberta Health Services are a great group of staff they have a great care team and plans for routine care. the clients are great and interesting stories.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fufilling
Envirronmental service worker 2 (Current Employee) –  Fort saskatchewan AB15 May 2017
It is a great feeling to be part of a team that saves life every day. We also have the oppurtinity to grow as an employe throug courses. The team is also exelant.
Pros
Unionized
Cons
Only casual work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environment
Driver II (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 May 2017
co-workers are really good to work with and management treats you well. The work environment is very friendly and they do actually have a social club that does things
Pros
good environment
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Alberta Health Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 384 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6