Alberta Blue Cross Employee Reviews

Found 32 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs better training
Pharmacy Department (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 7, 2016
Just the worst at training all new staff. People that have been there for years are somehow threatened by people with new ideas or a new vision. Management is a joke. Alberta Blue Cross is not for people that have a vision for the future.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
System Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 1, 2016
Alberta Blue Cross is a good company with many opportunities for growth. The people are amazing and they have many good benefits available to their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place to work!
Customer Service Representative/ Pharmacy Services (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 6, 2016
The new management in the Pharmacy Services Department is awful!

They are now rehiring for this position because everyone wants to leave, instead of hiring new employees they should be looking into hiring new management because the newest manager is terrible.

There is zero work/life balance your life will revolve around your work . It is a good place to work until the economy gets better but you will soon realize once there becomes more job availability you will want to leave!
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs structured training in other departments
Claims Assessor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AlbertaApril 25, 2016
I worked at Alberta Blue Cross and was fired. My termination package states "without prejudice" . Needs more structured training in the other departments. A general training in health services for 2 weeks is not enough. An actual training class for everything one needs to know in their department. Not just a general training and then moving one around to whoever they think can review the work you've done. I had a high job disatisfaction. All in all wish I was more patient enough to have applied for a position in case management. Overall not a bad company to work for. Just needs better structure of training for all departments.
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Training was all over the place
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization, great people
Benefits Resolution Specialist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 24, 2016
Typically, helping people is what I do. I am able to resolve problems that cannot be resolved by other departments or other specialties within my department. Management and coworkers are supportive. The hardest part is having to tell an employee no, due to legal agreements that AHS has with third-party vendors. The most enjoyable part is fulfilling an employee's need when their request does not go against regulations.
Pros
Comfortable workplace
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement and horrible management
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 16, 2016
Management is horrible . They truly do not care about what is going on out on the floor and will completely ignore the fact that they have anything to do with it. A number is what you will always be . Anyone who has gone to hr pretty much ends up fired. Below industry standard for pay. Good hours and good benefits. Pay is average at best. Always behind with the times.
Pros
Co workers and clients
Cons
Management and no career advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stodgy, established company with significant challenges ahead.
Business Analyst II (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJune 30, 2016
Within your given team, you might find excellent co-workers and even excellent low level managers, as there are some truly fine leaders and productive workers within the organization.

However, the talent, education and creativity of the lower level staff are largely stifled, lost, or misdirected by a rigid, older, middle and upper management structure. Pay is below industry standard, and employee engagement is low, with suggestions and expert analysis often ignored by decision makers altogether. Office politics is endemic, and advancing or even surviving within the organization depends heavily on getting in with the right cabal in management. Certain departments are firm no-go areas under toxic senior managers that are openly driving talent out of the organization. Morale can often be very, very poor.

The hardest part of the job was watching a considerable volume of talent and creativity go to waste advancing pet projects that did little to nothing to advance the company or benefit its customers.
Pros
Excellent education budget for staff, lots of social events
Cons
Resistant to change, somewhat old fashioned, firm top down decision making
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Pharmaceutical Representative (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 26, 2016
I love working in this department - not too much stress while still being challenging, friendly co-workers, caring and understanding managers, and great benefits. Great downtown location. Encouraging of new ideas and input. I have no complaints and I don't want to leave.
Pros
Benefits, location, co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work - Quality assurance analyst
Software Test Analyst - Independent Contractor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABDecember 7, 2015
I worked on a major redevelopment project with a vast team of approx 300+.

The company culture was very employee focused and the management respected the employee`s work life balance.

I would work there again
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at.
Casual Mailroom Clerk (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 22, 2016
I love coming to work here, I enjoy the people and the work. A typical day at work consists of sorting mail and sending to various departments; verifying and adding cheques; sorting, batching and collating EFT/cheque payments; and working with mailroom equipment to affix postage and process envelopes for mailing.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Team Support
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 17, 2014
Taking calls to inform people of their Health & Dental Benefits. Every day you learn something from just talking to people. Management provides impeccable work support. The people i work with are very supportive and will help when needed. I believe it's tough always to say NO to someone who needs help with their medications. Last but not least the feeling that you've knowing you helped so many people today.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Life Balance
Team Manager, Contact Centre (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 28, 2014
Alberta Blue Cross is the leader is supplementary health and dental benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes4No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent environment to work with multi cultural people
QA Analyst (Current Employee) –  EdmontonApril 21, 2014
Really worked with mutual coordination with in the team as well as individually eventually used to complete the task working over hours on a typical day
Really got learned to health domain as it was the first time
Management and staff were really awesome in all means
Like i said coworkers were the best once.
Finding unidentified defects was a bit time taking part of my job
with my team i would say.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Contract Experience
Learning and Development Analyst/Trainer (Former Employee) –  EdmontonApril 15, 2015
Short term contract to assist in a software rollout. The project was well managed and resourced.

The project required a blend of consultants and staff. I was impressed with the dedication to quality the staff want for their customers and the positive and calm leadership style of the managers.
Pros
qualified staff
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alberta Blue Cross
Quality Control Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJune 3, 2015
I worked for 15 years for Alberta Blue Cross and overall the experience was a positive one. I worked both in-house and offsite and I have learned some very valuable lessons.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work overall
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 11, 2015
Work atmosphere is terrific. People are the heart of this organization and it shows.
Management is approachable and are committed to the success of each individual as well as the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work life balance was good
Claims Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 13, 2015
the hours and balance with everyday life was good however management turned ovr a lot so there wasn't a lot of structure which led to much confusion
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Acceptance Tester (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABDecember 10, 2014
Relaxed environment, good company culture. Management is not that great to talk about.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place with lots of extra curricular activities throughout the year at ABC
Software Quality Assurance Analyst (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 10, 2013
Overall a very good experience at ABC. Very good management. Offers you lots of scope to learn and grow in this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A relaxed work environment. Very friendly coworkers.
Senior QA Analyst (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 11, 2013
A relaxed work environment. Very friendly coworkers. Varied work tasks. Lots of work to do - several websites as well as an intranet provided no shortage of duties and responsibilities.
Management is truly supportive and friendly. Positive, and almost familial atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3Report

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 33 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
4.0

Alberta Blue Cross Reviews by Location