Alberta Blue Cross Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 27 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs structured training in other departments
Claims Assessor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AlbertaApril 25, 2016
I worked at Alberta Blue Cross and was fired. My termination package states "without prejudice" . Needs more structured training in the other departments. A general training in health services for 2 weeks is not enough. An actual training class for everything one needs to know in their department. Not just a general training and then moving one around to whoever they think can review the work you've done. I had a high job disatisfaction. All in all wish I was more patient enough to have applied for a position in case management. Overall not a bad company to work for. Just needs better structure of training for all departments.
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Training was all over the place
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs better training
Pharmacy Department (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 7, 2016
Just the worst at training all new staff. People that have been there for years are somehow threatened by people with new ideas or a new vision. Management is a joke. Alberta Blue Cross is not for people that have a vision for the future.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
System Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 1, 2016
Alberta Blue Cross is a good company with many opportunities for growth. The people are amazing and they have many good benefits available to their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work - Quality assurance analyst
Software Test Analyst - Independent Contractor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABDecember 7, 2015
I worked on a major redevelopment project with a vast team of approx 300+.

The company culture was very employee focused and the management respected the employee`s work life balance.

I would work there again
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alberta Blue Cross
Quality Control Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJune 3, 2015
I worked for 15 years for Alberta Blue Cross and overall the experience was a positive one. I worked both in-house and offsite and I have learned some very valuable lessons.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Contract Experience
Learning and Development Analyst/Trainer (Former Employee) –  EdmontonApril 15, 2015
Short term contract to assist in a software rollout. The project was well managed and resourced.

The project required a blend of consultants and staff. I was impressed with the dedication to quality the staff want for their customers and the positive and calm leadership style of the managers.
Pros
qualified staff
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work life balance was good
Claims Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 13, 2015
the hours and balance with everyday life was good however management turned ovr a lot so there wasn't a lot of structure which led to much confusion
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work overall
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 11, 2015
Work atmosphere is terrific. People are the heart of this organization and it shows.
Management is approachable and are committed to the success of each individual as well as the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Acceptance Tester (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABDecember 10, 2014
Relaxed environment, good company culture. Management is not that great to talk about.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture, fun atmosphere
QA Analyst (Current Employee) –  ABOctober 28, 2014
Great training program, regular workshops, fun work environment, co-workers are friendly and management is always there to help,
young team very interactive
Pros
free coffee, snacks
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours and work/life balance
Medical claims processor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABOctober 8, 2014
Claims processing
Lack of social with coworkers-cubicles
Pros
free lunches, acknowledgement of employees work history/birthdays/anniversaries
Cons
cubicles for work space
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and very good environment to work in
Procurement and Corporate Services Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AlbertaOctober 2, 2014
Excellent company to work for. Fantastic people and fun environment
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive
Pharmacy Compliance Management Analyst (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 23, 2014
typical day: depends on what your manager schedules you for the day
What i learned: sky is the limit!
hardest part: frusterated providers
most enjoyable: working with different departments and meet new people
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Team Support
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 17, 2014
Taking calls to inform people of their Health & Dental Benefits. Every day you learn something from just talking to people. Management provides impeccable work support. The people i work with are very supportive and will help when needed. I believe it's tough always to say NO to someone who needs help with their medications. Last but not least the feeling that you've knowing you helped so many people today.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place with remote working flexibility
Quality Assurance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 4, 2014
Nice place to work, with a nice team of cooperative staff. Fun filled BBQs in summer and Pot Luck parties all through the year....... Very flexible hours.... I just love to be hired again into the company.
Pros
flexibility to work remotely from my home office
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Systems analyst (Current Employee) –  EdmontonJune 16, 2014
Good place to work. Nice place t start your career .Lots of opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Facility Maintenance (Summer Employment) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 25, 2014
Summer Student position, good experience, spent lots of time maintaining grounds outdoors.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent environment to work with multi cultural people
QA Analyst (Current Employee) –  EdmontonApril 21, 2014
Really worked with mutual coordination with in the team as well as individually eventually used to complete the task working over hours on a typical day
Really got learned to health domain as it was the first time
Management and staff were really awesome in all means
Like i said coworkers were the best once.
Finding unidentified defects was a bit time taking part of my job
with my team i would say.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alberta Blue Cross
Quality Assurance Analyst (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABApril 10, 2014
It is a great place to work and build a career, It is a well maintained organization and has a bottom up management approach. I really enjoy working for Alberta Blue Cross.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Life Balance
Team Manager, Contact Centre (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 28, 2014
Alberta Blue Cross is the leader is supplementary health and dental benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes4No9

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture