Find companies:
AkzoNobel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
46 reviews

AkzoNobel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very-well structured Department, Productive and Organized
Quality Control Analyst (Former Employee), Concord, ONMay 1, 2013
Pros: equality
Cons: nothing
A lot of responsibility given and shows great faith and confidence in every employee
Learned to manage projects and implement new ideas
Equal and fair responsibility for all employees
When I joined as a co-op student, they handed me a big responsibility, where I had to conduct a project.
They trusted me with this project where I was required to invent – more... a new dry cycle method for a effective, efficient and fast drying panel to help increase the productivity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting an fun workplace
Regulatory Affairs Assistant (Former Employee), Birmingham, ENGJuly 3, 2014
Would of been an ideal longer term workplace, however i was covering for someone else, so job security and advancement just wasnt there unfortunately.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice balance between home and life
Human Resource Assistant (Former Employee), Huron, OHJune 24, 2014
Always a new adventure daily, working side by side with a close group of managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a throughly enjoyable year
Industrial Placement Student (Former Employee), Slough, ENGJune 3, 2014
I would arrive at work in the morning and get settled, have a quick catch-up with my colleagues in the office. Breakfast and hot drinks were available, which was always a good start to the day. I'd check for any new e-mails before starting with the work. I may be in the labs, working on formulations or I may be checking products that had been put on – more... weathering trials outside. Usually, once a week I would meet with my manager(s), discuss what I had done that week, and a look forward to what I would do next week. Sometimes I would have meetings with other departments such as marketing to have a discussion on the products.

I learned a great deal about how to effectively manage my time. I was personally working on two projects at the same time, so needed to divide my time accordingly. I needed to be confident in working independently and with other people in the company. I Improved on my presentation and communication skills as I gave presentations each week to my managers and periodically to my department. I learned about different departments and how important sustainability was to the company through seminars that were available.

My managers were always available for me to talk to. We had regular meetings with each other on the work that had been and needed to be done. They were open and honest when giving feedback which was helpful so that I could improve myself as a better scientist.

My co-workers were friendly, willing to give advice. There were a number of activities that I took part in which helped me to get to know more people. For example, 5-a-side football and tennis. The fact that there were a lot of students going through the same experiences as me helped with the pressure of being on placement for a year.

The hardest part of the job was acclimatising to the work. This was my first job in industry, and so I needed to learn fast about what was expected of me. With the help of my managers and co-workers, I was able to handle my work loads.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the interactions that I had with my co-workers. They helped me settle in fast, whether it was about work or personal matters, they were available for advice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed employees high stress
Logistics Clerk, Procurement Agent, Lab Assistant (Former Employee), Pasadena, TXApril 15, 2014
Pros: flexiable hours, close to home
Cons: no consistency
prepared certificate of analysis for all haz mat material shipping out of plant, prepared bill of ladings and federal express shipments. Billed and reconciled shipments to bill customer. purchase raw material for sister plant, I learned sap and lab computer system. Operators were easy to work with and enjoyed working with plant to solve problems. Hardest – more... part of job was lack of support or consistency – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unstable work environment
Admin (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 25, 2014
Constant reorganization and restructuring, employees always feel their jobs are under threat. Consequently there is a lot of back-stabbing and lack of trust. Management is weak, indecisive and out of touch with employees. Most work processes are disorganized and IT support is literally a bad joke.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely people
NE10 0JY - Engineering Administrator (Former Employee), Gateshead, ENGFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: free coffee
Cons: long days
A friendly and safe place to work where people are respected for what they are.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing workplace
Procurement Specialist (Current Employee), chicago, ilJanuary 2, 2014
Fast work environment, deadlines, several projects simitaneously. Changing environment, high expectations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Tamworth, ENGOctober 5, 2013
Since working for the company I have developed my skills and product knowledge greatly.
I have a very good working relationship with all my colleagues including management and staff in other branches of the business.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the satisfaction of knowing you have provided good service and the customer has gone away happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Crewe, ENGSeptember 19, 2013
Worked at my present job for a long time my work colleagues were very nice people and the customers were easy to get on with and very friendly. My typical day at work would be to open up the store and from there on in serve customer and give them advice. Learned how to manage the store and get the best out of my work colleagues. My co workers were very – more... nice people and easy to get on with. Most enjoyable part of my job was meeting customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was a good job i loved it
Order Picker (Former Employee), Carrollton, TXJuly 14, 2013
Pros: good
Cons: nice
akzonobel was a nice place to work at I meet a lot of friends there and every day was good and I learn how to work a computer and how to pick and a lot about paint and yeah the job was not hard but u had work at fast peast
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Automation Specialist
Instrumentation & Automation Specialist (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXJune 29, 2013
Pros: great learning experience
Cons: no clear direction from managment
Utilize broad scope of industry knowledge and dynamic engineering toward performing daily process troubleshooting (e.g. product quality issues, cycle times, cost improvements), including identifying and implementing forward-thinking improvements, designing and developing control systems, handling all configuration and installation of instrumentation; – more... programming; communications; system architecture; human machine interface; human factors engineering; alarm management; trending; historical data; control room / panel arrangements; and automation / instrumentation projects. Expertly troubleshoot and / maintain Delta V DCS control systems, including assisting in developing control schemes, adding new instrumentation, and making changes to existing control systems. Maintain plant drawings (e.g. P&IDs, ISOs), equipment safety information / specifications, testing / inspection plans, and engineering standards. Provide daily support to plant personnel and maintenance teams. Collaborate with production and maintenance personnel to optimize plant instrumentation. Plan projects encompassing PIDs, wiring schematics, panel layouts, project scoping, as-built drawings, wiring, testing, and training – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and oppurtunity for innovations
Junior Quality Based Administrator (Current Employee), Bangalore, KAJune 27, 2013
Pros: free lunch, bus facility
Cons: long distance travel
A typical day of work starts with the ware house management.
Reviewing the consumed materials and comparing the daily consumption with the availability of materials. Raising purchase orders .Responding to customer issues through CRM and preparing the analysis report based and publish it in the global level.

The major things which I learnt about my – more... current job are the skills to maintain the ware house management and raising purchase orders based on the consumption. Skills to know the requirement of the customer and focusing on customer satisfactions.

Management has been very co-operative in giving us opportunity to learn and explore new process and has been supportive in collecting the innovative ideas and implementing the suitable ones.

I have been able to work with a large team of 25 co-workers and also in a sub-team of 5 co-workers. I have been a good asset to the team I have been and also sure i can be the same to the team i work with.

The hardest part of my job is to raise a purchase order for the consumption of materials projecting 6 months consumption.
The challenging part of my job is that to respond to customer issues with solution within 1 day.

The most enjoyable part of the job is that the interaction with the other teams and individuals. Have been given the authority to implement new ideas to improve the process activity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure
Global Project Manager (Current Employee), Slough, UKApril 22, 2013
Secure company, good benefits. Opportunity to travel. Diverse workforce. Global company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Regional Relief Manager (Current Employee), Scotland southApril 1, 2013
Pros: co-workers, hours
Cons: lack of advancement
Good company with good values, good working hours and all co -workers, Only downside is a lack of progression in the company and salary does not reflect the amount of work required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dulux Division UK
Asst Manager (Former Employee), GlasgowFebruary 12, 2013
Pros: retail customers great
Cons: bullying uncaring senior management
Managers are disposable attributes to regional managers as they just dont care about the Store manager at all and feel bullying is acceptable.If you disagree with an opinion or an order to get rid of someone they dont like you can find yourself right out that door tailored to whatever they fancy using.Office administration has to be the hardest over – more... complicated system on earth with folders for folders of unbelievable paper trails.If you value customer service,your integrity and other team members avoid this managerial post if possible it truely was a terrible experience of non training and pain. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong company with worldwide reach
New Business Development Manager (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: employee safety
Cons: little advancment opportunites
A wonderful organziation; provides resources and support for success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AkzoNobel had a variety of paint and sundry products. Marketing and upper-mangement personnel were their weak points in the California region.
Property Services / Commercial Specialist (Former Employee), Los AngelesJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: outside sales
Cons: high healthcare costs for the employee
A typical day for me was to meet with existing customers and make 5-10 "cold calls" on weekly basis. I learned to understand the customers "needs" to be successful. Management was very "weak" in their communication skills with the outside sales reps. My co-workers gave 100 % on a daily basis. The hardest part of the job was to speak with management – more... on a consistent basis. I enjoyed providing solutions to my customers painting needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a good company to work for
Demand & Supply Chain Planner II (Current Employee), Strongsville, OHJanuary 1, 2013
Pros: benefits; meaningful contribution; benefits and compensation; early exits prior to holidays
Cons: average vacation package; management; communication
I really enjoy my co-workers and the compensation and benefits are good. The management structure and communication could be better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Senior Accounts Payable Representative (Current Employee), Bridgewater, NJDecember 24, 2012
Pros: wellness center
Cons: healthcare
The company is good. Accounting work. Co-workers great. Great team to work with.

1 2 3

AkzoNobel Photos