Akamai Technologies Employee Reviews

Showing all 80 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Workplace
Account Payable Specialist (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MA15 June 2016
Nice co-workers
management
Close to MIT and MGH, Heavy work load, International vendors.
JP-Morgan Chase to process manual wires.
Pros
Short Commute
Cons
Sending jobs overseas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
SOC Technician (Former Employee) –  Ft. Lauderdale, FL31 May 2016
Nice people, nice environment, nice place to work overall. Due to company policies I am not allowed to divulge to much information, but again a very nice place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun to work place.
Purchaser (Current Employee) –  Bangalore, Karnataka25 May 2016
A best company to work on. Employee benefits is the main motive. Overall all best place to work. Our Finance team is awesome, manger is too supportive, helps to solve any issues before escalation.
Pros
Employee benefits oriented.
Cons
Mangers need to more open.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Services Development Team
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Bangalore, Karnataka18 May 2016
*Lack of connectivity & Access to Akamai Engineering tools
* Overlapping project Development
* NEW PRODUCT DEVELOPMENT is a bug challenge to convince Engineering
* Service Management seriously lack vision
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Extra hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fu place
Business Analyst & Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Boston, MA17 May 2016
I had a very good experience working . they are a very good company to work for and through my difficult journey of my mother's illness they were very supportive
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really great company
Engineering Manager (Current Employee) –  Santa Clara, CA25 April 2016
Really great company to work for. Excellent place to learn and they are an industry leader and encourage innovation strongly.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing company to work with in this technology space
Account Development Specialist (Current Employee) –  Bangalore, Karnataka12 April 2016
Being a market leader and the company that invented the CDN space 17 years back, the company has amazing benefits for its employees with great culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Security Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bangalore, Karnataka9 April 2016
This is that one company where you learn how Internet really works faster. Amazing technology and good quality of work. Not much of balance between work and life though since i was working in the security operation center.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Sales Operations (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MA30 March 2016
Great place to work. Very easy to get along with everyone and to get involved with the firm. Could use better communication between departments but overall a great place.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good
Marketing/Analyst Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MA22 February 2016
They are a great company, I did a co-op there and wish they hired me full time. Great CEO and Management Team, but from what I have gathered, there isn't much room for career advancement.
Pros
Company culture, work is engaging, work life balance
Cons
Occasional Hiring freezes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company if you're a tech person. Otherwise, look somewhere else
Non-technical position (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MA10 February 2016
Akamai has very hopeful and ideal work culture. They try and try to make you feel awesome about what you do.
But, "try"ing is not enough. Started from a very small and tightly knit group of people, while the ideal is great, does not necessarily translate into the future very well, IMHO. Very little to no talent management. Manager trainings are laughable. Stale, older culture remains within groups and very strong office politics drive the majority. Not sure about other BU's but where I'm in, there's dwindling next generation of workers, which in my humble opinion, is not a good sign, especially when you look at the market now, that there are a plenty of competitors who are trying to do the same as Akamai does.

Growing pain? maybe. But you can't keep continue to have the "pain". You need to learn and adapt to get out of the funk. It seems that senior management is oblivious to what is actually going on below their level.

Great company if you're an engineer. They are treated very well.
Otherwise, there are plenty of other companies that you CAN get treated very well for your non-technical contribution.
Pros
Great people to work with, health care benefits are great. Subsidized commuter cost
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to Work there
Netbackup Administrator (Current Employee) –  Bangalore, KA9 December 2015
It's a Superb product based Company.
It's really nice to work there.
Nice People & Management as well.
I learned lot of good things & skills there.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what I learned
Technical Project Manager/Contract Administrator (Current Employee) –  Ft Lauderdale19 October 2015
Working with cutting edge technology has allowed me to grow as a professional, teammate and increase my personal knowledge. Being able to collaborate with a great team of professional individuals has been a great experience.
Pros
Great place to work, amazing coworkers
Cons
workload, hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work with
QA Engineer (Current Employee) –  Banglore,Karnataka23 September 2015
I increased my skills and knowledge in Testing.It provides good environment for Learning.Management takes care of employees by careerwise. co-workers are very supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FEEL LIKE HOME
Technical Solutions Engineer from 4 (Former Employee) –  Bangalore, KA27 August 2015
Akamai is a fun place to work with good facilities and infrastructure to the employees, the most enjoyable work place with too many eminities
Was this review helpful?Yes22No20Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work in
System Operations Engineer (Former Employee) –  Bangalore, India21 August 2015
Fun work place with supportive management. Not all about the numbers but you personally grow and develop.Decent amount of red tape and politics, but this is expected of a big company. The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside my colleagues and learning from them. The office started to get crowded as the company grew.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most co-operative, hard-working and fun place to work at!
Technical Support, Customer Care (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MA29 July 2015
It has been a wonderful experience working at Akamai. I am so glad that I got a chance to do that. A typical day at work involves a lot of smiling and helping faces, great quality of work and engrossing conversations! The only place where everyone actually cares to know how you're doing.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to learn
WebLogic Administrator (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MD22 July 2015
Dedicated and hard working team. Team members are ready to help and management also. Friendly work environment and result driven employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going
Technical Product Manager (Current Employee) –  Santa Clara, CA21 July 2015
not much scope for advancement
some teams are heavy on politics
internal transfer is never easy .. not teams with great education. just bachelor
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
o Position- Account Receivables Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bangalore, KA19 July 2015
Fun loving, good team, healthy environment, work life balance. In a nutshell, this is a company to be in and work for and to retire from.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 80 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9