Akamai Technologies Employee Reviews

Showing all 63 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really great company
Engineering Manager (Current Employee) –  Santa Clara, CA25 April 2016
Really great company to work for. Excellent place to learn and they are an industry leader and encourage innovation strongly.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work in
System Operations Engineer (Former Employee) –  Bangalore, India21 August 2015
Fun work place with supportive management. Not all about the numbers but you personally grow and develop.Decent amount of red tape and politics, but this is expected of a big company. The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside my colleagues and learning from them. The office started to get crowded as the company grew.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Powerhouse Company with a compelling story
Senior Account Development Executive (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MA5 March 2014
Typical day at work: Plan call schedule. Conduct outbound prospecting activities into targeted accounts in assigned territory using advanced phone/email techniques. Coordinate internal resources to support sales efforts. Work with field sales reps on strategies to penetrate targeted accounts.

What I learned: To have fun competing in a fast paced metrics driven environment. How to use PowerPoint effectively. The art of concise email messaging to C-Level executives. Effectively articulate Akamai solutions to C-Level executives in the context of their businesses.

Management: Seasoned, space defining thought leaders who inspire.

My co-workers: Some of the best people I've ever worked with.

Hardest part of the job: Achieving a consistent level of success against metrics.

Most enjoyable part of the job: Believing in the mission of the company, the problems the technology solves, and that performance is rewarded.
Pros
Performance is rewarded, a culture of collaboration, off-site team events, emphasis on success and a career path.
Cons
Over-emphasis on metrics.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work with
QA Engineer (Current Employee) –  Banglore,Karnataka23 September 2015
I increased my skills and knowledge in Testing.It provides good environment for Learning.Management takes care of employees by careerwise. co-workers are very supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Sales Operations (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MA30 March 2016
Great place to work. Very easy to get along with everyone and to get involved with the firm. Could use better communication between departments but overall a great place.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast growing company with very intelligent employees
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MA19 February 2015
Co-workers: Always friendly and willing to help with questions
Management: Top notch people. Always very busy, but they seem to genuinely care about the satisfaction of their team and the company as a whole.
Typical Day: Includes conference calls with team members & partners around the world and some meetings in the office. The rest of the time is spent working on tasks at my desk.
Pros
Unlimited vacation, ability to work remotely, & the best benefits possible
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going
Technical Product Manager (Current Employee) –  Santa Clara, CA21 July 2015
not much scope for advancement
some teams are heavy on politics
internal transfer is never easy .. not teams with great education. just bachelor
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to Work there
Netbackup Administrator (Current Employee) –  Bangalore, KA9 December 2015
It's a Superb product based Company.
It's really nice to work there.
Nice People & Management as well.
I learned lot of good things & skills there.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, not so great security
Senior Software Engineer - Content Data Networks (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA27 December 2014
Projects are fun and work life balance is great. Very long project times made it a low-stress environment but sometimes difficult to feel like you're getting anything done. Overall a good place to work.
Pros
low-stress, big company benefits, rsu's
Cons
low security, endless meetings, dated technologies
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work/family balance
Technical Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GA15 July 2015
Management is very demanding. Expectation that you work day/night 60+ hrs/week as long as you produce billable hours. Snobbish attitude can be observed of some people that have worked there over 2-3 years. There are great and helpful people and teams, so be careful in your selection and observe.
Cons
No work/family balance
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
Solutions Architect.Performance Evaluation Team (Former Employee) –  Bangalore India18 March 2015
Akamai was my first company and its been a complete honor and privilege to work with few of the finest minds in the world! Though I was a fresher from college I was treated with equal dignity as other lateral hires and my opinions were always respected. I was blessed with a great team which helped my overall development! The support from the higher-ups is also tremendous which helped me in shaping my career at Akamai. It indeed is the best place to work!
Was this review helpful?Yes28No22Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Senior Account Development Executive (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MA9 December 2013
Typical day at work: no micromanagement,allowed to just get results at my own pace.

What I learned: How to prospect into large enterprises. The value of being creative.

Management: Cream of the crop. Industry leading trenders.

Co-workers: Bright, engaged, supportive.

Hardest part of the job: Balancing priorities in the fast paced environment.

Most enjoyable part of the job: Performance is well rewarded.
Pros
Excellent work environment, collaboration and creativity encouraged
Cons
Pace of innovation sometimes collides with practical realities involved with marketing, selling and supporting services.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Company
QA Engineer (Current Employee) –  Bangalore, KA13 March 2014
Great Work life balance.
You can Put your ideas into realities.
All in all a good company.
Pros
Good Salary, Work life balance, Great benefits
Cons
Salary can be high
Was this review helpful?Yes27No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what I learned
Technical Project Manager/Contract Administrator (Current Employee) –  Ft Lauderdale19 October 2015
Working with cutting edge technology has allowed me to grow as a professional, teammate and increase my personal knowledge. Being able to collaborate with a great team of professional individuals has been a great experience.
Pros
Great place to work, amazing coworkers
Cons
workload, hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay
Sales Analyst (Former Employee) –  Bangalore31 January 2013
Good place to learn , Benifts are good which motivates employees
Pros
free food
Cons
long hours, no proper support from management
Was this review helpful?Yes20No21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Company & good work Culture
Network Engineer (Current Employee) –  Bangalore, KA3 November 2014
Akamai is good brand in India. Work culture in Akamai is very cool.
Micro Management is less.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most co-operative, hard-working and fun place to work at!
Technical Support, Customer Care (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MA29 July 2015
It has been a wonderful experience working at Akamai. I am so glad that I got a chance to do that. A typical day at work involves a lot of smiling and helping faces, great quality of work and engrossing conversations! The only place where everyone actually cares to know how you're doing.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
MAJOR ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles16 October 2014
Great company and culture, very exciting technology. Its getting harder for sales folks to make good money here.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Recommended for designer
User Experience Design Contractor (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MA28 August 2013
I was a contractor in the Cambridge office. Now their design team is experiencing a growth pain. It is a good company overall. But not a good time to join their design team for now.
Pros
work life balance
Cons
bad managment
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
Release Engineer Senior (Current Employee) –  bangalore,ka14 February 2015
They pay well but No work life balance, life sucks really.

Get organized Akamai

Day starts crazy and ends as more crzier one
Cons
No work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes20No28Report

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 63 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9