Find companies:
Air Canada
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
111 reviews

Air Canada Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entry level underpaid position
Bilingual Customer Sales and Service Agent (Current Employee), Montréal, QCApril 15, 2014
Pros: the clients
Cons: salary/benefits and job work/life balance
Unfortunately the company pays less than scale for this job. As the schedule is unknown until 2 weeks in advance the job work/life balance is nil. Job security is unclear as the expectations do not meet customer service expectations that I have been taught and chose to adhere to.

The co-workers I came into the company with have a strong work ethic – more... however what we have noticed is that other coworkers (not all but some) have none and do not come close to meeting the customer service the company states it expects to provide to it's clients.

The hardest part of the job is the schedule, as we are open 24hours and the schedules you have to chose from are first come first serve we were left with either overnight schedules or relief schedules, the relief schedules are not confirmed until two weeks before the date which leads to no planning of any kind more than 2 weeks ahead.

The most enjoyable part is dealing with the clients; I enjoy providing the best service I am able to and love the challenge of the system used. A good portion of my co-workers are hardworking and great to learn from. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay with ample downtime
Permanent Part-Time Station Attendant (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 25, 2014
Commute to work can be hard on gas which is not compensated and drive times can sometimes venture over 1HR both ways depending on the Henday. Work requires ability to both work outside in all conditions and the ability to lift heavy objects. Management does it's best to help assist workers in their day to day and work life. Co-Workers can be helpful – more... but also belittling to new recruits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot and enjoyed the travel industry
Customer Sales & Service Agent (Former Employee), Montreal, QuebecMarch 23, 2014
Working in the travel industry never has a dull moment. It was a great place to learn the ins and outs of airlines and about world geography overall. On the downside, the airline industry has so many ups and downs that you never know if you'll have a job from one month to the next.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very little turnover excellent pay and benefits.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 13, 2014
Pros: pay and benefits
Cons: union mentality and management apathy.
The job was very secure and very well paying. The benefits were excellent. The ability to work your schedule was hard but modifying it was very easy. The work day usually went very quick and you were supported and coached readily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe working environment
Station attendant (Former Employee), MississaugaMarch 10, 2014
Air Canada had a very safe work environment. Down to work safety and also security. I learned the importance of time management and also staying on track. The hardest part was getting to know all the different codes and rules around the airport but after awhile it became more easy because of the help of the workers around me. I enjoyed coming to work, – more... meeting and also getting to know new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Bilingual General Sales Agent (Current Employee), TorontoFebruary 22, 2014
 Offer the highest level of customer service while providing customers with information regarding flights, fares, destinations, special offers and other travel products
 Use Air Canada’s in-house reservation system to make new flight reservations or to modify existing bookings
 Provide timely resolution to customer inquiries, including concerns and/or – more... issues to ensure customer satisfaction
 Accurately obtain documents and confirm customer’s personal information for bookings
 Proactively explore and anticipate customer’s future needs by recommending our value-added services and products – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consultant
Station Attendent (Former Employee), Montréal, QCFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: tiring
It was fun working at Air Canada
Travelled a lot.
Gained a lot of experience in providing ramp support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting lots of people and the travelling
Flight Attendant (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: jetlag
As you can imagine, I met so many people, from all over the world! Learnt a lot about different cultures over the years.
A typical day at work - arriving at work, checking your mail, reviewing bulletins , greeting your co-workers, going to aircraft, setting up, preparing for boarding, working onboard during flight.
The hardest part of the job at times – more... was the jet-lag!
Most enjoyable part of the job was the layovers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company to work with
Baggage Handler (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONJanuary 17, 2014
Processing bags and scanning
Loading and unloading from aircrafts.
Sending bags to the carousel for passenger pickup
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best time of my life
Flight Attendant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 12, 2013
Pros: great crews, representing canada
Cons: overnights
I joined just before the US Sept 11 attacks and even survived the scare of SARS and a salary cut due to being under bankruptcy protection as an airline. And still, I am proud and thankful to fly 12 yrs, have the chance to serve and meet people from all over the world was the best learning experience ever.
My co-workers were team members and fun. Working – more... with ladies with over 40 yrs experience was a pleasure and a joy!
There is something about a flight attendant, I guess it's the itchy feet;)
I think my years as an In-charge were those of the most learning, and interpersonal growth. Where I got to lead a team and also learn to follow suit with the captain. I learned a lot working with different individuals all the time, I am very adaptable to different environments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive workplace
Baggage Handler (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONDecember 3, 2013
I enjoyed every minute of working at the airport. Unfortunately, I had to leave due to difficulties in getting a way to work. Very thorough staff and the hardest part of the job was making sure EVERY bag got on the correct flight, but I NEVER let a bag go unattended, every bag I lifted made it on to it's correct flight.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Benfits
Station Attendant (Former Employee), Surrey, BCNovember 29, 2013
Pros: awesome break rooms
Cons: long hours
You can meet alot of great people within this organization that have stories that can go for days. In addition, the flights benefits are awesome because you can fly anywhere half off
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amusing place to work with good benefits
Station Attendant on Ramp (Current Employee), Toronto Pearson AirportNovember 27, 2013
Pros: flying benefits, breaks
Cons: working in rain and snow
A typical day at work consists of offloading and loading aircrafts with cargo and baggage, working with a crew of 3-5 we perform the tasks,
The hardest part has to be working outside in winter, but makes up with the often breaks we get between flights as well as the flight benefits given to us.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pace environment with traveling benefits
Learning Specialist Coordinator (Current Employee), Montréal, QCNovember 16, 2013
Opportunity to move up within the company. Opportunity to learn differenct skills, from selling to customer service, to training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work envirnoment
Station Attendant (Current Employee), TorontoNovember 15, 2013
Flexibility of work scedule. discount air fare. job secuirty and benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at!
Cabin Environment Quality Assurance Manager (Former Employee), Trudeau International Airport, MontrealNovember 14, 2013
Enjoyed very much the daily interaction with the people I worked with, worked for as well as assisting and reaching out to all passengers who were in need of help.

I worked in Customer Service and Cabin Environment Quality Service -
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very vibrant work atmosphere, included on site banking, gym, and cafeteria.
Logistics support agent / storeman (Former Employee), Dorval Qc,November 13, 2013
Pros: company bbq's, thanksgiving, christmas parties and job recognition get together's.
Cons: only one road in and out of the base road - a bit of a traffic jam.
A typical day at work would start by arriving early in order to have a chance to talk with the lead and coworkers in order to catch up on the latest developments from the previous shift. We learned that by helping each other and using the strengths specific to each person the tasks were completed quickly, efficiently and on time. The management relied – more... on us to get the job done and were always there when we needed them. Each of us has their own personality but we can contribute something so that life is never boring. The hardest part of the job is to find out that even though we did our best and did the job right the client was not happy. ( A landing gear was damaged in transit back to the client. A team of mechanics was sent to correct the damage. Yet we lost the client. ) However the most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that you've done your best and the job is done right. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever
Warehouse Inspector,stockkeeper (Former Employee), montreal,qcNovember 8, 2013
Pros: it was all good
Well I worked for them for 34 years and I cannot say anything bad about them,if you can get a job AT AIR CANADA go for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work!
External Consultant ~ Business Analyst (Former Employee), Dorval, QCNovember 6, 2013
Pros: great effort
Cons: red tape
Loved the culture of the management team I was with, a great place to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVED THE RAPPORT WITH COLLEAGUES AND CUSTOMERS
CUSTOMER SALES & SERVICE (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 4, 2013
Pros: the atmosphere of the job
Cons: inconsitant work hours
I STARTED MY DAY NOT ENTIRELY AWARE WHAT WAS IN STORE .THAT WAS THE EXCITING PART.
COMMUNICATING WITH PEOPLE TAUGHT ME EMPATHY FOR OTHERS AND THE NEED TO ACT ACCORDINLY.
WHEN THE WORK LOAD WAS FAST AND FURIOUS I WAS AT A HIGH. ENERGIZED BY THE NEED TO SOLVE AND SATISFY BOTH THE SITUATION AND THE VARIOUS PERSONALITIES.
THE HARDEST PART WAS COMMUNICATING – more... TO CERTAIN STAID OPINIONATED PEOPLE PRIMARILY WIYHIN THE COMPANY. THIS REQUIRING MORE TIME AND PATIENCE RESULTING IN A BETTER UNDERSTANDING. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Air Canada

Air Canada is the flag carrier and largest airline of Canada. The airline, founded in 1936, provides scheduled and charter air – Read more