Find companies:
AIMCO
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
89 reviews

AIMCO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant Company
Property Manager (Former Employee), Rock Hill SCNovember 26, 2013
Pros: great company
Cons: sad to have to evict people from their homes
Taking applications, moving people in and out of the property. I learned many things here and management was great. Co-workers were good and did a good job. Hardest part of the job was having to put people out and most enjoyable part of the job was moving people in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work!
Commercial Leasing Specialist (Former Employee), Denver, CONovember 20, 2013
I really enjoyed my employment at Aimco, I would still be there if life didnt force me to move!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company. I miss working for them
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 31, 2013
Pros: great training, compensation
Cons: high turnover at the corporate level
This was my first leasing job. They provided excellent training for 2 weeks and the commission structure was really great.
I had an awesome property manager
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Receptionist (Former Employee), Los AngelesOctober 30, 2013
Worked here under a year- nothing out of the ordinary. I dont have any complaints about this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Learn
Community Manager (Current Employee), Columbia, MDOctober 29, 2013
I have learned that great team produce excellent results. The most enjoyable time is working with a great team of people to accomplish out finanical goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unproductive
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Alexandria VirginiaOctober 23, 2013
from the time i come in i have 30 to 60 recertifications as well as answer emails, return calls, do home visits, send out notices.i get along well with my co workers the hardest part of the job is not being able to get maintenance issues handled for my tenants in a timely manner the most enjoyable part is being of service to my residents
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly experienced and Likes to share my knowledge with co-works
Leasing Agent (Former Employee), Mesa, AZOctober 14, 2013
Pros: self started
Cons: benifits
A day at work starts out by getting in 15 minutes early to be prepared for the day..

I always need to take notes and ask questions if needed

I look forward to a manager who is willing to share there knowledge with others.And is always available when needed

I will help my co-works in training them on the knowledge that I have available for them

Is – more... when a manger will not help with needed information needed to do the job up to the standards the company sets

I have to say I take joy in knowing that I helped someone out who thought there was no hope of getting things back on track – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Resident Relations Specialist (Current Employee), alexandria, vaOctober 9, 2013
AIMCO is a great place to work. I have learned a great deal from working here. My days are extremely busy and, thus, go by very fast. My managers are all people who I look up to as examples of what I want to grow in this field to be like. I love the fact that nothing is ever the same in this field- everyday, it's a new situation & not mundane. I have – more... been in this field for a few years now and I cannot say there is anything I do not like about it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a caree place, but good stepping stone
Leasing Consultant (Current Employee), Plano, TXSeptember 29, 2013
Average company to work for. Good place to get a temporary job at, but not good for long time careers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible company based on greed
leasing consultant (Former Employee), orlando, flSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: ok hourly rate
Cons: unprofessional co-worker and managers, micro-managed
the property was a dump and highly over priced. the staff, including managers were rude and unprofessional to residents and prospects. DO NOT work there if they want you to be a temp. you will not ever be able to type up a lease (so why are you titled a leasing consultant), are not able to get bonuses-for the apt you lease, and will not be able to process – more... payments. so basically you get them the money and you get nothing in return except a bunch of grief. it's not worth it. i hated the property and the company, but i was happy because i definitely learned what to look for in the future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Professional Services Coordinator (Current Employee), San Jose, CASeptember 11, 2013
Pros: quality and career oriented.
I get to work with families, seniors, and the disabled population that are low income. I am the liaison for them and the community opportunities for them. I am happy working here, but I know that I can further expand what I have accomplished here by moving on to another company and enhance my skills as I also contribute to the new company's goals. AIMCO – more... has been great at providing growth opportunities, and as a company overall. However, I have done everything I can here. I know for a fact that I have more to learn. Growth requires change and I am ready for it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not friendly employees
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee), plainsboro NJSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: discount on rent if live in communities
Cons: low pay long hours
long work hours and not enough pay no benefits because they only hire as temps!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No loyalty
Community Manager (Former Employee), IllinoisAugust 28, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: to long to list
This company have no loyalty to their employees or their residents.
They will use you to do all their dirty work for them and when your done you will be out of there. I should have read all the bad reviews before going to this company. They nickel and dime the residents then send out emails to the employees to tell the residents about all the new charges – more... that they will now pay for, then when all the complaints come in about the company changes they will blame the office then fire them. STAY AWAY!!! you was warned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Bad Experience & Work Environment
Leasing (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 22, 2013
Cons: some co-workers
Very under appreciated for your hard work and dedication. If you are knowledgeable in your responsibilities they treat you horribly. Leadership exudes "do as I say, not as I do" mentality along with gossip and lies about the team members who actually care about their business and want it to improve. Those great people are marked as problem employees – more... instead of heroes. Worse company ever. The true example of political bull in the work place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advanced Company and Smooth Operations
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 20, 2013
Pros: organized, healthcare, very professional
Cons: low compensation
We were trained for a week before starting the job, and knew exactly was was expected. We worked very closely with upper management to ensure success. The company was very large, and had several managers who visited and emailed each office weekly. The company was successful due to a very organized business plan. It was a great company to work for due – more... to required professionalism of each employee, and the overall success of the company. The job was high paced with high expectations, but the positive managers made it very enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern day Slave Masters
Leasing Consultant II (Lazy Hollow Apartments) (Former Employee), Columbia, MDJuly 9, 2013
Pros: paychecks were on time
Cons: 35 hour work week, micro managed, lack of respect for residents and employees, no work/life balance
During my year at AIMCO, I saw 3 regional managers come and go, 3 property managers come and go and 2 assistant property managers leave. That was all in a period of 8 months. The turn over ratio is amazing, I've never worked at a company with such a HIGH turnover. There is a lack of respect for its employee and residents, the company seems to be run – more... by HR. Little to no stability and no real room for growth. I honestly believe AIMCO sets its employees up for failure. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Variety, challenging environment, contact with residents, staff, and vendors
Community Manager (Former Employee), Denver, COJuly 8, 2013
Pros: ability to have pleasant working conditions for all staff.
Cons: can be stressful during rent collection.
Typical day is unpredictable, challenges involve meeting quotas for budgets and company expectations. Resident issues, directing staff for daily schedule, sales/leasing of apartments, working with vendors, paying bills, balancing budgets, planning capital expenditures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AIMCO is a country wide property management
Occupancy Specialist/ Leasing Coordinator (Current Employee), Calabasas, CAJune 29, 2013
Pros: sometimes we have free lunches.
Your schedule can be change any time.
Co-workers are awesome.
Lots of pressure and lots of goals to meet for you to be able to get a bonus.
You learn to work with pressure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aimco was a good Company
Property Manager (Former Employee), Pearsall, TXMay 30, 2013
I left in good standing, but I got a job offer in the Housing Autority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are trying hard to be the best, But many mistakes get made.
Administrative Operations Support (Former Employee), Northern CaliforniaMay 27, 2013
Pros: site teams that really care about the customers, paid volunteer hours 10 per calandar year, lots of paid lunches
Cons: always changing directions and focuses, most people are afraid they may loose thier job, high heathcare pre. and no 401k match offered
Hardest part of the Job is never feeling stable because AIMCO tends to restructure YoY and sometimes QoQ. eliminating positions that never go under valued by Aimco's competitors they are viewed as the life line of the business such as Admin Staff, Assistant Community Managers and HR Managers.

AIMCO runs very lean on staff 100% of the year not just – more... slower seasons. – less

About AIMCO

AIMCO Properties' aim is true. The company is the operating arm of multifamily real estate giant Apartment Investment and Management – Read more