Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Employee Reviews

Showing all 30 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is batter in canada
Agriculture (Former Employee) –  Algerine Shore, NS22 November 2016
A LOVE WORK IN CANADA A HAVE EXPERIONS This topic company produces a local production and inadequate for export but there are no possibilities, means and shortage of labor and the state's refusal to support for the company Astarvi this topic
Pros
Annual output
Cons
14 HOURS
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Laboratory assistant and technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 May 2016
A lot of chances to grow networking, more learning opportunities, will get hands on experience, as a casual if you take leave you will not get any payment.
Pros
hands on eperience
Cons
not good salary for casual workers but still good for experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Human Resources Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 March 2016
I enjoy my job very much!
The people are great the work is fast paced. Its a very driven role where you must learn to multi task and work under pressure at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Gain Experience
Travel Arranger/Admin (Former Employee) –  London, ON7 November 2015
I have worked off and on here for numerous years. It has always been an amazing learning experience, and although I haven't gotten a permanent job as it is difficult to obtain it is always a great place to gain skills.
Pros
stable, set schedule, good pay
Cons
location, lack of public postings
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and challenging
User Support Analyst / Systems Tester (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, Manitoba29 September 2015
Enjoyable for the most part, challenging, constantly changing priorities so flexibility, adaptability, tact and judgement is key.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relax working environment
Research Assistant (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Fredericton, NB24 August 2015
The big plan was assigned at the beginning of each fiscal year, so everybody knows what to do in the coming year.
I learned how to communicate with other person better due to my job requires a lot of cooperation。
The co-workers here are kind, so the working environment is quite comfrotable.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place
mail clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 July 2015
good job security
Monday to Friday
good pension plan
good place for advancement
up to 6 weeks holiday
there is a lot to learn in a days work
Pros
work inside
Cons
really mondain job
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I reported directly to the Chairman. I had control of all operational, budget and database issues.
Acting Registrar (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 June 2015
Very interesting work. Learnt a lot.
Made travel arrangements, schedule.
Updated database as needed.
Wrote operational procedures.
Participated in HR interviews for Agriculture Canada.
Hired personnel.
Interpreted acts and regulations.
Prepared decisions and typed up reasons.
Created a dictionnary of terms for the tribunal.
Pros
Very busy. Learnt new acts and regulations, dealt with customers across Canada.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract work
Java Web Application Developer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 March 2015
• Performed web browser based application testing, bug fixes and development using Java EE, and the Spring and Hibernate web framework within the MyEclipse IDE.
• Organized project schedule using GANTT charts and discussed progress through frequent meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned greenhouse IPM
Visiting Scientist (Former Employee) –  Harrow, ON22 July 2014
It was great environment for learning and prove yourself. I enjoyed my work at research station.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Administrative Assistant (AS-1) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa ON11 June 2014
Scheduled appointments/meetings for Assistant Deputy Minister
Developed, implemented, maintained effective hard copy and electronic tracking/filing system
Proofread and formatted letters and memoranda addressed to senior management
Scheduled domestic and/or international travel and hotel arrangements
Created travel itineraries, travel claims and related information for Assistant Deputy Minister
Ordered and maintained office supplies
Sent faxes using secure and/or regular fax machine
Sent packages via courier and/or diplomatic mail
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wide array of tasks and potential careers paths available, but limited space on team
Geomatics Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 June 2014
Performed a variety of tasks related to the annual Canadian crop inventory map; image rectification, cloud masking, image stacking. Field work also included the instillation of monitoring stations and verification of test sites for satellite images

The team serves as the primary G.I.S. and Remote sensing location for Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada thus the employees work on a wide variety of tasks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and lots of resources to complete tasks
Finance Technician (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 May 2014
My co-workers were very friendly people, willing to answer whatever questions I had while working there. The most enjoyable part of my job was interacting with all of the necessary workers in Finance to complete payment files. My bosses were always friendly to me and made sure I received good training before I started. I learned that it is never a bad thing to ask lots of questions if you don't understand something.
Pros
Easy to get into routine
Cons
Difficult to complete a few of the tasks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Greenhouse Operations Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harrow, ON4 March 2014
New and different experience from the various manual labour jobs I had in the past. This job required more than just labour required paper work and data entry and analysis.
Pros
Great Environment
Cons
Work conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a learning experience
Actuarial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 January 2014
I learned about agriculture insurance and its products. I did a forecasting project on potato yield.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with professional and friendly staff.
Senior Communications Advisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 January 2014
Working for the AAFC was one of my best professional experiences. I felt accomplished, accepted and valued for my education and work habits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best. Job. Ever.
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Summerland, BC16 October 2013
My work involved traversing the Okanagan Basin via government vehicle in order to collect samples, make measurements, take observations and download climate data. Work was performed largely outdoors which was beneficial as the valley truly is geographically breath taking. Other tasks involved research and data analysis using computers, and aiding in fruit harvest associated duties.
Pros
Great people, beautiful geographically, welcoming workplace
Cons
A Small pool of conflicting resources influenced inter-departmental atmospheres
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning about Beans
Bean Breeding Technical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harrow,ON9 October 2013
 Assisted with the technical breeding of various types of beans in order to promote plant growth and ward off pests and diseases
 Observed and recorded greenhouse data
Pros
learning the science
Cons
internship
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Earth Science Data Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 July 2013
Enjoyed my stay there...Very relaxed environment. Co-workers were very amazing!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable friendly atmosphere
Assist producers (Former Employee) –  Regina, sask23 May 2013
Typical day at work was providing customer service on national toll free telephone for federal agriculture programs.
Learned to provide accurate, consistent and up to date information
The hardest part of the job was dealing with sensitive and problem cases
Co-workers were always willing to answer questions and work as a team.
Meeting deadlines and socializing with co-workers
Management always provided informative weeklly meetings
Pros
Good friends
Cons
downtown parking
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 30 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1