Age UK Employee Reviews

Showing all 314 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  DarlingtonFebruary 8, 2016
Pure awsome place to work/volunteer at. Meeting new and different people every day. The part about this job was helping the charity with gaining more items from donations from the general public to sell.
Pros
great feeling
Cons
not enough time in the day
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy meeting people and having a satifying day.
Volunteer Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, Lincs.February 2, 2016
Operating the till at customer checkout, processing card and cash sales using a touch screen till and scanner. This involved providing the highest standard of customer care and service, assisting with enquiries, packing customer shopping and helping in any other area’s needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and good fun
Befriender/Walk from home volunteer (Current Employee) –  Bradford, ENGJanuary 25, 2016
I spend time with clients chatting and going walking, trying to build up their confidence. occasionally doing some cleaning around the home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable workplace
Sunday Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Letchworth, ENGJanuary 25, 2016
A typical day at work varied from shift to shift. I gained independence and confidence through working for Age UK. I mainly worked alongside volunteers who help you have a productive, fun day.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrorific experience
training assistant (Former Employee) –  YorkshireJanuary 22, 2016
horrendous experience, although I learned alot. some staff were outrightly hostile. I was screamed at aggressively in my face by a so -called colleague. I heard another colleague use racist language (this individual delivered sessions on equality and diversity. There was a very toxic energy and fake positivity and a very gossipy culture, Some very devious snr colleagues would pile their work on to assistants, using the excuse they were behind, snowed under and stressed and then would sit in the manager's office for 5 hours (not kidding) laughing, meanwhile assistants getting behind with their own work. I enjoyed the work itself, but working there I realised something was seriously wrong in this particular centre. Oh yes and you were expected to go above and beyond without the relevant quals and experience, oh and staff would speak to each other cruelly and call it banter...just horrible and felt like i was going crazy working there. very cliquey if your face fits kind of place,
Pros
clients
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, engaging and a very descent workplace.
Voluntary General Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leeds, ENGJanuary 19, 2016
A typical day at the Age UK charity shop involved the organisation and replenishing of stock; communicating effectively and warmly with staff and customers; managing the tilt and ensuring that the shop itself was clean and presentable to customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lovely place to work!
Facilities Help Desk Administrator (Former Employee) –  London, ENGJanuary 17, 2016
I have learnt a lot and there is still more to learn. Training and learning on the job is a positive. But I feel some parts of the training needs to be separate rather then at the time of a deadline when mistakes can be made under pressure. Management as a whole need to be open minded and neutral. But I feel my Manager could have been more encouraging. Through my experience the feedback given was meant to be positive but came across as negative and dis-encouraging and confusing to me. I understand constructive feedback is essential and to me balance is key on how you address the information is important regardless. I still think the Company is a great place to work and the spirit was pleasant and yes I would love to go back I miss it the people. I am very blessed and grateful I worked there.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Age UK walk from Home and befriending volunteer (Current Employee) –  Bradford, ENGJanuary 17, 2016
Age UK is a good company to work for but it isn't my dream job, I would like to look after the elderly and people suffering from Dementia in a nursing home environment, I do not regret volunteering for Age UK at all, it's one of the best things I have ever done, it has boosted my confidence so much.
Pros
Working hours that work round you, meeting new people, free events to attend
Cons
The journey to your clients house if you don't drive.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working in charity, but...
assistant manager (Former Employee) –  MerseysideJanuary 16, 2016
The work is great, but I've never encountered so much back stabbing and internal politics in my life from the bottom through to top management. You're not supported by management and suggestions aren't welcome. If you choose to work for them, it's vital that you keep your thoughts to yourself.
Pros
Variety of work. Boredom doesn't exist.
Cons
Internal politics
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and enjoyable
Volunteer Worker (Current Employee) –  Croydon, ENGJanuary 16, 2016
age uk has helped me improve my experience and gained many new skills without them i would not be where i am currently xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Age uk Sunderland
Shop assistant placement (Former Employee) –  Sunderland, ENGJanuary 15, 2016
A typical day would be sorting the clothes out,tagging the clothes and putting on the shop floor. I learnt how to tag the clothes, I got on well with the manager and the co-workers the hardest part of th job was not doing much, The most enjoyable part was sorting the clothes out and tagging them.
Pros
the pros was learning how to tag the clothes
Cons
cons was not doing much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
didnt like it the age uk people who came to see me was telling tails
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  wybournJanuary 14, 2016
went to work 4 times a day all week and weekend for 2 months and it turned out that i wasnt expereniced enough to give out meds
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Age UK volunteer
Voluntary Worker (Former Employee) –  South Tyneside, ENGJanuary 7, 2016
Age UK volunteer staff, put me through training for support work and basic mental health work. Brilliant in supporting staff and co workers, great help with references etc too.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Enjoyable Workplace
Volunteer Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kingston upon Hull, ENGJanuary 5, 2016
Quiet job working in a small charity shop, fun environment and lovely staff and management team, EPOS till use and replenishment of stock, mainly front of house duties.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Employer, Positive and Compassionate
Contact Centre Insurance Arranger (Former Employee) –  AshburtonDecember 4, 2015
Couldn't recommend Age UK more. In the two years I was there I experience kindness and friends for life. Superb management from Supervisors, Line managers, Department managers, Area managers and Directors. Everyone gets to know each other on a first name basis.
Well informed of company updates regardless of what sector or department. Great communication for training opportunities. Positive atmosphere, fantastic benefits from parking and free coffee machines, to BUPA healthcare plans and great pension schemes.
I even had a period of poor health during this time needed a MONTH off sick. This was horrific for me and I was petrified about the possible reaction from my employer but there are not enough superlatives in the dictionary to give credit to how wonderful they were. As an employer they were supportive and listened to my care needs. They were non-judgemental and compassionate in ways I could never have expected. I have made some wonderful friends for life in my time at Age UK and if I had to sum them up as employers in one word it would be Respectful
:)
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none stop work.
manager retail (Current Employee) –  Leicester, ENGDecember 3, 2015
Greedy management poor support. Don't get days off due to lack of staff. They always want more. I've seen managers come and go they never stick it. Head office stinks. All they are interested in are figures.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
age uk
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  England, ARNovember 27, 2015
busy shift i do 9- 5 love working and meeting new faces and welcoming people in the working bussinesses to try an help out or even try a day the hardest part of the job is doing alot of ordering things around and not having time to think if its okay or not but i enjoy and love my volentree work and look folward to everyday
Pros
none
Cons
only 10 mins
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quite bad place to work
General assistant and till operator (Former Employee) –  ScunthorpeNovember 22, 2015
typical day at work was boring especially with no customers
i learned till operation
manager was nice ish
co workers were boring and didn't assist me
hardest part of the job was the amount of customers daily was very low
enjoyable part was using the till
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Charity work
Retail assistant (Former Employee) –  hullNovember 16, 2015
Was just productive working for this charity, working alongside the manager and gaining skills I carry on using today, i.e; people skills, confidence, presentational skills and customer service skills, as well as sales and using a register.
Pros
Productive on daily basis
Cons
can be too busy at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place
volunteer (Current Employee) –  HerefordNovember 5, 2015
it is an excellent enviroment to work in, the staff are fantastic and are always happy to help, always able to have a laugh but get the job done
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 314 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0