Age UK Employee Reviews

Showing all 305 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and enjoyable
Volunteer Worker (Current Employee) –  Croydon, ENGJanuary 16, 2016
age uk has helped me improve my experience and gained many new skills without them i would not be where i am currently xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Age uk Sunderland
Shop assistant placement (Former Employee) –  Sunderland, ENGJanuary 15, 2016
A typical day would be sorting the clothes out,tagging the clothes and putting on the shop floor. I learnt how to tag the clothes, I got on well with the manager and the co-workers the hardest part of th job was not doing much, The most enjoyable part was sorting the clothes out and tagging them.
Pros
the pros was learning how to tag the clothes
Cons
cons was not doing much
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
didnt like it the age uk people who came to see me was telling tails
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  wybournJanuary 14, 2016
went to work 4 times a day all week and weekend for 2 months and it turned out that i wasnt expereniced enough to give out meds
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Age UK volunteer
Voluntary Worker (Former Employee) –  South Tyneside, ENGJanuary 7, 2016
Age UK volunteer staff, put me through training for support work and basic mental health work. Brilliant in supporting staff and co workers, great help with references etc too.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Enjoyable Workplace
Volunteer Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kingston upon Hull, ENGJanuary 5, 2016
Quiet job working in a small charity shop, fun environment and lovely staff and management team, EPOS till use and replenishment of stock, mainly front of house duties.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Employer, Positive and Compassionate
Contact Centre Insurance Arranger (Former Employee) –  AshburtonDecember 4, 2015
Couldn't recommend Age UK more. In the two years I was there I experience kindness and friends for life. Superb management from Supervisors, Line managers, Department managers, Area managers and Directors. Everyone gets to know each other on a first name basis.
Well informed of company updates regardless of what sector or department. Great communication for training opportunities. Positive atmosphere, fantastic benefits from parking and free coffee machines, to BUPA healthcare plans and great pension schemes.
I even had a period of poor health during this time needed a MONTH off sick. This was horrific for me and I was petrified about the possible reaction from my employer but there are not enough superlatives in the dictionary to give credit to how wonderful they were. As an employer they were supportive and listened to my care needs. They were non-judgemental and compassionate in ways I could never have expected. I have made some wonderful friends for life in my time at Age UK and if I had to sum them up as employers in one word it would be Respectful
:)
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none stop work.
manager retail (Current Employee) –  Leicester, ENGDecember 3, 2015
Greedy management poor support. Don't get days off due to lack of staff. They always want more. I've seen managers come and go they never stick it. Head office stinks. All they are interested in are figures.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
age uk
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  England, ARNovember 27, 2015
busy shift i do 9- 5 love working and meeting new faces and welcoming people in the working bussinesses to try an help out or even try a day the hardest part of the job is doing alot of ordering things around and not having time to think if its okay or not but i enjoy and love my volentree work and look folward to everyday
Pros
none
Cons
only 10 mins
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quite bad place to work
General assistant and till operator (Former Employee) –  ScunthorpeNovember 22, 2015
typical day at work was boring especially with no customers
i learned till operation
manager was nice ish
co workers were boring and didn't assist me
hardest part of the job was the amount of customers daily was very low
enjoyable part was using the till
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Charity work
Retail assistant (Former Employee) –  hullNovember 16, 2015
Was just productive working for this charity, working alongside the manager and gaining skills I carry on using today, i.e; people skills, confidence, presentational skills and customer service skills, as well as sales and using a register.
Pros
Productive on daily basis
Cons
can be too busy at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place
volunteer (Current Employee) –  HerefordNovember 5, 2015
it is an excellent enviroment to work in, the staff are fantastic and are always happy to help, always able to have a laugh but get the job done
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and fun
Shop Assistant (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Driffield, ENGOctober 30, 2015
Fun place to gain work experience within a relaxed atmosphere. Customer interaction and management enabled me to learn things about myself, while also improving other aspects of myself that would be beneficial in the workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Productive
volunteer (Former Employee) –  Shepton MalletOctober 30, 2015
Management and are other staff were kind and helpful. I was only a volunteer so i wasn't there that long but the work atmosphere was a nice place to be in. I put out clothes and other items, assisted customers and helped keep it tidy.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplacement
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Sale, ENGOctober 19, 2015
its a very good experience, the staff are polite and the customers are polite too i had a very fun time there. i learnt new skills and i was quick too learn them
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting volunteer work opportunity
Volunteer worker (Former Employee) –  Mansfield, ENGOctober 19, 2015
Typical weekend work would involve working as part of a team to ensure that all of the correct stock was displayed on the shop floor. It allowed me to understand better customer service skills and cooperation skills.
Pros
Suitable breaks
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable and Intimate work place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leicester, ENGOctober 18, 2015
The shop was not the biggest but I found regulars coming into the shop and all were friendly and welcoming with me. A typical day at work consisted of me and the shop manager alternating between the till, and organising clothing into their sections. Aside from the regular routine, I strongly developed the skills needed to quickly satisfy customer demands efficiently and so was often called upon to take charge of the shop whilst the manager ran a few errands in other stores.
Due to the size of the shop there were no major difficulties, however the most enjoyable part of the job was by far, conversing with customers, listening to what they had to say and responding appropriately with an answer that satisfied their needs.
Pros
Met many new people
Cons
Sometimes became a little tedious
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Shop Assistant (Voluntary) (Current Employee) –  Cheltenham, ENGOctober 14, 2015
Great for volunteer work. People were friendly and reasonable and training was given in all areas of the shop.
My time there was pleasant, but now need a salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but can be fun.
Voluntary shop assistant (Former Employee) –  Hemel HempsteadOctober 14, 2015
You can choose which days you want to work and what tasks you want to do.
Customers always come first, items have to be at a good standard
Manager is well organised, fair and firm. She likes to have a laugh now and again. Her bosses are sometimes disorderly or slow and make work difficult for her.
Co workers come and go frequently. They've all been polite and sociable. Some work hard and others are lazy
Working when understaffed
Getting tasks done properly and making sure customers are happy with the service.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good voulenteer job
Volunteer Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  sunderlandOctober 13, 2015
Help out on shop floor by maintaining stock and other items in shop. stock rotate and finally help produce valid stock to bring down to shop floor
Pros
work experience
Cons
can get quite
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
Volunteer Worker (Current Employee) –  ChesterfieldOctober 9, 2015
Productive work place with kind and supportive staff. I tend to make a few mistakes with the till but I'm always trying my best to improve. I learnt a variety of jobs; steaming clothes/textiles, till, stocking up, doing the price tags etc. My co-workers are a friendly bunch of people who are really supportive of me. I always ask my managers or co-workers if I don't know how to do something or what's my next job. The hardest job is when I get a crowd of customers at the till and that I had to try my best to get every customers shopping done. The most enjoyable part is learning new skills from staff and that each week I do different jobs around the shop.
Pros
good atmosphere, kind co-workers
Cons
working in a busy shop
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 305 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture