Age UK Employee Reviews

Showing all 327 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Shop Assistant (Voluntary) (Current Employee) –  Cheltenham, ENGOctober 14, 2015
Great for volunteer work. People were friendly and reasonable and training was given in all areas of the shop.
My time there was pleasant, but now need a salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Stock Assistant (Former Employee) –  North MoretonMay 27, 2016
Age UK ( July 2013 )


Duties included; managing stock, updating work logs, assisting customers, general housekeeping, handling money. I also worked alongside fellow employees to ensure that excellent customer service was maintained as well as working independently. At the end of my time, I was praised on my attitude towards work and commitment to tasks.
Pros
lovely staff
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Retail (Current Employee) –  Ashton-Under-LyneMay 20, 2016
When I first Started to volunteer at Age UK I was taught how to use a till which was my first experience for retail I've also learned about re-stocking items and how the products we sell should look like. My Boss is very friendly and is always working hard to help us with any struggles we have. All of my co workers are very friendly and are helpful towards customers.
Pros
Customer interaction
Cons
Slow Days
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mundane at times
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  BirminghamJune 24, 2016
It was relatively boring at times, this was mostly through the shop not always having customers to help so sometimes there was nothing really to do. Another problem was that they began to teach me how to use a till however halfway through training I was told I was too young to operate a till.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can have a laugh while working with friends
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  WarringtonAugust 31, 2016
I like working with people and being allowed to do what the manager says putting stock out and talking to the customers.And handling cash and using a till.
Pros
FREE TEA AND COFFEE
Cons
THERE IS NOT ANY
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and positive workplace
Volunteer Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  LiverpoolAugust 16, 2016
Flexible, good working environment and I always got on with customers and the staff in the shop. Definitely would have taken on a permanent paid role in the store.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Lack of activity
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Volunteer Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  BirminghamJuly 22, 2016
It's a fun place to work, you get to meet lots of new and fun people. every day is different but that's a good thing. It can be quiet at times but there's always stuff for you to do.
Pros
Fun place to be
Cons
It can get very quiet sometimes.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Independent Living Support Worker (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Royal Tunbridge WellsJuly 5, 2016
Zero hours contracts which do not allow for budgeting and which show a lack of commitment to staff. No supervision by management in a year. High staff turnover
Pros
Some flexibility
Cons
Zero hours contracts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Volunteer Worker (Former Employee) –  HarlowJuly 11, 2016
I am glad I have the experience working in Age UK as I had great fun and was very enjoyable. I wish I could of has more experience and time working at Age UK, but I was more looking at paid employment rather than volunteering.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
volunteer (Former Employee) –  PeterboroughAugust 26, 2016
At AGE UK the environment there helps you be more productive and cheerfuller, I especially liked helping customer in any way I could. working here was a great start to my customer service career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working in charity, but...
assistant manager (Former Employee) –  MerseysideJanuary 16, 2016
The work is great, but I've never encountered so much back stabbing and internal politics in my life from the bottom through to top management. You're not supported by management and suggestions aren't welcome. If you choose to work for them, it's vital that you keep your thoughts to yourself.
Pros
Variety of work. Boredom doesn't exist.
Cons
Internal politics
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  northallertonSeptember 14, 2016
i learned how to steam clothes and how to price items and the manager was very nice and we worked all in agroup and listened to the people in the shop to what stock was needed downstairs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive always working
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Houghton RegisSeptember 12, 2016
sorting out the warehouse and keeping it organised
putting stuff from warehouse on shelfs and keeping everything nice and tidy as well as some till work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good 2 weeks
Work Experience Placement (Former Employee) –  Kingston upon HullAugust 4, 2016
for the 2 weeks i was there it was good i was helped in what i needed help with but also was able to be left to get on with the job in hand independently
Pros
good staff
Cons
it flooded
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ageuk all round
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Folkestone!!March 28, 2013
The job was fun and easy to do, loved meeting new people.
Sorting goods and finding treasure to help raise money.
I was a volunteer for 7 years and loved my job And would still be there but found out that the higher ups are not what they seem?

Along came an awful Manager who decided to bring her friends and
Family in and bully and buy off the other volunteers already there..
things started happening that wasn't suppose to be, so
wrote to the higher ups. But nothing was done about it?
my daughter who was the Assistant Manger there also didn't like how the shop is being run. She also reported it.. Again nothing??
**So in the end of fighting...my daughter decided she couldn't work like that! So had no choice **but to leave**
Pros
meeting people, helping others, finding treasure.
Cons
management don't help. cover-up.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  WirralAugust 1, 2016
They respect all employees and help meet not only what we want but what the customers want aswell. I enjoyed AGE UK. It was really good work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a nice place to volunteer
Voluntary Worker (Former Employee) –  West BromwichApril 25, 2016
I have learnt a lot of stuff about Age UK such as organising Merchandise (DVDs, CDs, clothes and books and toys), cleaning, helping customers with enquires, making refreshments for other volunteers and shifting stock to one place to anther.
Pros
leave at any time you want
Cons
very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and friendly workplace
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  SheffieldJune 6, 2016
Volunteering here was a lovely experience- it was very rewarding and has allowed me to improve my communication skills as well as learning how to use a till and organise stock efficiently.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  HoveAugust 30, 2016
It was good and well structured work place with new things happening day to day. customers and other employees were friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Shop Assistant (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  SolihullJune 8, 2016
I was only here for a short period but I feel i gained a lot of experience as i was behind a till most days and handling cash and meeting new people everyday.
Pros
Fun work place
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 327 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0