Find companies:
Aetna
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
333 reviews

Aetna Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Customer Service Reconciliation (Former Employee), Blue Bell, PAAugust 20, 2014
Not a place I would want to work for again. Co-workers were okay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced with a full work load daily
Benefit Liaison (Former Employee), Arlington, TxAugust 18, 2014
The environment was close-net, we were a team of eight who stuck together to work on each clients case diligently
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with quiet rooms where you could take your breaks
Provider Service Rep/Medicare Member Service Rep (Former Employee), Blue Bell,PAAugust 14, 2014
Pros: employee activities, cafeteria
Cons: pay could have been better
A huge company I worked in the callcenter the info was always up to date and always had the tools to be able to help the healthcare professionals or members we serviced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Underwriter (Former Employee), Hartford, CTAugust 13, 2014
Pros: great support from everyone.
Cons: being downsized.
There were very few days where we did not work as hard as possible. I say this in a good way. The fact that we were so busy made each day fly by. One thing I learned that I try to use every day is that it is important to treat your co-workers as if they were your customer. To remain professional means getting the best from everyone around you. I worked – more... with delightful people from all walks of life and I have many wonderful memories of each person I worked with. The hardest part was trying to keep up with the workload. It never stopped. The best part was the laughter that was shared. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Provider Data Services Analyst (Current Employee), Franklin, TNAugust 12, 2014
Pros: working from home
Cons: lack of accurate communication
The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing that what I do on a daily basis is beneficial to our customers, the hardest part of my job would be not having accurate communication from my supervisor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Dedicated, Determined
Quality Analyst (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 10, 2014
A typical day at work consists of testing application/software, fixing issues that may have came forth through the testing phase with the development team.

I worked with some amazing co-workers that were there to help each other deliver the products in the most effective and efficient way.

Most enjoyable part of the job is being able to work with – more... individuals that are just as dedicated as you are towards the tasks that are granted to you by clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
aetna does not care about veterans or employees in general
short term disability manager (Current Employee), plantation, floridaAugust 4, 2014
Pros: some level of flexible timing depending on leadership
Cons: insurance benefits are horrible, management is sloppy, the aetna wheel only applies to clients, not members of the organization
Aetna is only concerned about your typical beauracracy. With nepotism, cronyism, and favoritism, you'll find that climbing the latter is basically at the mercy of the warm and fuzzies upper management gets when they see your face, unless you're black, then affirmative action supercedes any competency anyone may have. For the record, i was promoted thrice – more... in the 5 years i was there, it just was so unfortunate i saw others suffer, especially those i tried to help that merited the promotion through hard work. They have a dress down policy but discriminate against you when you do. If you are a veteran and have issues, they target and get rid of you. They make inept people managers based on how apathetic you are towards others. In other words, if they find that members of your team like you, they will not choose you for leadership unless you are their drinking buddy. Plantation aetna is a modern day slave ship and the fact that it's in Plantation Florida seems to be rather appropriate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lot's of job opportunity and room for growth
Senior Analysis (Current Employee), Hartford, CTJuly 31, 2014
I love working at Aetna. My team is the best group of people with a variety of skills will and able to share their knowledge and teach me what they know. Couldn't ask for a better place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
Account Manager (Current Employee), Parsippany, NJJuly 31, 2014
Aetna is a great employer to work with. Although the industry is stressful and fast moving, management always makes sure we have fun, are doing well, and can balance our personal and work life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place To Work
Team Lead (Current Employee), PhoenixJuly 30, 2014
good to work here and learned a lot and Looking for the better oppurtunity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High production and quality standards to better service membership required.
Associate Service Center Trainer (Current Employee), Moon Township, PA. 15108July 30, 2014
Pros: wages, benefits and advancement opportunities
Cons: three to four months of required overtime hours during the anual enrollment period
In my current position I work daily creating learning materials for employees and seasonal employee trainings.

I have learned a new program called Adobe Captivate in addition to Power Point and other Coventry/Aetna systems.

My co-workers are focused dedicated employees and offer to assist others at any time.

The most challenging part of my job is – more... being available at a moments notice to train staff. Therefore I strive to keep my training materials up to date.

I love the opportunity to interact with others. I want to share what knowledge I have to help them succeed at their job. I like to share or show employees the resources available to them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More interested in being socially hip
Customer Service (Current Employee), Moon Township, PAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: work at home
Cons: production, don't get time off approved till day before
A company definitely more interested in being liberal with the newest fads socially and the most up to date buzzword ("member centric"). They are outsourcing our department with BPO's from Manilla, Phillipines and Aetna has spent alot of money on this investment. Nobody is safe and you better meet or exceed production. In my dept you can expect a snarky – more... email if they are trailing you while you are in the loo and asking what you have been doing for the past 7.9 minutes. A union would fix these ball busters. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace and productive workplace
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FlJuly 24, 2014
Pros: occasional overtime, gym and cafe located in the building
Cons: scheduling time off way in advance, no separate sick days, not great healthcare options
A typical workday at Aetna as a customer service rep starts at 8:35 by logging into your computer and your phone and begin taking calls until your breaks and lunch and by 5:00 if you're lucky you can log out of your phone and go home. I learned to be efficient in what I do to reach the goal of our set handle time. I've also learned how to handle difficult – more... situations and deal with difficult people. My co-workers are the best part of working at Aetna, they all understand the daily problems that come up and they can relate as well as help out in certain situations. The hardest part of the job is not letting the job get to me, some days can be more stressful than others. The most enjoyable part of the job like I had stated before was my co-workers, they really are the best part of working at Aetna. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced fun place to work.
Medicare Complaint and Appeals Analyst (Current Employee), Blue Bell, PAJuly 20, 2014
Pros: in house cafeterias, flexible work schedules
Cons: short unpaid breaks, employee benefits
I have learned many things while working as a Complaint and Appeal Analyst for Aetna Medicare. Although in my current position there is not too much room for promotion or advancement. There is room to take on new tasks. By being open to taking on new tasks, I have learned a tremendous amount and therefore I have the ability to perform and excel in my – more... position as well as understand the duties of other positions. When I started the position I began as a general complaint and appeal analyst. I did not specialize in any particular areas. However, I soon became a Medicare Part D and Marketing Misrepresentation analyst. I specialized in Medicare Part D and Marketing Misrepresentation complaints. I soon became a subject matter expert in those areas as well as some other areas. I enjoy working with my management team as well as my coworkers because working in complaints can sometimes be hard and we keep each other grounded and in good spirits. We work together to maintain a good work environment. The hardest part of my job is being unable to assist a member with their request. Because I work with Medicare we have to follow federal guidelines and sometimes we cannot complete a member's request because it goes against those guidelines or regulations. The most enjoyable part of the job is leaving a member satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for!!!
MEMBER SERVICES SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJuly 19, 2014
Pros: great work environment, supportive management team, decent pay
Cons: none that i can think of.
I worked for Aetna for over four years and regretted leaving them. Their management style creates a stress-free environment where employees are valued and developed. They are a great company to work for and I would go back in a second.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great health insurer with cutting edge technology and a consumer centric approach
Customer Service Supervisor (Current Employee), Fresno, CAJuly 16, 2014
Aetna is a good company to work for. Management seems to have a clear direction for the company but the executive team may seem to be on different pages. The CEO of the company has set clear expectations for the company's goals and direction as well as future plans. I think the company is moving in the right direction overall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Provider Svc Rep, Inside Sales Agent (Former Employee), Arlington, TXJuly 16, 2014
Pros: advancement opportunity
Cons: healthy living is really wanted/enforced
Training is top notch. they really want you to know everything and give you the tools needed to easily complete your job. Fast paced but manageable. Lots of opportunities to advance or move on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment that keeps you on your toes
Senior Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Allentown, PAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: adequate pto
Cons: high stress
This is a call center position which taught me how to maximize my time management skills. Management standards are met and co-workers are professional. This job requires the ability to resolve complex claim payment disputes using multiple resources to interpret contractual agreements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aetna Review
Customer Service/Claims Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 9, 2014
My overall opinion of the company is simple I have no idea who I really work for. Aetna acquired the company Coventry and as with any acquisition changes are expected but the changes within the company are actually going from bad to worst and before my performance becomes negative because of my dissatisfaction with the company I would rather part. I – more... like helping other but I do not like bias, or dishonesty within leadership. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience with Aetna Insurance.
QM Consultant-LPN (Former Employee), Chicago, IlinoisJuly 5, 2014
I worked as an agency nurse for Aetna Insurance and I enjoyed my work from home position.

1 2 3 4 5

About Aetna

Aetna is about more than just doing a job. This is our opportunity to re-shape health care for America and across the globe. – Read more