Find companies:
Aecon Mining
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

Aecon Mining Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fuel and Lube Technician
Fuel and Lube Technician (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJuly 1, 2013
Pros: aecon gives out rewards monthly for jobs and safety well done
Cons: 15 hour days with shift and driving to and from work
A typical day at work is fueling, greasing and adding oils as needed to all equipment on site. This consists of Haul trucks, 793s, 789s, 777s and articulating rock trucks.Other equipment are excavators, shovels, dozers, graters, and packers. I learned what different oils that each equipment takes. My co-workers are well trained such as myself and do – more... a great job day in and day out and safety is no. 1 with the crew. The hardest part of the job is going to service the 5500 shovel down in the mine in the tar sands as the ground is very soft and lots of congestion with haul trucks, you have to be aware of your surroundings and pay attention. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting different operators on different equipment throughout the mine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good exposure to a wide variety of construction situations
Surveyor (Current Employee), Ft. McMurrayJune 27, 2013
Pros: wide variety of experiences
Cons: large fluctuations in working hours
Aecon mining has a small survey division.
I really enjoy all of my coworkers and our learning experiences working together. Everyone has a sense of humor and a sense of pride in their work. I was trained by several excellent party chiefs and feel confident in my abilities to survey a construction site.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
respectable employer
purchaser (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJune 21, 2013
work involved procurement of all materials for site. co-workers excellent. learned the various aspects of supply management for this environment. management fair to deal with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company ,Great Team Leads
Haulage Truck Driver (Current Employee), Fort Mcmurray , AlbertaApril 29, 2013
Pros: great friends good team work
Cons: long hours
Enjoy the bus rides into work with the coworkers , then we meet in the lunch room for coffee and tool box meeting and line-up for the day ,then we all head out to our equipment where we work safely and look out to each other and report all unsafe acts, potential hazards or near misses and get through each day safely and productively and look forward – more... to the bus ride home were we unwind and joke about the day and make it home to our family safely everyday ! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for.
Quality Control/Engineer (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABApril 8, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: poor pay scale for project coordinators
long working day
learned a lot of different things
most co-workers are nice people
work in the field all the time and being away from home
LOA tax free money
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Mining Department with a bright future
Dispatch operator (Current Employee), Fort McMurraayMarch 1, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: travel to work
I love working here, I would consider staying with this company for remainder of my career. I want a career in Safety, If a safety position comes open to me here, that would be my preferred choice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience on large equipment. 700 link belt, 850 HItachi ex.
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Jansen Mine BHPFebruary 21, 2013
Pros: large equipment
Cons: night shift vs day shift it seems
We would get bussed out too BHP Jansen mine(local). By the end I moved up a few seat postions and had more work experience on larger equipment. Management improved over time! Co-workers werte mainly from the east. Overall good co-workers. Was seperating the good & bad material & flowing at a steady pace with one excavator.could use another excavator – more... or less trucks.Trucks wouldn't pace themselves. Operating an 850 sized excavator. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Project Coordinator (Current Employee), Fort McMurraySeptember 19, 2012
Pros: good work exposure. gained good experience
Cons: trying to be at many places at same time.
- Starts with site visit and meetings with foreman's and superintendent. Check work progress in the field, analyse issues, get into office in second half of the day and work on cost, schedule, project controls, safety issues, Change management, and other management documentation.
- Learns all the field process, areas to increase productivity, Equipment – more... utilization and project management tools and techniques.
- Project Management, Construction management, Supervision and leadership.
- Interact with all kind of skills, trades, with different qualification. From a general Labor to MBA professionals.
- trying to be at many places at same time.
- Get to see all side of business, Involvement in complete process from Estimating to project completion. – less