Aecon Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Technical Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 November 2017
not a bad place to work, one of the best times i had there,
team was great. Management was ok but got worst.

best thing about is providing training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at
Certified Electrician (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB3 October 2017
Great management.
The rules were clear. Fun work area. Praised for a work well done. Long hours if one wanted. Great team work and great foremen. Advantage, was really close to my house
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits, Lots of hours.
Administrator Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 October 2017
Great Benefits and company investment, the departments where I have worked seem under staffed leading to a lot of time spent at work to complete tasks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Bathyne & MacLean Lake5 September 2017
Work was great with them. They were very organized. Great Opportunity. Management worked well with everyone. Food was good and accommodations were clean .
Pros
Great Benefits, Great Management, Great Company
Cons
Working away from my family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Procurement Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 August 2017
Overall average income for the construction industry. Not competitive with O&G. Management culture is loose. They will talk about internal advancement, but, always hire outside the company for top jobs.
Pros
Good training
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moneys not there.
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK9 August 2017
Works not bad, this new fibre division is really messed up for the pay and benefits though,.50cents an hr to pension.... And to find out theres other companies coming on the sites taking half your work at a higher rate is really disheartening.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  toronto, on5 August 2017
Good place to work, good safety cultures. competitive compensation. A lot of training opportunities . Over all a good place to start a career at with a lot of training opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Regional Facility Manager (Current Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON27 July 2017
Fast paced safety orientated
Large volume of work
expanded my knowledge of safety and facility management
large area to cover working for a very large client
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
QA Analyst (Current Employee) –  100 Mile House, BC7 July 2017
so far so good, people are great, salary is really good, could be better but oh well, team is good, hope we get the rosedale job or any other jobs as far as that goes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 April 2017
Decent company to work for....
Decent salary....
Benefits and pension included....
Hours can sometimes be long....
Environment depends on managers....
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Sr.SAP HCM Lead (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 March 2017
Great company to work for, Great company, Great people, Great culture. very professional location, excellent management. It was a great experience get to work with great technology.
Pros
Good Culture
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Electrician Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK15 March 2017
long shifts but well worth it. High emphases on safety, which as an employee matter to me. Conditions were always above average which ment most workers gave 100%
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work place and coworkers
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB25 February 2017
Great place to work, always paid on time good atmosphere. Safety is number one priority. They make sure your comfortable with the task your givin, Great company all around
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 January 2017
Fantastic place to work, enjoyed the work life balance, all the people there were great to work with. Would recommend 100% to work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Espanola, ON27 January 2017
This was a good job where I learned lots from. I would recommend to someone. This is my type of work!! I enjoyed the pay I made while working for Aecon.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Harbour Project is a great place to work.
Pipefitter Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Long Harbour, NL26 January 2017
I started as a 2nd year apprentices on a 10 hour day of 7 days on and 7 days off.I completed the required hour of my apprenticeship but have yet to write Red Seal journeyman.I learned a wide variety of related task such as pumps,piping fab work,maintenance of waste water and drinking water treatment plants,worked on commissioning of same as well as repairs/maintenance and commissions of underground service throughout the Long Harbour site.I had good relations with management and coworkers during the almost four years with Aecon Hardest part of the job was the travel daily to and from work especially during winters but enjoyed all aspects of the job.Most recently working was with KBAC on the LH project and finished in Aug 2016
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aecon Facility Management
Facility Management (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON24 January 2017
I like working for them there Safety program is out-standing.
You learn something new everyday.
Some days would go be slow if there was no work to do
Pros
Grate Manager/Slow Pace to work at.
Cons
to many road blocks to get jobs done
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Steamfitter/Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB18 January 2017
Fair to all workers. Good communication. Good planning of tasks and good selection of tools. Very clean and safe work site.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best companies I have worked for
Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON6 January 2017
Great company to work for wish the job would have lasted longer I loved the work ethics of this company a total rewarding experience
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Didn't last long enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a poorly planned basic job
Steamfitter-Pipefitter @488 (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB3 January 2017
No Toolboxes, hence tools were always scattered in various spots and far away in lay down area. No crane use in budget, so lets pay extra guys to stand around and watch the young guns manually hand rig and transfer the spools in tight areas in a live plant. Never had the right use of manpower on jobs or the right tools. we had to burrow from other contractors because we knew the employees working there to help out our day. Expected high demand but with unorganized work ethic. Camp was not good in terms of food and travel. Overall, stupid. I wont go work for that Super again if I hear he's running another job.
Pros
good wage
Cons
poor project management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aecon Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 40 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
3.7