ADT Security Services

ADT Security Services Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 92 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Soul Crushing Call Center Grind
Call center, dispatch and tech support. (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 23, 2015
* Long hours, little reward for higher performers.

* Extremely harsh sick day policy, coupled with dirty shared work stations and a cramped open concept office.

*Management treats workers with contempt and as an expendable commodity.

*Hardest part of the job is dealing with management, they set constantly shifting goalposts and have often unreasonable expectations.

*Hard to get to know co-workers due to 50% or greater annual turn-over. There are bullies and management favorites that don't have to work as hard and are often off doing unnecessary fringe tasks, chatting or just idling, while the less favored staff pick up their slack.

Save yourself a headache and work somewhere that values their workforce. This place is a meat-grinder.
Cons
unpaid lunch. mechanical noise in break room. no shift rotation.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pitch
Salesperson (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 18, 2015
I work with the whole team. We had to go out the field looking for a customer to Sales our company products to a customers. We promote an Alarm system to a residents and commercial to set up an alarm system to secure
Pros
our owner luches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and engaging work environment
Emergency Dispatch Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABDecember 23, 2014
The line of work is very important because we protect our customers and their properties. The work environment is always very positive and the management is very supportive and always willing to help.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Account Rep Sales & Customer Service (Former Employee) –  TorontoDecember 7, 2014
the only draw back is the base salary very low and in the current economic not a good place for family persons to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working from a queue, measured on stats
Service Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONNovember 21, 2014
While working as a dispatcher for ADT there was no interest in having me trouble shoot issues over the phone that could have lessoned the amount of actual required service visits, they only wanted to get appointments booked, charges confirmed, and the customer off the phone as quickly as possible.

During my year employment I felt more like a robot than a contributing employee.
Pros
pizza lunches from time to time
Cons
bad hours, no option for career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic culture with terrible, unprofessional management
Administrative Processor II (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 4, 2014
Pay is below average, benefits are okay/ standard

Management is paid well and completely out of touch with employees

Inappropriate relationships between management and staff, specifically in Admin department

Frequent workplace bullying

High turnover in Admin (5 people on a staff of 7 were fired this year)

Zero chance for advancement and there is one barely noticeable raise per year, and only one person on the team gets it.
Pros
leaving there is awesome
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Alarm Technician (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 17, 2014
very busy pace -
installations and service.
worked as a team -
having to climb ladders outdoors in the winter.
working as a team and communicating with customers on a regular basis.
Pros
being able to work as a team
Cons
none at this time
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible work environment
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  TorontoOctober 9, 2014
Day consist of visiting clients, discussing their home and or business security needs.
Doing presentations, providing quotations, getting contracts signed.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Install and Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ONJuly 9, 2014
The hardest part was dealing with the disorganization and constant discrepancies in timesheets
Pros
my co-worker was amazing, incredible work ethic
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Emergency Dispatch Operator and Inbound Agent (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 3, 2014
*respond to emergency situations
*customers vary
*management of the company is up to its standards
*colleagues and the environment is conducive for work
*hardest part is dealing with certain types of people
*job itself
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and productive environment
Bilingual Customer Care Representative (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ONMay 28, 2014
Fast pace environmentm, high call volume, typically the same expectations on a day to day basis. Proffesional and friendly staff, great company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to develop learning skills
Director- Finance, Canada (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, OnMay 27, 2014
Always trying to improve process using existing systems which are very user friendly. There is a tonne of opportunity to learn full cycle business and Accounting. Co-workers are very helpful. Compensation is competitive.
Pros
great training ground to develop skills
Cons
long hours some times
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst experience ever
customer service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 28, 2014
the worst I've ever been treated by an employer
1. they play favourites
2. nothing not even 0.1% of the day and night work that's done is appreciated
3. the pay is only a small portion of what is deserved
4. too many expectations eg. calls are marked every week and they time how long your off on a break for example if you're late 2 minutes on a 15 minute break that's a disaster
5. your requests are NEVER taken inyo consideration
6. team managers only card about their own bonus
7. the atmosphere is depressing
8. routine work its like slavery
9. no incentives whatsoever
10. managers up your a** throughout your whole shift
oh yea no holidays off
the list can ho on and on
Pros
only thr benefits
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes14No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fastpaste Environment
Business Analyst - Consultant (Former Employee) –  March, ONMarch 23, 2014
I really enjoyed my work at ADT. I had the autonomy to manage my work as I saw fit and only reported weekly to the program manager.
Pros
lots of empowerment
Cons
insecure environment was company was downsizing
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Bilingual data coordinator (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ONMarch 12, 2014
Working with Mohawk college was great, met many new people was a very people oriented job, loved learning new things in the gym there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Administration Processor (Current Employee) –  calgaryMarch 8, 2014
Management is very nice and down to earth. Treat staff like equals. A lot of the staff have been there long term.
Pros
flexible and understanding, will understand problems
Cons
no growth unless someone leaves
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive days made for fast work days
Alarm Agent (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 5, 2014
Typical day started at 6:00am and ended at 2:00pm
I learned proper phone etiquette, how to communicate effectively with customers and emergency dispatchers.
The management was inconsistent.
I enjoyed working with my co-workers
The hardest part of the job was the start time of 6:00am
The most enjoyable part was being paid weekly and the days went by very fast.
Pros
overtime was available
Cons
early mornings
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NON PRODUCTIVE COMPANY
SALES (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCFebruary 26, 2014
TYPICAL DAY WOULD START WITH A SALES MANAGEMENT CALL THAT TOOK 30 MINUTES DAILY. WE THEN WOULD GO TO OUR FIRST APPOINTMENT OR IF THERE WAS NON WE WOULD HAVE THE CHOICE TO GO DOOR KNOCKING AND HANGING FLYERS OR MAKE COLD CALLS FROM LEADS THAT WERE NOT QUALIFIED.
Pros
free coffee at office
Cons
long hours and louzy wages
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard job with great trainers
Alarm Agent (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABFebruary 19, 2014
ADT is a strict company that expects a lot out of their employees. They have a fantastic training class and help you every step of the way. Only tough part is being on time. If you clock in even 1 minute late you get written up. Three of those in one year leads to termination, which is why their turn-over rate is so high.
Basically, answering calls and contacting the correct authorities for the situation.
Didn't have much time to get to know other employees as they were all handling their own alarms.
Pros
being able to sit and work.
Cons
long days.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Security Monitoring Company. Long hours and long drives, but great place to work!
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BCNovember 8, 2013
Typical day is calling and running appointments either set by the company or set by me.

The work place is very professional. The sales support is excellent, and you represent the best security monitoring company in the world.

The best part is knowing you are helping people get their place secure and at the same time you are making a living out of it!
Pros
you can have your place secured with the best security monitoring system in the world.
Cons
long hours and long drives to different client locations.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 2,192 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2