Acuren Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good crews, camp facilities had a good work out room. and clean dorms.
Scaffolder 1st year Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 December 2017
Would get on the bus to the job site, go to the site trailer get ready head out the door put our cards on the board have our safety/tool box meeting for the day. head out to with the crew I would be assigned to view the scope of the job, write up the safety data sheet, go collect gear if needed, and begin to chain or rope up/down gear. I was able to help with deconstructing, modifying, and constructing scaffold. It was a good job and I really appreciated the time taken by my journey men and management. you were treated fairly and with respect and were part of the time it was a great experience and I look forward to the next challenge.
Pros
free lunches good people
Cons
camp fish day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Manager & NDT Coordinate for Projects
Quality Inspector/Technician (Former Employee) –  CA13 November 2017
Project Manager and NDT Coordination requirements for various on site projects for example Bruce Power Plant, Catholic School Board of Ontario. Keep track of hours, consumables and complete invoicing requirements.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy during shutdowns
Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB1 November 2017
Keeps me working, management could care a lot more, people are good to work with, lots of fly in/fly out. More and more updated equipment would be nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What you learned
Senior Administration (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB28 September 2017
I learned several pipe wear control systems, it was a hard work in the SUNCOR mines but very fun.
I also learned how to handle the extraction plant, so I can understand the systems for the control of pipe wear, which was my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bonne culture
Coordonnatrice - Programme SNT-TC-1A et SST (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC5 August 2017
Faire confiance au personnel Québecois.
Le directeur du moment n'étais pas qualifié et n'avait pas une bonne approche avec les clients et son personnel.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work
NDT Technician, Pickering and Darlington (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 July 2017
Great place to work. Contracts are not the best but the work is straigh foward and relatively easy especially for the money you are paid which is quite high
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leave on a good note and there will always be a job waiting for you.
NDE Inspector (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB14 July 2017
Acuren has always been one of the top contenders in this industry.

As long as you treat the organization well they will treat you well and will always hire you back when your looking for work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Union Company
NDT Technician (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON24 June 2017
Depends on both your active tickets and the type of work currently held by the company to determine where and for how long you may be working unless of course you live locally where more options are available based on outage technician needs.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Up and down work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Union Company
NDT Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB24 June 2017
Depends on both your active tickets and the type of work currently held by the company to determine where and for how long you may be working unless of course you live locally where more options are available based on outage technician needs.
Pros
Great money
Cons
Fort McMuraay camp life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good union company
NDT Technician (Former Employee) –  Ontario24 June 2017
Depends on both your active tickets and the type of work currently held by the company to determine where and for how long you may be working unless of course you live locally where more options are available based on outage technician needs.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Work is up and down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Turnaround Mechanical QA Lead Inspector (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB6 May 2017
Carrying out the day to day inspection requirement's for oil & gas refinery.

Good atmosphere to work in with lots of challenges

Working with others in a friendly environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Paced Work Environment
Quality Manager (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS5 May 2017
Company provides engineering and inspection support to various types of job sites and work scopes, which leads to many opportunities to work with different people in different roles from the various companies that are supported by Acuren's business model.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Inspection Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB15 March 2017
Getting the crew there work assignment for the day task. I would then schedule new work for my crews. I had to attend meeting for future planning of shut down and maintenance.
Pros
greatt beneifits
Cons
Lots of back stabbing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but rewarding
Site Administrator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB2 March 2017
Good, knowledgable employees. Training provided on site and open concept work environment. Extremely busy with days of tight deadlines. Coworkers all supported one another.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, excellent training and opportunity for advancement
Lvl 2 fitter and ice ninja (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB17 February 2017
Not sure why people would complain about Acuren/Rat
Not only were they supportive of me during a difficult family separation, they paid excellent wages,provided training opportunity for me even tho there was little chance I would be able to remain I. Their employee due to my family situation. Pay was easily fixable if you reported to the proper channels.
I did notice that some who were employed were given opportunities were not always qualified to be there.
Some people gripe about the weirdest stuff, this is the oil patch not the cabbage patch. So if they don't pamper you as you feel you deserve then go back to subway.
I maintain my relationship with the Rat team and will be ever thankful for the experience I gained while being in their employ!
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Working with people who feel they should be entitled to more despite having NO experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company
NDT Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 February 2017
Has a very good mix of different age people. Fairly friendly working environment. But seems lost some contract in recent years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acuren review
Quality Control/ Visual Inspections (Former Employee) –  Come by Chance Refinery8 February 2017
Acuren are a great company to work for. As with all inspection companies there is a ebb and flow of work available. I like that Acuren tries to promote within if they can which gives senior inspectors an opportunity to advance.
Pros
Work availability
Cons
Not steady work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horendeous Managment
Director of Operations (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 January 2017
Everything they can do wrong they did. High turnover rate with staff and management. 4 safety managers in less than 3 years. Each one being worse than the previous. Was blatantly lied to on several occasions. Was promised 2x a raise and promotion, then had my wage cut by 1/2 without notification. The VP doesn't have a clue and keeps hiring unqualified, unprofessional staff.
They preach about the "Acuren Family", which is a complete farce.
After my wages are cut, I explain that I cannot agree to the new contract simply because I cannot pay my mortgage with a 50% pay cut. The following day, they treat me like I am being fired and escort me out and have the gall to tell me that I brought this upon myself.
Never have I been treated so poorly by an employer.
I am just scratching the surface with all the bad things that go on there, happy to be gone.

Save yourself the nightmare and find a real company to work with.
Pros
Severely incompetent managment = Comedic Genious
Cons
You name the top 10 reasons why good employees leave
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
emploi valorisant
Inspecteur en essais non-destructifs (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB28 January 2017
Journee de 12 heures dans plusieurs chantier different,j'ai pris beaucoup d'experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Director
Director (Former Employee) –  Alberta6 January 2017
Expect to put in long hours. Your contributions will be acknowledged.
It was an interesting place to work. The future was yours to create.
Pros
anything was possible as long as you could justify it with profit
Cons
long hours 70+ is typical
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Acuren. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 194 reviews
547
462
345
219
121

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture