Find companies:
Actavis
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

Actavis Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if you wish to work 70 hours week with little appreciation
Business Systems Analyst (Current Employee), Parsippany, NJJuly 3, 2014
Pros: free coffee so you can stay awake late at the office
Cons: excessive hours, management, skeleton staff, minimal raises
Since merging with Actavis, work life balance is non-existant. Do not even apply to this company if you can't work 70 hours a week. Management puts extreme pressure for more and more work to get done in less and less time with a smaller and smaller staff. No one has time to assist or train new employees. Now with the Forest merger top management committed – more... to Wall Street that they would achieve a billion a year in synergies (salary reductions). Thus, they are cutting to the bone. If you join now you will be very likely to be cut within six months if you last that long. If you interview ask why the incumbent left. I recommend you avoid this company at all costs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co workers are great, but Managment needs to see when employees are burnt out from working so many hours
Finance (Current Employee), NAJune 28, 2014
Pros: great co workers
Cons: long hours with no compensaton
You start your day early to achieve what you have set out as a goal but as soon as you walk through the door it this rarely happens. So by the end of the day you have achieved your original goal but it is now close to midnight. The employers expectations of the employees are not realistic. If this occurred occasional the employees could handle the odd – more... night of working late, but it is the rare occasion that it does not occur. You can forget about having a family or life. There is no such thing as statutory holidays to spend time with family and friends relaxing, because you get your day off later in the month, this is the norm.
If you are starting out in the work force and would like to gain experience the opportunity is definitely here. But be careful, Actavis's goal is to grow, expand and increase the bottom line which means there are always employee cuts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place I've ever worked.
Quality Training Coordinator (Former Employee), Salt Lake CityJune 19, 2014
Pros: annual performance-based bonus, good people
Cons: overtime can get heavy when launching new products. but the pros definitely outweigh the cons.
I loved working for Actavis. I worked at their Salt Lake City facility for 10 years and would still be there if it hadn't been for a reorganization that caused me to lose my job. The management there are wonderful people. My supervisor was dedicated to developing her employees to become the best they could be. My salary was very competitive and the – more... annual bonuses were wonderful. Everyone there is dedicated to producing a quality product. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good learning experience
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee), Corona, CAJune 9, 2014
I learned a great many things while here at Actavis, plc. In regards to health and safety - I learned about respiratory protection, hearing protection, and PPE in general, and why it is important for management to be proactive in safe procedures for its employees. I learned how a solid dose pill is manufactured and how pharmaceutical companies are constantly – more... expanding/adjusting their sites for process improvement. I have learned good manufacturing practices and why they need to be in place.
Overall my positions here at Actavis, plc has been a positive experience adding to my knowledge base and enhancing my skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and growing company
Vice President Group Financial Planning & Analysis (Former Employee), Parsippany, New JerseyJune 9, 2014
Pros: fast growing
Cons: no specifc cons noted
Good company with great long term prospects. The people are extremely hard working professionals. The Management is strong and very well balanced. I would recommend that anyone interested apply for a position at this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Is Irrelevant
Packaging Operator (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJune 8, 2014
My experience as an employee at Actavis was positive. The length of time I worked her was for five years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was once a good company
elizabeth employee (Current Employee), elizabeth njApril 9, 2014
Pros: used to employ a motivated leadership team.
Cons: long hours, lack of accountability, poor culture.
Although the workload is still similar, since Watson acquired Actavis the general tone and morale of the company has degraded greatly. What was once a long term career opportunity it has become a company of CYA. Employees are no longer empowered to make the right decisions or to manage their own workload/actions. Employees are generally overworked and – more... given little resources to accomplish their jobs, but will ultimately be held accountable if the end result isn't in the company's favor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just like going to work
Material Handler, Line Operator (Former Employee), Elizabeth, NJMarch 29, 2014
I worked overnight and setup the line,bring products to the line.
Got to learn the new machines they put on the lines
The management are not quite friendly and don't know how to talk there employees.
I worked with alot of females so they like to talk alot and drama.
The hardest is listening to these females go at each other.
Trying to help anyone that – more... need help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non motivated/ not a humanfriendly
Quality (Current Employee), Elizabeth,NJMarch 23, 2014
Pros: if you can commit 24/7 as morden slavery
Cons: forget your family life and personal health
Worst place to work.No value of employee/families and safety.
Quantity and numbers are important than human lives and health
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BEWARE of toxic and parasitic work environment
NA (Former Employee), Rockaway, NJMarch 4, 2014
Pros: please see above
Cons: please see above
I have been working at Actavis full-time

Acquirement of Warner Chilcott, Forest Labs and Aptalis within the past 6 months.

Pros – An experience to put on my resume. Learned to avoid companies like this in the future.

Cons – Too many to name - management does not know how to manage anyone, HR ignores the meaning of confidentiality, high turnover due – more... to high dissatisfaction of employees of their management, management instills fear and pretentiousness, no transparent communication, walking on eggshells......

Advice to Senior Management – true colors will shine on your management skills when good people start flocking out the door.

No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compliance manager for product quality.
Manager, Quality Complaint Operations (Current Employee), Corona, CAMarch 1, 2014
Pros: work hard
Supported the product complaint system at Actavis through; leading and managing product complaint investigations, performing data analysis and trending of complaint information to proactively detect signals and take appropriate actions in a timely manner. Subject matter expert in training others in quality process related to post-market product complaints/adverse – more... event associated with Actavis/Watson products in accordance with department policies and procedures as well as applicable FDA and international guidance and regulations – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of employee perks
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Parsippany, NJMarch 1, 2014
Employer provided very good perks for employees, monthly luncheons,offsite holiday parties,beautiful office enviornment,inside and out.Communication between departments was excellent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace, where team playing is an asset
Chargeback Analyst (Former Employee), Morristown, NJJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: when management wasn't stressed, they would spend the morning with saying hello, and then ask about your family members...most times it wasn't superficial, but some were the opposite
Cons: the personable secured workers were extremely nice people to work with.
My typical day at work was enjoyable most times; while being quite stressful other times.

Management was quite stressed out from their workload, and had a tendency of stressing out their workers. The majority of the co-workers were hard workers with a few being slackers; especially if management were their friends.

The uncomfortable part of the job – more... was meeting deadlines that was changed at the last minute, and then once corrected, it would also change again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee), Barnstaple, ENGDecember 30, 2013
very enjoyable place to work, shame I was let go due to low work levels.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work with great positions for advancement
Material Handler (Current Employee), Gurnee, ILDecember 15, 2013
Pros: clean work area and great staff
Cons: short breaks
arriving at work ten minutes early go to my station set up for the work day, make sure my team is ready and know what we have to accomplish for the day. management and security sits and supervises our actions, there really is not a hard part to my position but the most enjoyable is the people i get to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Actavis is a great place to work. Friendly and supportive environment.
Senior Talent Acquisition Consultant (contractor) (Current Employee), Parsippany and North BrunswickDecember 14, 2013
Pros: friendly working environment
Cons: for me....the long commute.
Spent almost two years with Actavis as a Sr. Talent Acquisition Consultant. Great people and great working environment. The company is rapidly growing and has quickly become one of the top employers in the Pharmaceutical industry.
You will work hard in any position at Actavis (as you would with any strong, growing company). However, you will be rewarded – more... with competitive bonuses and advancement opportunities within the company. Actavis has has very strong Global presence as well and this will often create international opportunities for its employees.
The best part about the job is the great people that I had the opportunity to meet with. Always friendly, smiling and supportive.

If you have an opportunity to join Actavis....GO FOR IT! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
packing
Packing Operator (Former Employee), Edison, NJOctober 21, 2013
Pros: its a job
Cons: working harder then others to keep the line running
Set up the machine put the table/ cap in the Hooper then thread the label on the machine for a pre -start then check the line for clearest to run
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field Sales
Medical Sales (Former Employee), Eugene OrOctober 10, 2013
Pros: new name
Cons: territory to large
This was not a good territory and the management poor. I would go on to something else. Salary was low $50,000 and benefits not industry standards. Very Cheap company car which was all the district manager talked about.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
MRF Operator, Operator D/Certified Trainer (Current Employee), Elizabeth, NJOctober 10, 2013
· Responsible for the disassembly, cleaning, set-up, operation, inspection, in-process testing, and
documentation of all MRF processes and equipment in accordance with applicable procedures, Master
Formulas, and cGMP’s.
· Monitors processes and ensures compliance with applicable SOP(s) & Master Formula(s) and all FDA
DEA, and OSHA regulations.
· Ability – more... to understand and operate an assortment of production equipment within each manufacturing
process. Capable of disassembling and assembling area specific production equipment and
troubleshooting processes and equipment related issues to maintain quota.
· Identify, implement, facilitate, and oversee trainings and coaching of operators. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always challenging to get doctors to stop and listen to what you have to say
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Rockland CountyOctober 2, 2013
Pros: the customer is an educated person
Cons: industry is always changing
After selling in the same territory for 25 years it is nice to get the respect from doctors and staff. They want to hear what you have to say and they even listen.

About Actavis

As its name implies, the Actavis U.S. is the US manufacturing and marketing unit of global generics firm Actavis. The company – Read more