ACKLANDS-GRAINGER

ACKLANDS-GRAINGER Employee Reviews in Canada

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work atmosphere
CMS Content Assistant - English (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABApril 28, 2016
Colleagues are very nice as well as the boss. Benefits and salary are great. But demands of the job can be overwhelming. There are many late nights at work especially when there are deadlines to meet.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management with no regard for worker health and safety
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 19, 2016
Lots of talk from Management but no action. Each day is all about hitting the manager's numbers.
Managers say all kinds of clich├ęs about "teamwork" and "safety",
then go close the door to their offices and let everyone figure it out for themselves. If you don't hit your numbers YOU ARE FIRED!
Pros
None
Cons
Unsafe work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management
Warehouse Support (Former Employee) –  Ft.SaskatchewanDecember 23, 2015
Poor management and little regard for safe working procedures.
They talk about wowing the customer but should try wowing the employees.If you hate going to work,this is the place.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BUSY PLACE TO WORK
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABNovember 16, 2015
*GOOD PLACE TO WORK AT ,SAFETY,RESPECT.CARING VERY ORIENTED ENVIROMENT.
*SOMETIMES YOU HAVE MORE HEAVY ORDERS TO PICK
*LEARNED HOW TO OPERATE WAVE
*MANAGEMENT WAS PERFECT AND CARING VERY RESPONSIVE TO ALL YOUR REQUEST
*MOST HARDEST IS WHEN PICKING RUSH ORDERS SINCE IS ON TIMELY MANNER
*WHEN AM ABLE TO FINISHED MY ORDER ON TIME
Pros
FREE COFFEE
Cons
LONG HOURS
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of the best companies i've ever worked for the people were like a second family
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 16, 2015
I loved working at this job unfortunately times got bad husband got laid off and had to make a move but if the opportunity rised again I would love to work for them again.
Pros
employee benifits, pension plan and work incentives
Cons
dusty
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the environment
Inventory Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABNovember 1, 2015
Great place to work great staff
Close to home
Great lunch room
Free dinner when working overtime
Treat Employee's well
Respectful Manager
Good equipment
Patient to teach new people
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unprofessional,and favouritism,lot of stress
manager (Former Employee) –  edmontonSeptember 16, 2015
I havent seen such turnover .if you can suck up then this company for you.if you are hardworker and wana do a job then i am sorry this is not for you.in my short span of time i have seen two top manager went on stress leave.one got fired.one forced to resign and one resign.so if u thinking to join think twice.bcos management are really jerks.excuse my language but no other word came except this.
Cons
full of politics, lack of respect
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hectic work environment,expected to do lot but no appreciation
manager (Former Employee) –  ontarioJuly 12, 2015
not balance work life.Management is sucks.Racism,moving up got to suck up.no advancement if you do not have links in the company.wont recommend to any one.
Cons
long hours, no appreciations
Was this review helpful?Yes17No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
porductive and busy workplace
picker and recieving clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton ABJanuary 2, 2014
picking orders was my first job with Acklands. Then I went into recieving where I would key in stock orders that where coming in as well as looking after inventor. We did cycle counts daily. Later I would help out the Buyers with ordering, and soon became a Buyer myself. When Usiselect took over the buying was sent back to Boucherville and I was sent back to recieving for awhile. I then became a customer service rep and 2 years later a Superviser for the CSR department.
All my coworker and Management are great to work with and have not had any problems with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes43No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job, horrible management
Inventory Associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, OntarioMay 4, 2013
Easy, fast-paced job, good work for summer student at Distribution Centre
Awkward work hours (1:30pm - 10pm) interfere with work/life balance
Co-workers are good people, not a bad job overall
Management is terrible, job advancement solely dependent on how much you suck up to management and how much they like you
Issues of racism and discrimination rampant at this company which is a major reason for high turnover
Pros
free lunches, ice creams, etc.
Cons
bad hours, terrible management, very low job advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes58No21

Overall rating

2.8
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture