Access Research Employee Reviews

Found 64 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place in the heart of downtown
Survey Interviewer (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 November 2016
Your basically conducting surveys for various companies. I like it that you can choose your own hours. The staff are really friendly.. Definitely a great way to start a call center experience and to start a greet career! I would have to say that sometimes their team of staff are unorganized, but that's sometimes normal in a company. Everyone is so respectful towards each other weather is your race your culture or your language that you speak!
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
Not organized and cut hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent but boring
Phone interviewer/Spell Checker (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 July 2016
Great flexibility for those who need time for themselves. I recommend this job to students in university and college since they can schedule work whenever they'd like.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Long hours sitting at a desk repeating surveys
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh....its ok for a first call centre job
Market Researcher (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 August 2016
this was my first job so i didnt have much expectations... but overall it wasnt all that good of a job. ALOT of teenagers like myself at the time were hired and work was always so packed. they cancelled shifts alot and frankly i didnt care because i was young and didnt need the money yet. overall, the job was easy enough for anybody to learn.
Pros
flexible (can make your own schedule), easy job
Cons
too many teenagers who didnt know how to mind their own business, frequently canceled shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast- paced environment
Floor monitor (supervisor) (Current Employee) –  180 blood street west11 April 2016
I learned how to manage my time with all my reports and also balanced university and a full time job (30+ hours per week).
My coworkers are my favourite part of work. They're kind, caring, extremely passionate and very helpful and i really enjoy working with them. The call centre is very fast paced and so there is a lot of stress and changes but you get used to it.
Pros
paid breaks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A dreadful way to earn a pay
Telephone Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 May 2016
Unless you like extremely repetitive tasks and filling quotas, this job may not be for you.

Access is incredible specific about what they require of their employees. As an interviewer they provide training and briefing notes for each survey you'll conduct and almost all projects require that you read their script word for word. You also have to do whatever you can to keep respondents on the call. Failure to do so will result in having to speak with monitors, getting notes/warnings on your profile, and receiving fewer shifts.

On the other hand, this job is great in theory because its super easy to learn and you can make your own schedule. You can even get away with not booking a shift for up to 30 days.
Pros
You can make your schedule
Cons
Shifts are not always guaranteed
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and friendly place to work
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  downtown toronto14 October 2016
Its usually busy and the managers are so friendly, the co-workers are also very nice and we are like one big family, the hardest part of the job is multi- tasking when we are understaffed but I always see it as a practice to multi task
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty bad work place
Call Centre Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 September 2016
So this is how it all starts, you apply, typically get the job, do an online interview where you are asked to read a script and answer some general interview questions (the only asked me 3). Once you get the job (which you'll pretty much 100% get), you get paid training which is nice, but this is where it all breaks loose. Management is horrible and rude, I will not name any specific people but a lot of them are horrendously rude. There's about 20 monitors/supervisors, only about 2-3 them are actually nice while the rest are just horrible If you don't get the right amount of completes per project for example 2 completes per hour, they will send you home for being"unproductive" which is pretty rude because not everyone who answers their phone is going to want to participate in a survey. Now this is where I personally lost it, you are paid bi-weekly, but I don't understand why they call it Bi-weekly if technically it's actually every three weeks. You have to wait 5 business days after the pay period, so for example pay period September 1-15 2016, your actually getting paid 5 business days after the 15th, which would be like the 22nd of September, AND you have to pick up a check, so it isn't direct deposit. You gotta drive or take transit all the way to the workplace to get your check. Lastly, you get notes written down for petty things, walking in 2-3 minutes late "Note!", not getting the right amount of completes? "note!" (for being unproductive) Oh and one last thing, the only thing i liked about this place was you choose your schedule so its not that bad for a first time  more... job. I'd say if your in high school or elderly, well just go for it, but i am done with this company.
edit------->
forgot to talk about the actual Job haha, typical day a work is you enter, sign in, sit down and read scripts all day calling people. co workers were really nice. Most enjoyable part was leaving the job (after shift and actually quitting) and hardest part was meeting their impossible quotas.
  less
Pros
Make your own schedule (still a bad job) and simple straight forward job
Cons
my whole review is about the cons just read it if your considering this job
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for students but not stable at all
Telephone Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 June 2016
As a student, the shift times are great as I can work whenever I want but they can cancel you randomly at any time. I have not been able to get even one shift for more than 3 months. The pay is good though and mostly everyone there is very nice. It's right near the St. George station as well which is very helpful.
Pros
Shift hour options, good pay
Cons
Being yelled at on the phone, shift cancellations
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
opinion
Call Centre Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 October 2016
Flexible schedule. There's always an issue with payment. The payday is five business days after every two weeks at 4:30pm. Moreover, the bank will mail your cheque back stating NSF.
Pros
Nothing.
Cons
Payment issues
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pathetic Job for pathetic people
Call Centre Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 April 2016
if you are a student desperately looking for a job then i guess this right for you. but don't expect anything good from it. your lunch is not paid, you get to pick your own schedule but they cancel your shifts, low payment and ridiculous warnings that can make you terminated. it densest give you any experience. you just sit on a computer for 5 to 10 hours. access research is a job strictly for the youngsters.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
cancel shifts, warnings, short lunch breaks, low payment
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Phone Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 June 2016
- The place is always busy
- Not enough hours
- The service often shuts down
- Computers often froze
- Able to choose own hours
- Short breaks
- Learned how to deal with clients
- Learned to work in a fast-paced environment
- Had to meet a certain quota
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Market Research Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 June 2016
A typical day at work includes talking with customers and answering inquiries by clarifying desired information; researching, locating, and providing information.
Pros
Easy, fun and interesting
Cons
You're sitting all day
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Market Research Analyst/ Call Center Agent (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 February 2016
Great working environment, Loved working for Lanco. Learnt a great deal of work and work ethics. Very strong and efficient management.
Good communication between Management and Employees.
Pros
Great working Environment
Cons
No Cons
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work in an office environment
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 May 2016
A typical day consisted of making around 50 automated calls and doing surveys. I had to mention specifically this is a survey and i am not trying to sell or solicit anything. I would do surveys for various companies like Telus, Centennial college, Humber college, Polls and etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company specialises in polls such as Political and Customer Service reviews.
Telephone Interviewer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 March 2016
Employees set their own work hours. Some skills required are adaptability, curtsey, and the ability to keep the Interview on topic.
The good thing about the job is being constantly busy. The hardest part of the job is the upset and not always kind Interviewees. The enjoyable part of the job is completing a difficult interview that you thought might not happen.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just another McJob working for an exploitative multi national corporation
Telephone Interviewer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 October 2015
A division of Forum Research Access Research is one of the many companies that was gobbled up by Forum and is now one of the many company names that they still use on the call room floor.

Their deceptive business practices are part of their corporate culture of misinformation and these include human resources, the payroll department and most of the supervisory and administrative staff.

Getting a record of employment proved to be a big obstacle for them and I had to get the Ontario Labour Board after them to do so. ON TWO DIFFERENT OCCASIONS.
Pros
none
Cons
crowded call centre, poor ventilation, inept and incapable supervisory staff
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is based on productivity , efficient no management skills are required , requires only communication skills
Customer Relationship Agent (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 January 2016
Work is based on productivity and efficciency. No management skills are required , requires only communication skills. Monotonous work and less of experience .Groth is slow .
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good first job with mix of different cultures
interviewer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 January 2016
a typical day would include going to work and signing, finding your seat, logging into the computer and waiting for your shift to start so you can start making calls. the hardest part of the job was trying to get respondents to complete the survey because no one had time to, the most enjoyable part was talking to people who actually liked their job, or program or telephone company, whatever survey we were working on. co-workers were really friendly made a lot of friends.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
no shifts available when there are no projects to work on
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Phone Interviewer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 April 2016
Flexible but not many hours are available. Its okay, you just have to be patient.Hardest part is rude people on the phone.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Low volume of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work is fun and challenging
TELEPHONE INTERVIEWER (Current Employee) –  180 bloor west27 March 2016
this is very challenging and communication skill based job. talking with different types of people and gathering different types of experiences everyday.
Pros
minimum 15 mins break
Cons
working scheduling done by employee
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 65 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.2

Access Research Reviews by Location