Find companies:
Abercrombie & Fitch
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
661 reviews

Abercrombie & Fitch Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and cool place to work
Retail Assistant (Former Employee), westfield stratfordJune 23, 2014
I was a member of a highly effective sales team tasked with the responsibility of meeting set monthly targets coupled with achieving the highest customer satisfaction. As a member of a retail sales team, I was responsible to responding to customer queries and ensuring that we have above 80% of repeat customers.

Major accomplishments include:

 Developed – more... excellent communicating skills to relative with very diverse customers
 Delivered on placing order for diminished merchandise in an effective way and was always on schedule
 Continuously led process improvement to maintain store presentation and attract repeat and new customer
 Drove strategic initiatives to identify and resolve customer queries – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abercrombie & Fitch Co. provides a great entry level position for recent graduates.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Johnson City, TNJune 23, 2014
Abercrombie & Fitch Co. helps you acquire essential management and ethical skills. The hardest part of the job, for me, was the hiring process that we were required to follow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slightly unorganized and hard to get along with current employees as a new employee entering.
Impact (Former Employee), Cherry Hill, NJJune 18, 2014
Pros: kept me busy
Cons: pay rate was low.
A typical day at work for me was uncomfortable, to me it seemed hard to fit in. I did learn a lot about retail in the short time that I worked there. Management was alright, I didn't get a chance to really get to know everyone individually and that goes for the co-workers too. The hardest part about the job was working the seasonal hours. The most enjoyable – more... part is that I was able to get my duties done and had the retail experience for jobs that I would apply for in the future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a dream job
Impact Processor (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJune 17, 2014
The hours are not consistent. Barely any work to do. Very prejudice about appearance in the hiring process. Management ma trick you into buying uncomfortable clothing. The wage is minimum. It's not the ideal job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team oriented
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Orland Park, ILJune 16, 2014
Cons: short breaks, no hours scheduled, favortism
Had a bad experience, barely received any hours. Managers at the time showed favoritism. Certain rules weren't enforced store wide. Co-workers were fun and open however.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complicated
Part-time Impact (Former Employee), CTJune 14, 2014
Pros: free candy and always smelling good
Cons: barely any hours. terrible pay
The hours for the job were terrible. Abercrombie has no quota for how many people they hire so they hire a ton of people and give slim to none hours to employees. The pay is terrible ( minimum wage) and the work can be a little stressful but overall, the work environment is great. The managers are young and relate able and are very chill but serious – more... at the same time. Hearing from other employees at other branches, managers at either Abercrombie, Hollister, or Gilly Hicks are very laid back and if you're on their being on their good side you'll get sooo many hours. My co-workers were ehh. The ones who had worked their since their diapers were big no- it alls because but some were extremely nice and helpful but eventually everyone becomes chill with one another. The hardest part had to be the time I had to complete stock room maintenance but with good time management everything was steady. I learned to do my job as smoothly as possibly and be extremely flexible and ready to stop in the middle of doing something to go and help a customer while also notleaving a room= multi-tasking to the max. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Stock Person (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 13, 2014
Good job to earn extra income. Flexible schedule and offers benefits packages for part-time employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Overnight Associate (Current Employee), London, ENGJune 12, 2014
Pros: attractive salary rate per hour and easy work
Cons: short shifts, less hours provided in a week, favoritism on its extreme
i have really good working experience here, met new people and everyone is really friendly, apart from the management they don't care about their associates specially overnight staff, they are only concerned about the work, poor management and favoritism is on its extreme
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress with low pay
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Milpitas, CAJune 11, 2014
Pros: work with hot people
Cons: work with incompetent, lazy, selfish, and untrustworthy individuals.
This company cares more about image than competency. While they strive to protect their image, management consists of almost zero teamwork understanding while their "models" are young and lazy people who are used to always getting their way and despise a good work ethic. There is also a big theft problem with no cash handling policy that enables this – more... company to know exactly who is stealing from them. Complete incompetency from top-down. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social and Energetic work place environment
Sales Assistant / Floor Model (Former Employee), Westfield, ENGJune 10, 2014
Cons: short hours, not challenging enough
I learnt about how to communicate with customers and how to deal with problems or issues that came up. Developed my social skills, and remaining positive in difficult situations or when a customer was unhappy and had a complaint.
Worked the tills, so understood how to manage money, and if I made a mistake then I learnt how to correct it.
I helped motivate – more... my co-workers, keep a smile on everyones face and made sure we were all working hard.
The hardest part of the job was not having enough to do, I prefer to keep busy, and when everything was tidy and clean at work it could become quite boring and not challenging enough.

My favourite part was being trusted as a reliable colleague as I have worked there for the past three years, I can be trusted to work at the tills on my own, and my managers were very friendly as well as my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Young and fun environment
Model, Sales advisor (Former Employee), London, W1SJune 10, 2014
Pros: 15 minutes of break for 5 hours shift
Cons: low pay
In A&F I've been hired as "model", so all my tasks were on the shop floor, the most important thing to do in excellent level was the costumer service.
Abercrombie is an fairly expensive brand so the flow of costumers wasn't comparable with the crowded Miss Selfridge in Oxford Circus, this gives the possibility of being as personal shopper for every – more... costumer. I think this was the most enjoyable part, as much as the chilled atmosphere with all the colleagues and managers.
The hardest thing was just in the weekends, sometimes was difficult to keep everything tidy pleasing all the costumers needs, but I never found it impossible, I enjoyed also the busiest moments because I'm a dynamic person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and different
Overnight Stock Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 8, 2014
Pros: break times
Cons: unorganized management, overcrowded
Working at Abercrombie & Fitch taught me a lot about time management. I learned how to tackle a task in a orderly and timely fashion while also paying attention to detail. The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to meet new people and interact with my coworkers while on group projects. The hardest part of my job was coming to work and having – more... a new/different task to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job if retail is for you
Impact team member (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIJune 8, 2014
Pros: discount. great environment, great coworkers
Cons: little to no hours, low pay i guess the discount makes up for it
SPLENDID discount! 40% off can't beat that if this is one of your favorite stores. A lot of work in my opinion for little pay(minimum wage). Although if that works for you, you give in what you put out there's room for advancement. At the time I didn't care for management but I heard it is better. Great coworkers, always willing to help. Little to no – more... hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Energetic Environment
CASH LEAD / SUPERVISOR (Full-Time) (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 6, 2014
Management was firm yet flexible. Co-workers were friendly and fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hate
Model (Former Employee), Dulles Town Center, VAJune 4, 2014
this was the worst job. i hated the people, the work, the atmosphere. pay was horrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 2, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of a numerous amount of repetitive duties. Management was very unorganized. Some of my co-workers were nice to be around. The hardest part of the job was doing the same task for my whole shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, enjoyable experience
RETAIL ASSISTANT (Former Employee), KingstonJune 1, 2014
I worked on the sales floor as a model interacting with customers ensuring their shopping experience was pleasant. I would act as a personal shopper for customers especially during busy times such as Christmas.
I ensured the sales floor was kept pristine at all times and customers left satisfied.
I maintained a friendly relationship with the management – more... and with coworkers my overall experience here was pleasant.
the most enjoyable aspect of my job was interacting with customers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One-time experience that was both fun and exasperating
Model (Former Employee), Cherry Hill, NJMay 28, 2014
Pros: fast-paced environment, display resets, clothing discounts, mall employee discount at the food court
Cons: unpaid hours, late nights, the music, unmotivated coworkers, poor management
When I first applied for Abercrombie & Fitch I wasn't sure what to expect. What I came to find out was that a typical day at work consisted of standing awkwardly in flip flops and saying, "Hey, how's it going?" whenever a customer walked by. We folded clothes, monitored dressing rooms, handled purchases and returns, all the while making sure we looked – more... good doing it. It was definitely a strange atmosphere that merely felt like a standard customer service job with an artificial and glossy finish.

Management turned out to either come off as not very genuine or not very unhappy. They didn't seem to care about me as an individual. I felt only as significant as my availability. My relationships with my co-workers were a little better. Although some of them seemed to be kind of superficial, more interested in tanning salons and new A&F fragrances than actually working, they weren't a bad bunch. But I made a few friends who had great work ethic and awesome personalities. I think the most essential thing I took from A&F was learning how to work day to day with unmotivated people.

Probably the most difficult part of this job was after the store closed. We'd be forced to clock out at a certain time and often end up staying one to two hours after that to clean up the store for the next morning. It was very frustrating and exhausting. The music also used to drive me nuts too, but I learned how to tune it out eventually. I think the most enjoyable part of my job was doing the display resets. I've always been a hands-on kind of guy, so any projects that needed doing I jumped at the opportunity. That feeling of accomplishment was definitely worth it afterwards, plus the time would fly by. We also received discounts on the clothes there, which could get pretty expensive, as well as a ten percent discount at the food court. I can't say I regret my time with A&F, but I discovered that working in clothing retail wasn't for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, fun work environment
Visual Manager (Former Employee), Omaha, NEMay 28, 2014
There was no "typical day" at my previous job. There was always something new happening. I learned an abundance of management skills at my previous job. I learned how to manage a group of sometime 50 plus employees. Also I was able to recruit top talent in my last position. It was a fantastic opportunity, and I let myself take in every learning experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starter Job!
Retail Associate (Former Employee), VAMay 25, 2014
A job highly beneficial to a first time work opportunity or youth. Very flexible hours, almost writing your own schedule. I learned basic fundamentals of customer service i.e. answering phones, greeting customers, catch phrases towards "up-selling" merchandise, and using a cash register for the first time. Work was highly separated leaving you independent – more... for entire shifts, and not a lot of integrating with other staff. – less

About Abercrombie & Fitch

Trading on its century-old name, Abercrombie & Fitch (A&F) sells upscale men's, women's, and kids' casual clothes and accessories – Read more

Abercrombie & Fitch Photos