Find companies:
Abercrombie & Fitch
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
554 reviews

Abercrombie & Fitch Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
General Manager (Former Employee), Naples, FLMarch 11, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, growth potential
Cons: having to hire only attractive people
A typical day at Abercrombie and Fitch includes a high energy atmosphere and treating customers with top notch customer service. As a manager, I was expected to maintain company standards by recruiting the best employees that I could find to represent the image of the brand. I also monitored payroll, incoming and outgoing shipment as well as keeping – more... constant watch of inventory. I learned a lot from my years there. I learned how to manage a large number of people as well as how to run an efficient business.
Management is good, the home office is very involved especially with the bigger stores. There are weekly visits from district managers and weekly conference calls to report how well the stores are doing.
Co-workers are usually friendly and outgoing and attractive. They have to maintain very high appearance standards to represent the brand correctly.
The hardest part of the job was keeping the store properly staffed. The turn over rate was very high because the company wants a lot of employees but they want them to work minimum hours throughout the week. Most people leave simply because they can not work enough.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the people. I worked with some amazing individuals that kept the work day fun and exciting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't recommend
Impact Team Member (Former Employee), Santa Ana, CAMarch 9, 2014
I only worked there for 3 months and I only saw 1 day of work, which happened to be on Black Friday. I had not been trained and I had to stay for 12 hours as a greeter, which I was not supposed to be in the first place. My co-workers were very supportive and helpful. If I had seen at least one shift a week, I'd still be there. Sadly, that wasn't the – more... case. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCMarch 5, 2014
• Responsible for all sales associates and customers. On and off of the sales floor.
• Handling difficult situations in a high volume environment professionally.
• Responsible for marketing in the store.
• Give detailed instructions to associates to perform a task correctly.
• Handle cash as well as helping with maintenance and equipment issues.
• Have – more... consistent communication with the District Manager as well as Store Manager – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A&F
impact (Former Employee), aventural mallFebruary 28, 2014
This is a terrible WORK experience. Endless hours of folding and spraying strong cologne, but by far the best staff I have ever encountered.Managers were not the best at their job and not professional at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started for the name, stayed for the people
Model/Brand rep (Former Employee), Towson, MDFebruary 26, 2014
This is a terrible WORK experience. Endless hours of folding and spraying strong cologne, but by far the best staff I have ever encountered. Abercrombie is more than a company to those who work there. It becomes a way of life. I met all of my best friends here. It makes late nights, early morning resets and minimum wage worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and the people there are so friendly
Processor (Former Employee), 6301 Fitch Patch, New Albany, OH 43054February 25, 2014
Pros: all good
Cons: wish the lunch hour were a little longer than 20 mins
The Supervisors there were awesome, so easy to talk with and they do take the time to talk with me. The co-workers are great, friendly and we all helped each others out to get the job done. I sure do miss working there..wish it wasn't just an seasonal position as I would have stayed there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underpaid/overwork
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brandon, FloridaFebruary 25, 2014
unorganized corporate office, difficult District and Regional Managers, low salaries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Part Time Job
Customer service representative (Former Employee), Woodbridge, VAFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: strict appearence
A typical day of work consisted of greeting customers, folding clothes, organizing clothes, hanging up clothes, sizing clothes, stocking up shelves, and being a cashier. I learned how to fold, hang, and organize clothes as well as how to use the cash register. I feel as though they manage their personnel well. I had great co-workers, variety of ethnic – more... groups and down to earth people. The hardest part of the job was trying not to buy everything I saw while working there. The most enjoyable part was the people I worked with and the discount. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Impact
Impact (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: no lunch
Cons: no breaks
completed all tasks on times like write-ups and when we did write ups is when we design a closet and make it look decent for the customers to take interest and maybe purchase the product and i also did USR- Replenishments is when I go to backstock and restock the floor when a item is purchased and I made sure the backstock room was always clean before – more... my shift was over. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and easy place to work at and make friends
sales associate, model (Current Employee), Cerritos, CAFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: discount on clothes
Cons: short breaks, not enough hours
I got hired at abercrombie&fitch in January. It's February and so far I have only worked there TWICE. This place is horrible. This is my first ever real job and I hate it. I'm available every single day to work and they never gave me enough hours. All they ever give me are call in shifts, whenever I called, they never needed me. I only had TWO regular – more... shifts. I'm so furious with the way this company works. I was so happy when I got hired but the managers always gave me the same excuse about how they won't give me many hours because there's too much associates. It's ridiculous. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Folding and back stocking merchandise
Impact Member (Former Employee), Columbus, OHFebruary 14, 2014
I would fold clothes in a specific way and stack them on a self to later place on the floor. I could barely talk to anyone.
I learned to never work in impacting. Management was organized but crucial. Certain managers could be strict and mean. My co-workers were young or in college. The hardest part was running to the floor to find the right placement – more... for clothes. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know my co-workers. The job did not fit my personality, i should have applied for modeling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting atmosphere with fun people
Sales Associate / Floor Model (Current Employee), Holyoke, MAFebruary 14, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule, young and kind managers
Cons: low pay, not enough hours
a typical work day mainly consists of proving customer service and keeping up with the tidiness of the store. although this is mainly a first-time job, I have gained a lot of valuable experience. such experience I have received would be cash handling, providing customer service, auditing, being able to multitask, and promoting sales. The management – more... consist of young individuals which are not much older than myself. I personally do not mind being managed by people of around my age because they are much more understanding and can be fun to work with. My co-workers also positively influence my work experience because they make working there more exiting knowing that I will have friends at work.

The hardest part of my job would be trying to assist angry or upset customers. Although this does not happen often, when it does happen it is hard to assist them in person because there sometimes can be very little that my manager or myself can do in person. On the other hand, the most enjoyable part of my job would be helping out customers because they usually thank you for assisting them and are very appreciative. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace but can get repetative
Clean the entire sales floor (Current Employee), New Albany, OHFebruary 14, 2014
Pros: flexible, fun, easy
Cons: pay, hours
a typical work day would be folding clothes and cleaning the store and doing other tasks given by managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Overnight Stock Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 14, 2014
Abercrombie is a very faced paced environment which takes place Overnight, anywhere from 9pm - 11am. You have your own space to work and the job is almost like high school. Employee's have fun laughing, sharing jokes, while still working hard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Enviornmentcand culture
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Woodlands, TXFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: great employees, wonderful enviornment, and cultural diversity
Cons: bad management
Abercrombie has taught me a lot and one of the great things it has taught me is to be opening to different cultural backgrounds. In contrast, management was not fully there, meaning one of our managers were not loyal and was very untrustworthy. The staff at Abercrombie besides the managers were hard working and dependable people I could count on for – more... anything. The most enjoyable part of work was closing, in my opinion because we would have a blast. We could let loose knowing we did a great job on sales and just have fun because the day is over. The most challenging part of work to me was just knowing how to work at an accurate pace. I am an extreme perfectionist so when I was told do a job I would not want to leave my station until I knew it looked perfect and spotless. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Crew Member (Former Employee), Palm Beach Gardens, FLFebruary 13, 2014
it is a outstanding business but the pay isnt so satisfying.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Packed and sorted merchandise in a timely manner
Merchandise Processor (Former Employee), Columbus, OHFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: company facilities
Cons: short breaks
Fast paced physical work. Modern workspace. Onsite Gym and walking trails.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Floor Model / Asst Manager (Former Employee), Charleston, WVFebruary 12, 2014
Very easy job. Had a good time learning about being an employee in retail and working with difficult customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A&F
Sales Executive (Former Employee), CTFebruary 11, 2014
Inventory stock and requisition new stock in men’s and woman’s showrooms.
• Greet customers and ascertain what each customer wants or needs.
• Itemize and total customer merchandise selection at checkout counter, using cash register, and accept cash or charge card for purchases.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience for any student, very specific culture.
Summer Design Intern (Former Employee), Columbus, OhioFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: friendly co-workers, great benefits, beautiful workplace, highly organized
Cons: uncreative, superficial culture
I worked in the Hollister Co. division on the Betties (women's) denim team. I really enjoyed my team members and could not have asked for a more supportive and encouraging supervisor. I was able to form a better understanding of corporate fashion with a very particular brand image---what it means to mass produce a product globally with a specific identity. – more... My daily tasks included mocking up samples, updating tech packs, researching inspiration imagery for the next season's mood boards, and writing a bi-weekly fit report to the denim team after a new factory sample was brought in. I enjoyed the steady rhythm and felt as though every process (design and technical) was organized very well.
I was able to spend time in A&F's wash lab where they would test out different dye techniques and chemicals to achieve their "vintage look." I really loved creating samples, learning about the different chemical compositions, and being hands-on with the product. I left with a strong understanding of denim and the different processes applied to create certain fades, whiskers, distress marks, etc.
I was put off by the culture of the company however. The internal politics "rubbed me the wrong way" and I was not in support of the way Abercrombie's CEO spoke about customers that were not his ideal teens. There was a strict dress code, superficial mentality, and lack of creativity in the workplace. I felt stifled and frustrated. I am someone who thrives in an urban, diverse setting that has a strong creative/art culture.
I was offered an assistant design position at the end of the summer and decided to turn it down. I hope to find work with a company or designer whom I am proud of their product, feel motivated/excited to go to work each day, and who challenge me creatively. – less

About Abercrombie & Fitch

Trading on its century-old name, Abercrombie & Fitch (A&F) sells upscale men's, women's, and kids' casual clothes and accessories – Read more

Abercrombie & Fitch Photos